Brazilian grape tree

22 78
Avatar for Snezana28
3 years ago

No, you're wrong. These are not snails that a gardener - a prankster - glued to a tree. This is a real fruit, and it is a fruit that grows directly on the tree of "Brazilian grapes". The local name is Jabuticaba, and it grows in South America - mostly in Brazil, Paraguay and Argentina.

An exceptional and at first glance very unusual species of trees grows in the Brazilian climate. The name of this species is Jabuticaba or "Brazilian grape tree", and it is special because its round grape fruits and flowers do not grow from the ends of thinner marginal branches of the tree, but directly from its trunk. These trees are indigenous to Brazil, but can also be found in Argentina, Chile and Peru.

It is assumed that this is an evolutionary adaptation by which this tree species makes its seeds (contained in the fruit) more accessible to animals that cannot marry high next to the tree trunk. So they eat the fruit of Jabuticaba from the trunk, and then throw the seeds in the feces at another location, increasing the chances that a new tree will sprout there as well. People eat these fruits raw or process them into various jams, juices and even fermented drinks.

The fruit of Jabutikaba is edible - it is simply picked from the tree and put in a hungry mouth. Also, and what is even more interesting to us, you can make strong wine and even stronger liqueur - we would say brandy.

Apart from the fact that it is strange that the fruit grows directly from the tree, the flower, which appears twice a year, looks even stranger - it looks like a miracle from the depths of the sea, or some alien.

They say that Jabutikaba is delicious, and they also say that dried "Brazilian grapes" help in the treatment of asthma, diarrhea and some inflammatory processes.

Jabuticaba Fruit Cake

 

The perfect, flavourful recipe for those who love baking their own cakes, and want to try something new and delicious.

Ingredients

2 cupsjabuticaba

60 mlwhole milk

100 gunsalted butter1 cupsugar

3eggs

2 cups gluten

1 tbsp baking powder

Preparation

  • Beat an entire “Jabuticaba” fruit with milk in a food processor or mixer, and set aside.

  • Mix butter at room temperature with sugar in a bowl, and whisk until you get a fluffy, white cream.

  • Add the eggs to the mixture one by one, beating after each addition.

  • Add a little bit of the flour to the mixture, then a little bit of the “Jabuticaba” and milk, and so on until the mixture is smooth.

  • Last, add the baking powder and mix well.

  • Put the dough in a greased and floured tin and bake in a pre-heated oven at 180°C for 40 minutes.

  • Let cool, remove from the tin, and if you wish, sprinkle with icing sugar before serving.

16
$ 0.12
$ 0.05 from @tired_momma
$ 0.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @sanctuary.the-one-law
+ 4
Sponsors of Snezana28
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Snezana28
3 years ago

Comments

wow this is a fantastic tree, i have never seen this before, it looks really nice and i would try to eat it, thank you for the recipe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

wow this is a fantastic tree, i have never seen this before, it looks really nice and i would try to eat it, thank you for the recipe It is a pity that he is not in Serbia.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is really amazing, I have never heard of this. Can it be grown in our area?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is really amazing, I have never heard of this. Can it be grown in our area?

I don't think he can, unfortunately.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Too bad, I would plant this

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wowwww! I want that Brazillian Grape Tree! I've never seen one before and its amazing to see one like that. It's full!!! Omy I love one!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wowwww! I want that Brazillian Grape Tree! I've never seen one before and its amazing to see one like that. It's full!!! Omy I love one!

Yes, amazing and fantastic. I also found a link on YouTube how it is grown.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The grapes from the tree look wonderful and delicious. :) I don't know if this would work for us?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The grapes from the tree look wonderful and delicious. :) I don't know if this would work for us? How many grapes on one tree.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

it looks like our grapes only it grows directly on the tree, I believe it has a similar taste and is used for the same things, wine brandy jams and others. I will make a cake according to your recipe.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

it looks like our grapes only it grows directly on the tree, I believe it has a similar taste and is used for the same things, wine brandy jams and others. I will make a cake according to your recipe.

You have to have grapes for this cake.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I didn't know that a tree like this existed, this is really awesome. And it looks nice.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I didn't know that a tree like this existed, this is really awesome. And it looks nice.

And beautiful and unusual!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Strange, what all there is. When you look at it at first it acts like some poisonous tree, and in fact it is edible. I would love to try this fruit

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Strange, what all there is. When you look at it at first it acts like some poisonous tree, and in fact it is edible. I would love to try this fruit

It also seems scary to me. But when I see what can be made from this grape, it is a real treasure

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh, how interesting the tree is. I have never seen this. Very interesting and decorative. I would love this grape in my garden.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh, how interesting the tree is. I have never seen this. Very interesting and decorative. I would love this grape in my garden.

I was fascinated too. It's just amazing that fruits grow on a tree.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very interesting and beautiful tree. After reading your article, I researched if Jabuticaba can be grown in my country. However, I could not find any source on this subject. I think it is necessary to find the seed and try it.

Thanks for your article and the Jabuticaba fruitcake recipe.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very interesting and beautiful tree. After reading your article, I researched if Jabuticaba can be grown in my country. However, I could not find any source on this subject. I think it is necessary to find the seed and try it.

Thanks for your article and the Jabuticaba fruitcake recipe.

Thank you and the article shows the climate where it can succeed.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are right. Turkey's southwestern region is very hot. But I don't know if this is enough.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very interesting article. I haven’t heard that grapes have their own tree, but I always thought it just grows in the vineyard.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very interesting article. I haven’t heard that grapes have their own tree, but I always thought it just grows in the vineyard.

Yes and I am fascinated.

$ 0.00
3 years ago