A very humbling experience indeed!

6 42
Avatar for Shivaz
Written by
1 year ago

A close relative of ours that stays in another state visited our house two days ago. She heard about sudden demise of our grandparents, so she decided to come sympathize with us. I'm not here today to start talking about what happened afresh, we all know the story, or if you are getting aware of it for the first time, you can check my recent post for the story. Back to today's topic..... This relative of ours, she's a mother of two, but one thing that annoys me about her sometime is that she talks too much. I said sometimes..... Sometimes the things she talks about will make a million sense to whoever is listening. Just yesterday evening, she was telling my aunties who were around her experience at the bus station, I was somehow close to were they had the conversation, so I heard everything they were discussing.

According to her, when she paid for the ticket, she was directed to the next bus that was going to her destination. As usual I guess she prayed for a safe journey....... everyone knows her for that. It was her first time traveling outside the state where she resides since the beginning of the year. The bus got filled up with other passengers who were traveling and the journey began. 30mins later after the bus moved, the conductor started asking everyone on the bus if they are satisfied with the services their company is giving to them. My aunty said she was flattered at the next thing the bus conductor did, he put a smile on his face while talking to each passenger. It was her first time seeing something like that, bus conductors hardly smile, maybe because the work is not favorable to them. But this particular bus conductor was different from the ones she has met.... He really loves the work he is doing.

Since it was a coaster bus, he had the opportunity of walking from the front to the back of the bus without any difficulty. The bus conductor was moving around the whole bus with a smile on his face, giving out magazines to some of the passengers who were interested, and at the same time wished everyone on the bus a safe trip to wheresoever they are going. He went ahead to wish everyone a happy New Month, filled with joy and gladness. My aunty said she was trying to understand something while seated in the bus. Is this man doing all of this out of his own free will or is the company paying him extra tips just to do it. Regardless of that, the man had no bitterness for stressing himself to that extent, it looked as if he has been waiting for such moment to do what he did.

Other of my aunties were so interested in the story that they did not want anything to distract them......I was also interested too, haha.. Our super story teller went ahead to say that before they left the bus station, this same bus conductor was seen eating a small portion of meal under a scanty shade. He never had the chance to eat at a good restaurant, on a good plate and all of that. But most of the people at the bus station, specifically the passengers had a good time with their families, and were hoping to have more gala time with friends and families during the weekend. But this bus drivers and conductors don't have such time like we do, they sacrifice every good moment they would have had just to make sure our demands are being met.

What will you call this? Being human.....

My aunty said the happy bus conductor brought a smile to her face while she was she was seriously soaked in self pity over being away from her kids and husband. What an experience she had...

The conversation continued, but I will take a break and speak my mind on this humbling experience my aunty had. Have you ever thought about those people whole work on holidays, weekends, Christmas day, New year eve, etc. Taking our minds back to 2019 when Covid-19 pandemic was spreading like wild fire. Humans like us worked tirelessly with rest to make sure the situation is put to control. Some doctors were away from their families for more than 3 - 4 months. Even now that things have returned to normal, other people are still sacrificing their time to make sure that we feel safe. Traffic police, bus drivers and conductors, nurses, airport workers, and many other professionals. We that have the time to sit with our families, friends and loved ones, should appreciate this people, cos it's not an easy job to do. This people have humanity at heart.

The bus conductor has really changed my perspective. No matter any situation I find myself, I will learn to make the best out of it. I pray for the strength and courage to make a positive difference to myself and every other person I come in contact with.

Like the bus conductor wished the passengers on the bus all those good things, me too, I use this opportunity to wish everyone on this platform the best weekend ever. I hope everyone has a safe weekend. Bye.

All images are from unsplash 

4
$ 0.88
$ 0.86 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Lixten
Sponsors of Shivaz
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Shivaz
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

So touching

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Awww... It's been a long sissy. Thanks for stopping by.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That was an unforgettable experience of your aunty in riding a bus.. Here in our country the public transport staff great us like "good morning" and they are very approachable if you have any inquiries..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I so much love it when I am being treated well at public places. It gives me the feeling that I am important.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That bus conductor is making a difference. It is called being unique in what you do. Other conductors will not even show you their smiling face.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Some of them, their face will just explain to you to mind you business and stay out of their way.

$ 0.00
1 year ago