Should I teach?

11 82
Avatar for Sequoia
1 year ago
Date: July 19,2022
Author: Sequoia

"When I grow up, I want to be a teacher."

This was the exact phrase that I have uttered back when I was still in my kindergarten years. We were rehearsing for our closing ceremony and were told to choose a profession that we want to be in the future. Being a teacher wasn't really my choice, in fact, I didn't even know what I want to become back then. It was my aunt who told me to choose teacher and as a very obedient kid, I went for teacher.

But who would have thought that, that simple and scripted chosen profession back then will really come to life? I am now a teacher in profession but not sure if I could really apply what I have learned and acquired from my four years of studying in college.

Well, searching for a job nowadays is so strenuous and that's the reason why instead of teaching, I ended up being a brand manager of a Chinese business tycoon based in Singapore. I mean, I have no problem with my work but I just can't help but question myself if this is really want I wanted. Will I just really abandoned teaching?

Aside from that, I also feel so left behind by my batchmates because they are already teaching in some private schools-exploring and developing their teaching skills, yet here I am, stuck in the four corners of our house. Can you blame me if I compare myself from them? I mean, I know that we have our own different timeline and journey to take but hey, waiting is so hard.

I talked with my workmate who happens to be an education graduate as well like me but ahead of me for almost 3 years. She said that she don't have the guts to apply as a teacher anymore because it seems like she had already forgotten about being a teacher for how may years of not being in the field of teaching.

I don't want to be like that. I have just realized that my heart is really into teaching. I wanted to teach and share my knowledge to my students. I want to touch their lives and inspire them. I want to see them become successful. And most of all, I want to fill this hole in y heart that only teaching could do.

Well, this might be dramatic and not my usual topic but I just can't help but express what I really feel inside.

Anyways, I have received a news that the school where my cousin is teaching is actually hiring and she asked me if I wanted to apply. Without any doubt, I said yes right away and this Friday will be my interview. I just hope that I can ace it and bring home the bacon.

Well, I think, that's all for today's blog. Thank for your time and have a great night.

9
$ 2.84
$ 2.68 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.04 from @Jane
$ 0.03 from @Ruffa
+ 4
Sponsors of Sequoia
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Sequoia
1 year ago

Comments

Yes Seq, and I imagine you teaching Jud. It's to worry about you status quo. I believe right moment comes. Laban!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

if your passion is in teching beb then you should go for it....all is well if you put your mind into it...goodluck beeb ko

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Good luck sis and I hope everything will fall in right place. If it is for you then its yours, if not, for sure there is something better than that.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Good luck sis and I hope everything will fall in right place. If it is for you then its yours, if not, for sure there is something better than that.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You should sis, basta ba love nimo ang imong buhaton.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I guess it's a good opportunity compare jan sa freelancing..so try mo na

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Take that as your stepping stone muna then teach kapag may opportunity ng dumatinf. And dont let go of it. If thats the profession na talagang magpapasaya sayo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hmm just follow your heart, and for now, just enjoy the moment great things will come soon and you will be a great Teacher someday.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Teaching is my first job sis bisan naa sa healthcare akong course... nindot pud na experience, but later I realized na seeing patients is more rewarding and fulfilling... So, try mo rin basin diay ganahan ra ka in the long run.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ikaw langga kung ano nasa puso mo at sa mind mo. Basta don't forget na kahit ano mang desisyon you have we are always there to support you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Maybe confused ka lang. Don't be too hard on yourself. Sometimes, we want to do everything. Pero we have to focus or try everything until we learn kung saan tayo masaya

$ 0.00
1 year ago