Deal With Spam Calls In An Easy Way

28 65
Avatar for TheGuy
Written by
1 year ago

Hey, hello Sir! Can I take some of your free minutes, I have a piece of very nice information to share with you!

Hello, Mam, I am talking from Central Bank your ATM card will get expired tomorrow please renew it, I can do it for you. You don't have to sweat a bit just give me your details and a confirmation message will be sent to you of some numbers. Send it to me and you won't have to go to the bank for that.

Huh, like seriously these spam and fraud callers are rising a lot in numbers today. I don't know how they got our numbers but I guess I know the reason as in some places we fill forms with our numbers and there's no guarantee that person won't sell your data. Selling data is a very profitable business if you don't know.

Today in the morning someone called my Sister saying Mam, your Sim Card validity will end today, kindly recharge today or I have a better solution in which I can extend it for lifetime and you don't have to worry about it much just for free. You just have to send some confirmation digits sent on your phone that's their way of asking OTP ( One Time Password ), she said him to hold for a minute and immediately came to me and told me the issue. She knew it was a scam yet the caller talked so genuinely that she had a doubt, lol. As soon as I heard about this it was clear to me it was spam and the scammer was trying something probably involving money. So I told her to talk to him and say just a second I will be sharing the code with you.

He said okay mam, I am noting it down.

I took her phone switched on the mixer grinder and put her phone close to it. I am sure he become deaf for a few minutes, lmao.

It's better than cursing.

There are so many ways these call spammers try to fraud people either by lottery or by acting as a bank official or from some policy or big organizations.

The majority of scam involves phone number now as now phone numbers are linked to bank accounts, ATM cards and even money wallet apps.

And so one must be extra careful while sharing their phone number details anywhere.

Steps To Avoid Them:-

  • When money or OTP is involved you shouldn't believe anyone even if it's a friend. Never share your OTP with anyone.

  • It's not hard to identify them as the things they speak won't feel like a normal issue to you.

  • Use two numbers of which one number is only distributed to your family or some selected friends and share the other number wherever you can. And never share your house number on the internet or any form as sometimes these numbers are in your house and many of the parents aren't that modern to understand how these scammers work and end up being scammed.

It gives correct information about scammers as well as about their activities.
  • Check on the 'Truecaller' website or application first and block them, don't give them second chance.

  • Use the mixer grinder method to punish them. Or even you can shout close to mic. Or just bang some steel utensils in front of phone mic. Don't shout too much or the mike of your device may get hurt.

Final Thoughts:-

No matter how worse one's condition is, one shouldn't justify a scam as a last resort and a good act. I saw a culprit's statement saying he had no other choice, oh yeah man I hear you.

Now, most of the world is shifted in your palm holding the device called the smartphone. Which is capable of transferring your money from here and there. And so there are many ways to be scammed just through a phone call.

Let your parents know about these scams as well as your kids.

I found one of my cousins was frauded in getting a free battle pass of a game. He is 13 years old. He shared an OTP from his parent's phone and they instantly lost 1000$ from their account. His father was a policeman so the culprit was caught. But the cyber police don't get serious about these small cases many times. So you should take care of yourself.

Author Links:-

Noise | Hive | Instagram | Telegram

27
$ 4.11
$ 3.29 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Unity
$ 0.08 from @Ling01
+ 23
Sponsors of TheGuy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for TheGuy
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

I surely agree with the OTP thing though, one of my friends got scammed because she shared her pin with a person who thought was a banker.. major lesson learned for her

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I recommend NOT using any third-party app like "TrueCaller" ... These apps are among the "best" data harvesters that circulate all your numbers! Even if you keep one or two SIM cards for your family and banks, all numbers and personal details are "see-through" to these apps via your tertiary connections, i.e., your mother's sister's daughter's husband's best friend's wife's friend's ... and so on!

Anyway, nothing can be done now because these data harvesting companies and their subsidiaries already meshed all global citizens' mobile/landline numbers, emails, addresses, etc. So, taking a new SIM most likely will not help.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Simcard in your country has validity? Mmm here it's only if you don't load the sim then there will be enough days before it expired with no activity.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Did you know how spammers get our phone number?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

The forms we fill physically and digitally are the main source.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I use to get this kind of calls come into my phone, sometimes i will record them and play afterwards just to listen to how i humiliated them. This people lack conscience, i wonder how they feel when they take illegally from other peoples pockets.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

As long as there bellies are fed nothing matters what happens to the victims, was told by a spammer when I bugged and questioned him harshly.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Can you imagine what he said. His heart has been harden then, cos he's got no pity for anybody.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks for the step you shared friend about that to prevent spam

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Before I used to hear about the lottery of winning some lakhs rupees. Now this is new type of. Yeah when the issue is with money . Better to visit the bank.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I can't count the number of times i have called out wrong credit card numbers to them. They get frustrated and angry when they finally find out that i have been wasting their time.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Very disturbing, I often get spam calls, I'm confused where they get the data of their target candidates.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Some site where we fill forms and in the process we give out our phone numbers, some sites are not to be trusted cos they are the ones selling out peoples private information to this fraudsters.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I remember last last week when I register my number to this one particular site to get this free ebook. Right after I completed the registration I received an incoming call. But because I don't really answer to anyone if Im not expecting a call, I will just ignore it. I think I receive 6 phone calls in one day and they are frim different number like seriously. 🙄

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You should be careful next time when you put your details online, you should trust the security of the site first before any other thing.

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Yeah i learned my lesson now. 😁😄

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Heh-e who knows maybe it was your charming crush dying to talk with you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha no way

$ 0.00
1 year ago

One of those scammer called me today and was requesting for otp but I knew it was a scam so I laughed out loud and told he was a scam

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I've experienced it 3 times. Once I was deceived, I felt that I was busy, he said very quickly that the end of the $75 money was gone and then I was reprimanded by the security guard that day was a Sunday, the bank was closed, the security guard finally reminded me and I realized that I had been tricked. There's a little more money left in the end

The second one admitted that his name was someone we knew, the voice and name were exactly like the person I knew. Thankfully, my husband was more careful and said it didn't sound different. I call people I know. Turns out he's not going anywhere at home

The third, I asked for the top up, claiming it was from my mother. Even though my mother had died. And now I'm careful when I receive a number from an unknown person. In fact, some of those I know have the same wa number as me. It turned out that the number was hacked by someone so they decided to block the number because the person with the name admitted that he never asked for credit

What I have experienced may be a lesson for me. I've heard truecaller can detect spam or not

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Got so many experiences like that that sometimes I recognise a number even by seeing as they have almost the same number pattern and luckily I have escaped their temptation.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I get calls from agency like your account is being hacked kindly send us the OTP so we make sure its okay .As an educated person i know they will scam me but people who don't know suffer so much .there was this older guy near our house he got a call from apparently Bank that they will give him free washing machine if he tells them details about his account poor guy got scammed and he had his retirement money as saving in that account 😔

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Some have devastating experience with these types of scammers so awareness is necessary.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I don't like scammers

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It is unfortunately common trend here also. We should be careful about spammers otherwise our whole data can be leaked. Thanks for making conscious about them.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hey, here we also suffer from these calls, although a little differently since they come from people from jail, prisoners. The thing is that there are already methods to deal with them.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I've received also like that, like they asked for money cause I've won a price. I couldn't tell how much. The voice is female and she just said I'll asked some money cause they'll used it for my transactions. Like, ohh, who will believe such like that. From that moment I immediately blocked the number

$ 0.01
1 year ago

If it were me, i will do all i can to keep the conversation going for a longer time, until she realize that i have been wasting her time.

$ 0.00
1 year ago