Hurriedness ruined my day

17 41
Avatar for Sley
Written by
2 years ago

I mistakenly sent a coin to another address.

When it comes to carefulness, I think I'm among the 100 most careful People on planet Earth.

I usually observe and apply carefulness anytime I want to do any stuff online especially the ones that demands monetary transaction.

Check these scenarios...

Seen Someone that's supposed to transfer money and mistakingly entered multiple zeros(0), making the amount bigger and extended? It happens and most times it's caused via hurriedness and uncarefulness

Example: Maybe you just want to send $10 and because of hurriedness you entered another zero(0) making it $100.

What about airtime recharge from bank? Maybe you just want to quickly recharge $3, but because of carelessness and hastiness, you entered $30.

This has never happened to me because I'm just too careful on this aspect. After seeing encounters of people that recharged $50 instead of $5, they looked out for people to sell a little portion to and it ended in selling everything for a very low price. Let's say airtime of $50 sold for $25. So bad๐Ÿ’”

They say we learn from people's mistake, so I learnt very well to be careful with "zero imputing" when making a money transaction, either money transfer or airtime purchase from bank.

One of my friend said if he's making money transfer to someone, he usually call the nearest person to confirm the count of zeros. That he doesn't trust himself. Lol.

What about crypto currency transfers?

I fell to victim to this aspect today ๐Ÿ˜ช.

I won't say I'm a newbie in Crypto because I've done countless transactions both in purchase on trusted apps(including peer to peer). I know the basics.

I am aware that when transferring a coin from one wallet to another, there a things to consider such as the network of the coins, if they tally, such as Bep2, Bep20, TRC20, ERC20 and etcetera.

I'm aware also that if the addresses don't tally, it'll lead to the loss of the coin, but sometimes, some apps give warning when the addresses are not compatible.

So I've been more careful on this as well.

I transferred to a wrong address...

I would say hurriedness was the magic that played in my body system today.

We are all prone to hurriedness in one way or the other, it can't be completely avoided. So I just blamed myself a little for allowing myself to fall to the negative effect of hurriedness.

At first, I had issue in recharging from my bank because I was having low data and it refused to power my bank app. I had to get data connection via WiFi from a co-worker's phone. It connected and the recharge was success, I bought data instantly and I was back to my own data.

Meanwhile, before the data saga, I tried to transfer a token I got from airdrop to my trustwallet app. The token summed up to be 15usdt. So immediately I regained by data, I quickly opted into trust wallet to get the receiving address, I didn't know that I copied BCH address mistakingly, I moved straight to the airdrop app, I entered the address and amount to withdraw and it went through instantly with a notification that it was successful. This was when my mind cautioned me to go and check the address I copied. I checked my trust wallet and Ii found out that it was BCH address I copied instead of the MOK address(name of the airdrop). Instant cold caught me and I became dumb for some minutes."What's the meaning of this?" I asked my dumb brain.

Screenshot of the successful transaction

I know it can't be retrieved but that will not prevent me from trying to get it back. I messaged the customer service quickly via email but yet to get a favourable reply.

Closing words.

Hey! Common, I know you've once had odd experiences caused by hurriedness and uncarefulness. We are all victims. It can't be totally avoided but can me controlled to some extent.

Lead image source

Thanks for reading

26th October 2021

7
$ 1.06
$ 0.95 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @GarrethGrey07
$ 0.03 from @Ling01
+ 2
Sponsors of Sley
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Sley
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

When it comes to sending money and files, I really check it multiple times. But in your case it's okay Sis, there are some factors that although we make sure everything, there's still a chance that we can commit mistakes. Just be careful next time :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, we are bound to mistakes as human. Thanks so much. By the way, the name (Sley) looks like feminine? ๐Ÿ˜‚. I'm a very cute GUY๐Ÿ˜Ž

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is why we should always be careful, and always double check with our works so we can avoid this kind of incidents.. luckily I haven't encounter this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! Congrats to you. But you should be careful too because I hadn't experienced such till that day. Mistakes are common. Thanks ma'am

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am glad to say that I have never experienced something like this before, neither inputting an extra zero when transferring money nor putting a wrong account number nor transferring to a wrong wallet address. I am always careful when carry out financial transactions so I wouldn't make such mistakes.

Sorry for losing your coin bro, just make sure to be calm and settled next time you want to do any financial transfer

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, sure. Lesson learnt. Never to run a transaction hastily. Thnk you ๐Ÿ’š

$ 0.00
2 years ago

things like this can make me faint, imagine my hard earn money going to an unknown location

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm telling you. I've been imagining, had it been the money is big, it's Only God that would know the order of the day. But thank God it's just a small money. Thank you๐Ÿ’š

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Omo, this is a very big lesson to always check before you proceed to the next click.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah. I'll be more careful now. Maybe I need to be calling someone to help me check and confirm before furthering. See how I lost 15usd, soft N7,500. There' God

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If I have told you to use it and sow seed into my ministry. U for nor gree.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's very sad. I can totally relate. I have had this experience once and I never want to repeat that. Don't stress too much, things happen.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, it happens often and sometimes we only notice it when it has happened. So bad. I'll careful now anytime i want to transfer again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Done a few of this. Not just tru transactions, even in day to day routine we are fall victims of hastily ( in a hurry )and uncarefull.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, it happens and often times in the form of mistakes. Yeah, that's mistake. I'm just imagining it was a huge amount I lost. Thank God for God that it was just 15usd(free money I got)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Iโ€™ve experienced this before and itโ€™s very annoying. Wait for the reply before you know the next move

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, I love the apps that ask for confirmation before processing, it give a quick way to recall and check what was used. This one in particular didn't bring any warning check, it went straight. So bad

$ 0.00
2 years ago