I'm Not My Parents Burden But I Feel Like I Am

21 53
Avatar for Sydney2
1 year ago
Topics: Parent, Child, Family

We all know that every child is a parent's responsibility. It is a child's right to live a life that is worth living by the support of their parents. A parent should provide their child a good life until they will grow up as mature individuals. A child is never a burden to a parent because they are one of the greatest responsibilities.

I am not my parents' burden but I feel like I am. As the time grows, I feel like I have to be independent financially and in everything. I feel that I have to grow up and find my own way. I do not like to ask money from my parents anymore, I feel that I am only adding to the expenses. This is the reason why I am craving for work because I want to stand alone and break my parents' responsibility to me.

  • I want to be the one who provides my necessities

I do not know why I was born with a mindset where I do not like to rely from my parents. I want to the be the one who provides my necessities. I do not like when you want to buy something especially from your interest only or for your own entertainment only, I feel guilty when I asked money from my parents about it. I do not like when a lot of grown-up teenagers will waste the money their parents given to them, it is such a red flag in my eyes.

  • I want to loosen my parents' responsibility

I'm not the only child in my family and I still have younger siblings. I feel that I have to be independent from them. I want them to fully support my younger siblings and I will support myself too. I am at my 20 now and I already feel that I am a burden in the house when I shouldn't feel this way. I see life in a very practical manner.

  • I feel guilty when I ask for money from my parents

Everytime I ask for money, it is all about the school expenses but I still feel guilty. I do not know why I have this emotion but I do not want to add hardships from my parents. This is why I am hoping and looking for a job that I can handle while I am still studying because I do not want to ask money from my parents in my school expenses. I want to be the child who will help and my way of helping is by providing my own.

  • I understand my parents' financial status

I am not born from a wealthy family but I don't regret it. In fact, I am grateful because they have raised a child who knows how to value money and a responsible child like me. I am proud to say my parents raised me responsible and this is what money can't do. Money cannot buy a responsible child. I understand how difficult the financial status of my parents are, and I want to find ways to support myself without asking support from them anymore.

If you are still a student living under your parents' roof, you do not have to feel guilty as I am. I want you to remember that it's your right to receive financial support from your parents. The reason why I have this sentiment is because of the financial difficulties my parents face and I want to do something about it.

I still ask money from my parents but I am limiting it. If it is not important, I do not ask something. I am still a student and my parents want to sustain my necessities. I told myself that I should find a job even I am still a student because I do not want to become a burden. I understand their situation and I am just like my brother who have work early just to be financially independent. My brother is also helping us financially but he shouldn't do it. It's feel we are his responsibility but one thing I keep in my mind, I will find ways to end this cycle of financial hardships. My time in this world is longer thus I have what it takes to flip the script.

Nov. 8, 2022

Like. Comment. Subscribe!

10
$ 3.14
$ 2.80 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.25 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.05 from @Codename_Chikakiku
+ 4
Avatar for Sydney2
1 year ago
Topics: Parent, Child, Family

Comments

Ako din po nafefeel ko yan kaya gusto ko po talaga makahanap ng work para hindi na po ako aasa sa kanila dahil dami na rin po talaga nilang problema.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's normal na makafeel ana, Cin, especially sa mga anak na galantaw jud ug kalisod. Sa karon, pwede man nimu iconsider ang blogging as parttime job nimu. If nahibaw-an ko palamg ni sauna, mao jud akoang himuon parttime. If dili kaya saimu schedule, imu mabuhat jud kay maningkamot saimu pagskwela tapos mahimong successful pohon pohon. Dakong kalipay na nah saimu parents jud.

Bahin saimu kuya, makasabot ko saiya. Tho dili jud siya responsibility niya but dili malikayan na makahunahuna sa pamilya jud. In my case, makakonsensya nang ako maayu ako pamuyo tapos galisod ako parents pati ako mga manghud. Mao ako goal, ang burden nako as the eldest, saako ra taman. Dili na siya mapasa sako mga manghud.

Padayon lang cin. Express your way of saying thank you thru your studies and sa household chores. Dakong tabang na nah saimu parents.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Salamat kneely, lisod gyud kaayo among kahimtang pero makaya rani. Muabot ang panahon na makalingkawas mi sa kalisud. 🙌

$ 0.00
1 year ago

As for me, noong nagstart akong mag-earn ng money through readcash, I promised to myself na ako na bahala sa expenses ko. Up until now na nakakuha ako ng part-time jobs, ako na nagpapaaral sa sarili ko. And it is so satisfying. Goodluck sa atin.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow napaka inspiring mo naman cherry. Ano yung mga part time jobs mo?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Your parents did well raising you :) The guilt is there when you leave the house. I trust that you do well with what they give you .Just remember your time may switch scripts to where you help your parents out some day. I have faith that you will :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you so much. You never fail to motivate me. I believe one day everything is going to be worth it, for now I have to be this kind of needy student but one day I will be the one who can help.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Looks like your parents raised a good child hihi. Kapag nalaman ng parents mo to, I am sure na maiiyak sila and at the same time magiging proud sayo for trying to be independent. Heartsuuuuu. Don't worry, hugs mo sila,!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you so much. Ayaw ko lang dumagdag sa gastusin sa bahay kaya gusto ko makahanap ng side hustle na di ko na kailangan manghingi sa mga magulang ko huhu.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Personally, hindi ako pabigat sa pamilya ko haha. Although may help ng uncle ko (yung nagpapatuition sa akin), ni minsan, di na ako humingi ng pera sa parents. Siyempre responsibility na nila pakainin ko, so wala akong feeling na guilt na nadarama. Gagalingan ko na lang talaga sa university na nasaan man ako ngayon. Going back four months ago, naguguilt talaga ako kasi I failed our expectations (you know haha). So kung ano man ang meron ako ngayon, I promised myself that I'll try to be better.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are doing better every day Charles. Di mo sinasayang effort ng mga parents di tulad ng iba na ipapako yung responsibilidad nila sa magulang pag maagang nagkaanak, you know teenage pregnancy hayss.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako din..feeling ko pabigat ako at totoo pala.. Haha.. Pero I do my part naman to help lalo na financially.. Kaya nandito ulit ako nagsusulat kasi kailangan nanaman ang pera para sa mga gastusin..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Laban lang tayo sa buhay. Hindi ka pabigat nakikita ko nga ang kasipagan mo kahit virtual lang lalo na dito sa readcash 🙌

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same here, I wish I can make them proud of me, being adult and still depending on them, is a no for anybody

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You can always make them proud. Pursue your dreams and make your parents feel that they are a good kind of parents. I believe slowly by slowly we can learn how to live independently, that's for sure.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We have the same mindset ate, I also want to become financially independent and not relying on my siblings money. Hanggat maari ayoko na humihingi kase feeling ko mapapadagdag lang ako sa gastos kaya minsan kahit wala ako pera hindi padin ako humihingi.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think lahat tayong mga nasa readcash may ganitong mindset where we want to be financially independent. Nakakahanga nga na ganito tayo mag-isip, ayaw natin maging pabigat sa mga magulang natin di tulad nung iba sa FB na yung mga magulang na bumubuhay sa early pregnancy ng mga anak nila.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kya parang additional pasanin lng ang senior high na nadagdag sa kurikulum ng dep-ed e...,imbes na tapos na sa pag-aaral at d age pf 20 kung d sana k-12... U can try sa mga restorants pag d hectic ang sked mo sa skul.. i admire students like u na pinapahalagahan ang sacrifices ng parents. U have a bright future ahead

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Salamat sis. Nakakataba ng puso pag nakakabasa ng "you have a bright future ahead." Di ko alam kung saan maghahanap ng extra work, ayaw ko na talaga dumagdag sa gastusin sa bahay.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kya mo yan dhil u r inclined to ur decision... Sa mga coffee shops or computer cafe at qng wla tlga don't stress urself out of the thought na pasanin ka coz it's not...

$ 0.00
1 year ago