My Ex wants us to be friends

24 32
Avatar for The.Ada
2 years ago

2nd, January 2022.

I don't know what to do! My ex-girlfriend/boyfriend just messaged me and wants us to be friends. What should I do?

Let's say you got these message from your friend, what advice would you give?

Well, I feel that it all depends on what you want. If you're looking for closure, talking to your ex might be the best way to get it. However, if you're still harbouring feelings for them, it might be better to stay away.

When you break up with someone, the idea of continuing to have a relationship with them can be really daunting. You may be wondering if it's really worth it - can you really be friends with your ex?

It all depends on the situation. If you're still hurting from the breakup, it might not be the best idea to try and be friends straight away. Likely, you'll just end up getting hurt again.

However, if you've both had some time to process the breakup and you're both ready to be friends, then it can definitely work. Just make sure that you take things slow and don't jump into anything too quickly.

At the end of the day, it's up to you whether or not you want to be friends with your ex. But, if you do decide to try it out, just make sure that you're careful and take things at your own pace.

It depends on what you want. If you want to stay friends, then go ahead and chat away. But if you're not interested in remaining friends, then you should probably steer clear. It can be tough to stay friends with an ex, but if you're up for the challenge, it can be a great way to stay connected.

I don't think it's a bad idea to talk to your ex as long as you have boundaries. If you're just catching up on old times or trying to get back together, it's probably not going to work out well. But if you can be friends and stay civil, then it might be worth a shot.

I just feel it can be tough when an ex wants to stay in touch. On one hand, you may feel like it's a good way to stay friendly and on good terms. But on the other hand, you may worry that it could lead to renewed feelings or drama.

There's no right or wrong answer - it's entirely up to you! If you do decide to chat with your ex, be clear about your boundaries and expectations. And if things get complicated, be sure to talk to a friend or therapist for support.

So, you're saying that you want to be friends with your ex-boyfriend or ex-girlfriend. You're not sure what to do because you don't want to seem needy, but you also don't want to lose the opportunity to be friends.

Well, the first thing that you need to do is assess what you want out of the friendship. Do you want to stay friends because you still have feelings for them? Or do you want to be friends because you want to keep tabs on them? Once you figure out your motivations, you'll be able to better communicate them to your ex. If they still have feelings for you, they may be more likely to want to stay friends. If they're just looking for a way to keep tabs on you, they may not be as interested.

The majority would say they don't see any harm in it, and it could actually be really beneficial for you.

That, First of all, it'll give you closure and allow you to move on.

Secondly, it'll show your ex that you're mature and capable of having a civil conversation.

Finally, it could even re-spark old feelings, and reignite the flame between the two of you. If you're still interested in getting back together, this could be the perfect opportunity.

In any case, you must be honest with your ex about your intentions.

Let's say you also got this message from your friend, what advice would you give?

9
$ 3.00
$ 2.63 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
+ 6
Sponsors of The.Ada
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for The.Ada
2 years ago

Comments

Hahaha this article of yours remind me of something, my ex boyfren wantes to be friend with me too in my fb account but, his wife always blocked me my goodness sake hahhaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'd forward this to a friend if someone would ask me this question :D It mirrors what I believe but you said it perfectly :D

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks. 🀩😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

All situations are different, so cannot answer until you know the person and what they want!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

So true sir. We need to know what they want first before making conclusions on what they want.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well said dear, I will try to know the reason why, wether am hurt or not. It could be beneficial though but whose side is more beneficial. With this in mind, I can give that chance

$ 0.01
2 years ago

True. Know the person's mission first.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Definitely it's all depends upon the situation. It's actually okay to be friends with ex if no one will get hurt or jealous or if both of you had totally move on.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We all have our different perspectives.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just like you said, it depends on what you want. To me, I don't keep malice or grudges, we'll still relate but on a distanced level.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Well, that's the way you see it, but it's beyond keeping malice, it's about stopping yourself from getting hurt again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am so NO to taht idea. once we cut ties, theres no coming back or even as friends. I hate it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Lol. Hate as in HATE. 🀣🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't think is always a good idea to be friends again with your ex. When things are done let it stay that way.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Nice suggestion. Be on your own lane to avoid stories that touch. πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They say that making your ex as your friend is a sign of maturity but it still legends on the situation, if you truly moved on and both parties agreed that they have no feeling left on them then it's a sign that two exes can be friends since there's nothing wrong with it. Maybe the friend status is there but the closure is not that strong since there's a past between two exes.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Nice contribution. It actually has to with how much they've gotten over each other.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As for me my friend, I don't like to be friends with my ex πŸ˜… It's because two people who fell in love with each other, and they kept in touch and be friends, one of them might still hopes that there will be a second chance for them. And also, I want to give peaceful mind for my current boyfriend, for him not to think I'm still inlove with my ex for having a conversation again with him. Hihiji

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Through. If you still make friends with your ex, they might think you still love them, and it might even lead to damage in your new relationship.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes ada. That's one of the reason really. ☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Being feds with your Ex isn't a bad idea lol Nut be sure thereoghttbe a replay of old empties

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's the emotion part that we actually need to avoid in order to move forward in life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For me Ada huh, two people who used to be in love with each other can't be friends after. Because surely one of them is still hoping that they can still get back together and be a couple.

When it ends. It ends. Separate ways. Move forward. Although some can do it but I dont think I can.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Exactly my thoughts. It's difficult for me to do it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago