Top 10: harsh realities of living in Nigeria.

20 40
Avatar for TOP.10
Written by
2 years ago

Link

Nigeria is a great country, there's no denial in that. There are good tea and there are bad times in the country, for now I can say the country is in it's dark ages and most likely at the verge of collapse into civil war if not properly monitored or lead right. I guess we would all know the next fate or the country come 2023 right @Kiingsley .

Harsh realities of living in Nigeria ;

High prices of items and transportation;

Two days ago I travelled to ekiti state Nigeria, which is some kilometers from Akure, the capital city of Ondo state. Normally the price would have been just about 1000 naira or less, but to my surprise I boarded the taxi with an extra 200 to 500 naira, not to mention that the entire trip was uncomfortable, and to me the trip was nuisance. But I had to go on the journey because I had to renew my International passport which is way cheaper in Ekiti.

Well that was for transport, now let's talk about items and food stuffs. I don't know if @Olasquare or @Princessbusayo have tried to purchase sardine lately, if no, don't it's not worth it. The prices sky rocket every day, not just sardines or bread, but also common fruits, rice , beans and vegetables. Even our life saver cassava flakes ‘garri' can only be bought by the wealthy, it's a good thing @Kristofferquincy does not take garri'

Rude sellers

I don't know if this is common in other parts of the country, but you can easily walk into a store to get some goods just to be insulted by the seller. The fail to understand that the customer owns their business, because the business is created to attract the customers in the first place. Also you can walk into a store and they might refuse to give you a bag or nylon sheet to package what you bought. In their opinion you should have come with a bag, but why?

Scammers

Fraudsters, scammers are just too common in the country, isn't that right @Success.1 , you could get a message from one of them stating that they are your bank service providers, or you could get a call from one saying he/she is your distant relative, heading to your area but got stranded and need some money to continue their journey. I wish we could give one of them an anime style kick on the face right @Oikawa . When they are done with their evil schemes of robbing people of their money, they go to clubs to spend and waste the money on drinks and women, making themselves look like they earned it.

No respect for students

College ( university ) students are mostly not respected by the government. Perhaps they don't see the need for education. The Government is always In a constant beef with educational bodies, they fail to pay them salaries and inturn the bodies go on strike failing to teach the students.

Strikes like the could last year's, months. And still not be resolved ( the fact that you resumed back after the strike doesn't mean another strike isn't on the way). I believe @HappyBoy can relate to this.

Crypto is illegal?

While most countries ban crypto currencies because they feel it's unsafe for their citizens to be engaged with crypto currencies, with possible potential loss of money. My favorite country, Nigeria banned cryptocurrency as an act to force their own crypto coin on the people.

Well I guess that didn't go too well for then as a lot of Nigerian youths down voted their app on the Google play store.i know this because I personally participated, lol. Believe @QueenRaay it was so much fun. @King_Gozie , I hope you are reading this.

Sponsors of TOP.10
empty
empty
empty

Bad roads and traffic jams

Traveling to places like Lagos is so fun until you get stuck Ina traffic jam. Or you living in Ondo state like i am and get stuck in a pointless traffic jam, I believe @Princessbusayo can relate to this. The bad roads ; port holes, pointless bumps would definitely give you cramps in your back if you aren't very mindful of the cab or bus you board. You can't keep boarding buses and expect to look healthy, I wonder how @FashTioluwa and @Fash_Tioluwa manage to keep looking fresh.

Police isn't your friend

The police is your enemy, they are just around to make unnecessary searches and still frame you for something you haven't done. They literally just threaten you with their weapons rather than carefully addressing the situations at hand.

@Balikis have you ever gotten to a military check point and got shouted at by your parents or possibly your co- passenger, the military are another breed of fear in Nigeria, the are literally a menace to citizens. They are not even supposed to be among the civilians.

I guess it's time to welcome to @Estheriox officially to read.cash

Insecurity

You can't travel from one city or town to another with out constantly looking out your window to try to check out for mysterious activities along the road, but I guess if I ride with @L0neRider I can finally sleep on my journey.

Every passing day comes a news about people that got robbed, kidnapped or killed while traveling. NO WHERE IS SAFE.

Living with Malaria forever

You just have to use an anti-malaria medicine if You want to live. And you have to do this every month for the rest of your life. Malaria is the only disease in Nigeria that will stay in the country for ever.

Malaria

Malaria is caused by a female anopheles mosquito, these insects suck in your blood and transfer their viruses to the body.

But sincerely I would rather have the insect suck my blood than it screaming in my ears while I sleep.

Lastly,politics

I don't know about other countries, but the Nigerian politics is a nuisance, isn't that right @Kushyzee .

Youths could literally get killed just in the name of politics, the best thing to do is to stay out of the Nigerian politics as much as you can, right @Jumper-01

This article is not to tarnish the image of the country, but it's just facts.


Smash the subscribe and like button for more articles like this.

9
$ 2.16
$ 2.00 from @ErdoganTalk
$ 0.06 from @King_Gozie
$ 0.03 from @Kushyzee
+ 4
Sponsors of TOP.10
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for TOP.10
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Thank you so much friend for sharing this emotional article..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow ! Top .10 dear ,thank you for welcoming me . You're completely right dear , fact will remain fact , it's what we experience everyday . You've just expressed ,the mass pain in words,just to ease the pain , because an expressed pain brings some sense of peace . Thank you top.10 , for this nice article.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True facts and these issues are applicable to almost half of the countries of the world. A better government is all we are hoping for

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're already tarnishing the country's image with these facts 😂 but yeah, I gotta agree with all these you have written, but the funny thing is there are even more harsh realities, but I guess these ones you said are topping the list

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm not looking fresh at all, because of the bad road, traveling is one bad bad thing for me now, @top.10, I know this is to point out the bad part of the country, But I would also like you to point out the best in my country too, I would really love to read that too, reading this put a lot of stress on me knowing we still have a long way to go as a country

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I would

$ 0.00
2 years ago
$ 0.00
2 years ago

Right

$ 0.01
2 years ago

@jumper-01 I think I would like the tutorial ( canva ) if could get your contact

$ 0.00
2 years ago

@Oba_leevi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Looking fresh you say lol. The traffic jam and dust here would make you wish you can fly so you won't be stuck in traffic. You can be in a hold up for about 3 hours without movement and the drivers won't refund your money of give you part. Lagos is a wonderful place same as Nigeria, but the downside to it is much

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Lagos traffic jam is something else

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmm... I have much to say but it won't change anything., Why rant on a situation that won't even change?.. even an animal shouldn't be allowed to breed here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmm

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'd rather not talk about how bad the economy of Nigeria is. I'd simply pass by.

Things are so expensive these days that only the rich can survive.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I never knew you're a Nigerian, now that's great. Like seriously!! It's like they don't want us to breath.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

E choke!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm tired of this country, can't wait to travel out as soon as the opportunity arrives. The economy is in a state of decline and there's no helping it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

There's absolutely no helping it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago