They want to Break Free and I couldn't do anything about it.

9 51
Avatar for Sequoia
1 year ago
Date: August 3,2022
Author: Sequoia

I can still vividly recall how I got my first zit in my face back when I was just 12 years old. If I remembered it right, I was in my first year of high school at that time when I felt that something painful sprouted on my forehead.

It was just a small, reddish yet soring bump. But as a kid who doesn't give a d*mn care about what zits or pimples are, I decided to neglect it and continued doing my tasks for that day. Everything went fine actually, not until I woke up the next morning.

The small bump turned into a massive and super painful one with a white liquid or pus in the center part of it. I couldn't touch my forehead because it felt like my whole forehead area was swollen up.

And mind you, I am not exaggerating the things here. It was indeed so gut-wrenching that I almost wanna cry. Okay, that was a bit dramatic, I just called my mom and she just advised me to not touch it because it was normal and there's nothing to be anxious about.

As a very submissive kid, I followed her advice and my day went extremely fine. Of course, it's not what happened! Dzuh! The moment she told me to never touch it, I did the opposite of what she said. Of course, I was curious and wondered why would she refrain me from touching my own face and own bump.

I thought that it will just go away after how many days but ended up the other way around. From one big zit to two, three, four, so on and so forth. The day came that I developed insecurities and started comparing myself to other girls with the same age as me.

Why do they have clear skin?

Why does it feel like I was cursed?

Why is the world so unfair to me?

Those were just a few of the questions that I kept on throwing at myself which eventually leads me to lose my self-confidence. From then on, I would do anything just to hide my ugly and rough face.

It was a tough journey and it took me 4 years before I finally accepted myself. I've experienced all kinds of bullying and being mocked by the people around me just because of my skin condition and my body as well. Body and face shaming at its finest.

I am just glad that there are people who helped me take back my confidence. Slowly, I started to accept myself and my imperfections. I surrounded myself with people who genuinely cared for me and contribute to my self-love.

It was indeed a strenuous journey but with the help of the right people, I was able to empower myself and realized that my physical appearance would never define me as a person. I am more than my skin and body. I am more than what other people are throwing at me.

I may be imperfect and succumb to flaws, but those are the things that made me who I am today. Still, I am grateful to the people who belittled and insulted me because they were the first ones who encouraged me to do better in life. It is indeed true that you cannot control other people and force them to like you. That is the reason why we should choose wisely the people we allow to enter our lives.

I still have pimples all over my face but I no longer feel ashamed of it. In fact, I even flaunt it. Just like today, I am having breakouts again. But instead of hiding it, I am just letting my face be exposed to the judging stare of mariteses and Karens.

Life is too short to care about what other people will say about you. Ignore them and start living the life that you want to have. Cause no matter what you do, they will always have something to say against you.

This time, I am asking you to please, prioritize and love yourself darling. Happiness suits you well.

9
$ 4.37
$ 4.19 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @tired_momma
+ 3
Sponsors of Sequoia
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Sequoia
1 year ago

Comments

Try mo maghanap ng hiyang na sabon sayo langga. Yung iba talaga langga gumagamit na ng rejuv. Yung blooming langga hindi masyado hard. Rejuv yan langga. Tulog din langga tas water.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I reallt love how you learned to embrace yourself now. For many people, laking insecurity ung magka acne.

Ako I used to have a clear skin pero nagstart na rin magkapimples due to stress. Okay lang sakin though, since like you, I decided to embrace it as part of who I am now.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Acne and pimples are common in humans that don't define who you are. That's why I wonder why there are people who keep looking down and making fun of others as if they didn't experience it. Does that make them happy or satisfied? Or they are just threatened and insecure about others? We will never know. You are beautiful darling! Own it, flaunt it!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

when we are grateful for what we have and carry on with all the duties and responsibilities without having to look at the shortcomings then our lives will be happy. There is no need to compare our lives with others because God has made our lives according to his way.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

naranasan ko na din yan, yung mag break-out ng sobra and it really affects me personally and emotionally, nabawasan yung sel-esteem ko dahil sa mga mapang-husga, but time comes na I never bothered myself to them, rather, I prove to them that having a pimples is not a hindrance for evrything, juat learn to love yourself. I'm using Brilliant now, and satisfied naman ako sa resulta though nakikita parin ang mga bakas ng kahapon hehhe. Hiyangan lang din talaga.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wala namang perfect sis eh, ako nga mag 9 years na yung pimples ko di talaga mawala wala.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sequoia sis nagagandahan ako sayo sa totoo lang and medyo expert ako sa mga ganito since I also struggled the same situation. Ito yung advice ko sayo:

  1. Please handle your stress. Isa ang mga stress sa dahilan kung bat nagsilabasan ang mga sumpa sa mukha dahil ang too much stress nakakapag-cause ng inflammation.

  2. Do you have normal menstruation cycle? May pcos ka ba? You have to check if normal ba ang iyong estrogen at testosterone level. Kailangan balance sila dalawa or else magkaka-imbalance din skin natin.

  3. Do you drink dairy like milk products and other too much sweet beverages?

One of the most inflammatory drink is yung gatas talaga. I have proven it dahil after ko tumigil sa pag-inom nawala agad yung mga tigyawat ko sa noo.

Feel free to ask me questions or contact me in discord @Sydney2

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have 3 today. Nung high school tagyawatin talaga ako saka lagi kong tinitiris kaya yun ang wag na wag mong gagawin. Hayaan mo lang yang matuyo. Yung mukha ko butas butas yan kita pa rin ang deep scaring. Magbrilliant ka. Subok ko yan bhe pero hiyangan rin talaga.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako college na nagka pimple. Actually, nagstart lg yun nung naglagay ako egg white sa face kc pampaganda daw..wengya , nagkapimple lang ako..tapus sunod2 na yun... Rejuvenating lang nagpawala pimple kocat kojic acid na sabon everyday.. Hiyangan lang din. Sa iba hndi effective ang kojic soap.. Iwas2 kakahawak sa pimples. Mas lalo lng maiinfect yan.. At more water na rin at xmpre tulog 😅. .. Iwas sa oily food. Watch your beauty regimen kung meron. Bka hndi ka hiyang at yun lang nagpapa pimple syo .. Pero sa iba.nsa dugo na tlga yan haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago