Mecenas - recurring payment smart contract plugin

27 316
Avatar for Telesfor
3 years ago

Today I would like to present you Mecenas, a plugin programmed by Karol Trzeszczkowski (@Licho) for creating and managing contracts for making transactions from the sender to the receiver with time and value restriction.

To use the plugin you must first download and install an excellent Bitcoin Cash wallet Electron Cash. How to use electron casch you can see in these Collin Enstad videos. Then download and install latest release (zip-file) of Mecenas.

To do it:

  • Open Electron Cash with any wallet.

  • Click Tools --> Installed Plugins.

  • Click Add Plugin --> Select the downloaded zip file.

  • Click Install --> Close.

  • You should now see a new Mecenas tab in Electron Cash. It will be there for all your Electron Cash wallets.

Now you can create a new Mecenas contract (after clicking on the button you have to insert your password first).

Now you can enter the following:

  • The BCH address of the recipient (protege address);

  • Period how often the recipient (called protege) may withdraw the amount (in my example it is daily);

  • How often the payment should be repeated (in my example 5);

  • and how much BCH per payment should be paid (in my example 0,0001 BCH)

Total contract value is greater than the total withdrawing amount because 0.00001 BCH are required per each withdrawing transaction.

Now you can find an existing Mecenas contract.

How can the receiver (protege) withdraw his BCH? To do it the receiver has also to install Electron Cash and Mecenas plugin and click on "Find existing Mecenas contract". A new contract will be found.

By clicking on "Take payment from pledge" the receiver can withdraw his BCH (in my example everyday 0,0001 BCH) from the pledge address.

40
$ 6.27
$ 4.48 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @lugaxker
$ 0.50 from @cashdev
+ 5
Avatar for Telesfor
3 years ago

Comments

I hope this will be available in mobile devices since mostly users are using mobile devices..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Unfortunately, the current mobile version of electron cash does not support plugins.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, I hope they will support plugins in the future so we can try this one..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hope so too. In the past, there was no app for electron cash. Some time ago the developers wrote it and as you can see in the link, they are working on it all the time.

https://github.com/Electron-Cash/Electron-Cash/tree/master/android

This is also the reason why I am very optimistic about Bitcoin Cash. There are many and more developers creating Bitcoin Cash based applications.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I see it was 2 years ago, so yeah maybe they're working on it already since most users are using mobiles as it is accessible anytime.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

They are definitely working on the app. Last pull request was 4 hours ago.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's good news, many will utilize it if it's downloadable app .

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is very informative and useful article for me. I always wanted to know something more about different wallets So, thank you very much for sharing it with us! If I had any question about it, I hope I can ask you later. OK?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Of course you can ask me. I will write another article soon. You can also read my following article about Wallet.

https://read.cash/@Telesfor/how-does-bitcoin-cash-wallet-work-27adaff4

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'll do it for sure. I am very interesting in that.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What's the size of the script?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Zipped 179 kB. Unzipped 271,1 kB

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You have presented an article that is very beautiful and has a lot of information. I hope this article will be very useful to everyone..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Try it out and write your experience.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sir, I have just joined read.cash. I don't know much about these wallets. But I'm learning.

$ 0.00
3 years ago
$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you so much sir...I read your article...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Of course I try it..☺

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice, a recurring payment contract.

Now I wish these things are on mobile.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Maybe someone will port it to mobile devices. The application is open source and anyone can customise it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

A version of Electron Cash mobile that accepts plugins, which allows us to use Flipstarter and Mecenas, I suppose? That will be nice.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, the current mobile version of EC does not yet support plugins.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

i never heard about Mecenas program.....thanks for sharing new information

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Will be using for my wife 😂 ... Claim again tomorrow. Cool plugin but still not very user friendly. Medium knowledge required, I will say.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The application is open source and anyone can customise it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes very nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago