Backing up your crypto datas: seed, private key, etc..

11 143
Avatar for SolarPhasing
2 years ago

Day 8 (Day 7).

For Security.

The first piece of advice I would give to anyone new to the world of crypto-currencies is to save the seed phrase, usually twelve words long, and all other information related to your newly created wallet, as this data will allow you to restore the wallet at any time in the event of a problem. This should be done in a meticulous and organized manner so that you know which wallet a particular seed phrase or private key belongs to.

For any new wallet, make this backup of your data with all the details before you go any further! So, it's done! It should become a habit. It's very easy to forget to do this very important thing when you've moved on to something else just after. For example, on ReadCash or NoiseCash, and many other places too, if you clear your browser's cache, you also clear your wallet login data. Without your seed phrase, the content of your previous wallet is lost. Forever! So.. If you are currently using a wallet for which you have not yet made a backup, or if you are not sure whether you have done it correctly or not, don't delay, make it as soon as possible, by security. Nobody wants to lose their Bitcoin Cash! :0) I read just this morning the testimony of a person who lost his wallet on Noisecash because he forgot to backup it. That's what inspired this blog.

To have some background music ambient while reading me: my track On A Long Distance from my In Slow Motion EP. This track have been licensed to Vidar Hokstad for his science fiction book serie: Galaxy Bound. With two other more. Check out his Gate Network about the Scifi world he is building.

Saving methods.

For the seed phrases, you can write them down on paper for safety, which you will keep in a protected place and only known to you, or at the very most, to the person close to you who is authorized to find these documents if necessary. One copy is not enough! Make replicas of this data kept in safe places. Don't store anything on the cloud on the internet, or even in an email. Instead, save all that information on a USB flash drive, SD card, external hard drive, and even, some will smile, a 1.44-inch PC floppy disk. Who would think that you would have hidden confidential information on one of those old obsolete floppy disks. A .txt file only weighs a few kb, you can save it on a machine that will never be connected to the Internet. I suggest you forget about your smartphone or iPhone as a backup media. It's really not a good solution. You might lose it or have it stolen. And it is common knowledge that your phone is spying on you 24 hours a day. An up-to-date copy of all this data on several media is recommended. In case one of the backup media fails.

There are several methods to save this very sensitive data: a software dedicated to the backup of passwords for example will do the job perfectly. I particularly recommend KeePass which is a proven and free software! For more experienced users, an encrypted file or an encrypted container on a machine will also do the trick. "Trust nobody!". :0)) X-Files ref.. You will also need to save the access passwords in both cases. So that you can be sure to be able to open these safes no matter what happens. Remember to regularly update all your backup media (or papers), as well as to regularly check their operation at the same time.

KeePass: A safe and free alternative!

KeepPass is available on all versions of Windows, but is also available on Linux, MAC, Android, iPhone, iPad, Windows Mobile, Backberry, Palm OS, and a few more. These are unofficial reliable porting versions. I let you check by yourself all the options that this software offers. The main one being obviously a high security for the backup of your sensitive keys. You will probably also adopt it for your login passwords on the different websites you use every day. I sincerely think it's the best in its category and it's completely free! It has some really useful features including: automatic login on sites, when they allow it, advanced password generation, the ability to attach files to each entry in your catalog, a QR Code for example, to classify your entries with directories, as you wish by customizing them with icons, colors, etc.. The software locks on your desktop after a certain period of non-use. The copy and paste in memory is protected and is deleted after a certain period of time. Several secure login methods to the program are provided. The list is long. A must!

Let me know if I forget something very important.

Mike Oldfield 'Tubular Bells' Live at the BBC 1973.

New music coming!

I'm doing some mixes of work in progress tracks today. You will listen some new fresh music from my Album "Electronic Patterns" starting tomorrow! A compilation of what kind of vibes you will find in it. A full Track even?! I have a lot of joy again working on this Album. I'm pretty excited to finish it. It's a colossal effort that took me almost two years to complete. I'm grateful for all your support!

See you next time..

Thank you for reading, commenting, and supporting me! :0)

You #Rock the Bitcoin Cash Galaxy!

You will find much more music by me on Soundcloud or Audius, with the links to go on other streaming medias.

#carnetderoute

10
$ 32.26
$ 31.31 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @btcfork
$ 0.27 from @Telesfor
+ 5
Avatar for SolarPhasing
2 years ago

Comments

I usually write my seeds in a paper/notebook to avoid any hacking or something on the internet.

By the way, man your idea about putting music while reading is awesome hahaha I find it fun and cool...can I adopt it?😂

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hello, thanks for your comment! Good method, yep.

Of course you can adopt it, I don't own the concept haha. :0) Feel free! I do it from the start.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have written the gems for the crypto fans. I have been writing about it for many years. But the growing crypto users probably don't care! There are substantial BTC losses due to private key losses. Some oldtimers lost Bitcoins of multi-billion dollars because they lost or misplaced their private keys.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hello, Yes of course, you can lose everything with a bad management of your key backups. It's so important! Thank you for your feedback! Appreciated.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am glad that I found your articles here. I very much appreciate you spending your valuable time currency (https://read.cash/@Unity/time-currency-a3f1cdeb) and writing a reply, which is not at all common on ReadCash. I have been researching to find an easy yet secure solution to the problem of preserving/protecting private keys and passwords.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks to share the article about Time! :0) Like it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for the support. It received very few views and comments.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

If you have social medias profiles, share your blogs there!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I have posted an article about our authentic exchange of comments. Please check this post. https://read.cash/@Unity/comments-verify-your-authencity-f754fa11

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hey, It's cool! Thanks. Great article!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I shall do it. I had another account four months ago with my real name! I didn't know it was auto-flagged by the platform until a kind user wrote me! I shall again disclose my real-world identity soon. I appreciate your time and support.

$ 0.01
2 years ago