A Carouser, a Cat and a Client

26 43
Avatar for Scotty17
2 years ago
Topics: Drunk, Cats, Work, Patience

The title sounds like the beginning of a good comedy bit, but unfortunately it is not; it was reality for me last evening. We know life's complexities can come at the most inopportune times. and in droves, and this is precisely what happened to me last evening.

I went to bed at 10 p.m. (30 minutes later than normal) after praying, totally exhausted after having to write a rush article for a client after an extended electrical brownout in my province. I typically arise at 3:30 to 4 a.m., hence my early retreat to my pillow each evening.

The carouser

Everybody knows a drunk, either as a friend or perhaps as a family member. While some are funny drunks, others are mean and violent. Some are functional drunks who one would not normally recognize. Either way, drunkenness is not a disease as many believe but rather it is a sin.

The word of God states: "For you have spent enough time in the past doing what pagans choose to do—living in debauchery, lust, drunkenness, orgies, carousing and detestable idolatry" (1 Peter 4:3, NIV).

Still exhausted, I was awakened by my male neighbor, a fellow American, who was so drunk that he was unable to climb the stairs to his nearby apartment, so I let him into my home. He is an alcoholic (in laymen's terms) and drinks daily.

Anyway, he promptly vomited and clogged my bathroom sink, mumbled a few incoherent words about watching American football, and then passed out on a spare mattress where he remains passed out. I had to unclog and clean the sink. Fun task at 1 a.m. in the morning, right?

The cat

Meanwhile, my cat had been out since the early afternoon carousing about, and upon hearing all the commotion, began howling like a banshee for his food.

I began to feel that familiar emotion of impatience tinged with a bit of anger over the circumstances but managed to remain calm. I fed the cat and, of course, he didn't appreciate the food I gave him. He's spoiled wouldn't you know.

As a consequence, I filled up a bowl of water and gave him some other food whereupon he gladly munched it down like a ravenous wolf. Within 10 minutes he was howling to go outside to carouse some more. I don't know for sure, but methinks he has a hot babe in the neighborhood.

The client

Thinking my worries were finally over, and since I had left my laptop on sleep mode, I decided to check my main email where my clients reach me.

Lo and behold, a client needed a rush assignment for his work. He's both an EMT always on call and an adjunct professor at a New York university.

Since the man has been a client for well past five years I could not find it in my heart to turn him down. Instead. I cranked up my Microsoft Word software and began researching his topic on leadership models. Thankfully, I finished his project in a couple of hours and sent it to him. He had paid me via PayPal in advance and it was a handsome sum, so all was well.

Patience

People say patience is a virtue. But that is a philosophical concept proffered by many of the ancient and even contemporary philosophers. I can agree to this to a point since I studied philosophy extensively at university, with a preference for Aristotle and Immanuel Kant.

Now I do not have the patience of Job, I'll tell you that right up front. But what I do have is a modicum of God's word stored up in my heart. These consist of various verses, chapters, and stories found in the Bible.

One particular passage came to mind last night that was helpful in maintaining my cool, and I'd like to share it with you. Perhaps it may help you to memorize it as well.

"And now, dear brothers and sisters, one final thing. Fix your thoughts on what is true, and honorable, and right, and pure, and lovely, and admirable. Think about things that are excellent and worthy of praise" (Philippians 4:8, NLT).

My hope and prayer is that you will make it through today with this in mind. Oh, and without a drunk, a cat and a client keeping you from your slumber.

Sponsors of Scotty17
empty
empty
empty

13
$ 9.29
$ 6.28 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 2.55 from @MarielB22
$ 0.29 from @RazorFist
+ 5
Sponsors of Scotty17
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Scotty17
2 years ago
Topics: Drunk, Cats, Work, Patience

Comments

Now a days drunkenness is common , some say I love to be drunk to wash away my problem or difficulties . Anyway has a christian and a believer in Jesus Christ we all have to completely stay away for drunkenness. I love you kindly accept my sponsor ship offer sir

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I accepted it. Thanks a lot. Yeah, alcohol is only a temporary solution that leads to bigger problems on the long term.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes have seen it . Anyway I should be appreciating you for preaching to everyone always ❤️❤️❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's my calling. But thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are welcome. We will all make heaven ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Reckon I recollect our days of drunkenness', partner. Good and bad. A lot of bad ones.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Fistfights, run in's with the law and jail come to mind. Glad those days are long behind me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember you fighting that dude in a restaurant over pancakes. Course he started it and you finished it. Jumping over the booth was a hoot! haha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah, little did we know the cops were at the drive through window and had us cuffed before we knew it. No charges, though.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Fun times then but not so much nowadays.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed patience is a virtue it comes from God.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You and I agree but many others have no clue.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There's really a time that our patience drowned over.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Definitely. 3 weeks ago I upgraded by Glove fiber and they still haven't done it. I'll get my attorney on them today.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Whoa, bro. That's a bit much to handle. Sounds like you came through with flying colors thanks to your faith. God bless!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I don't know about flying colors but I managed to get through it all. Praise be to God.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sounds like a rough night indeed! Drunks are difficult to deal with because they rarely listen to reason. Cats are finicky and demanding. Clients can be a pain but they make for a great income on the side. I'm glad you made it through it all with patience. Sounds like you could use some rest, though.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Rest will come later. I need to help my wife first. But you are surely right on the other points.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I understand. Life gets complicated at times. Take care.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You've got to appreciate yesterday night... There aren't usually that many nights a year!!! Lol...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thankfully, you're right.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love you this content friend, yeahh when you get drunk, everything's change and many happenings that will come. And yeah your right that patience is a virtue.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sure does. I'm still tired and he is finally gone.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes patience is a virtue only few have this great quality.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Actually, if it is a virtue at all, it comes from God.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with you

$ 0.00
2 years ago