10 overrated anime

5 38
Avatar for Saigon
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Anime

WARNING!!! All of the following is the personal opinion of the author and does not claim to be absolutely objective. The author of the article has a toxic character and can just criticize a good anime.

10) Seraph of the End

Let's start with something simpler. Seraph of the End is a story about humans and vampires in a post-apocalyptic world. In itself the anime is pretty good, the story is quite interesting, the characters are charismatic, there are nice fights. But in fact, that's about it. Something outstanding is not. And I often notice this anime series in the list of the best and must-see. But as for me - it's just a good average story, that's all.

9) Dr.Stone

Look, I'm not a stupid person, but I don't understand much of what's going on out there. All those formulas and inventions are not my forte. But even I, being a person with a liberal arts education, paid attention to the nonsense that is going on on the screen. I understand that maybe some people like paper armor tanks from the Stone Age or a radio with music on a glass gramophone record, and I can agree that it's funny, but when it happens all the time, it's too much.

I'll be honest, I only included it in this selection because its ratings are off the charts compared to the crap I've seen. I was even talking on discord with a friend who understands physics and mechanics, and we were parsing the anime frame by frame. We laughed and cringed a lot.

All in all, I think it's not a bad anime, you can watch it for the sake of the nonsense that goes on there.

8) Tokyo Ghoul

I'm a Tokyo Ghoul fan. I was when the manga was released back in 2017 (if you've noticed from my avatar), now of course I'm not an active fan, but I still have fond memories. That's if we're talking about the manga.

The anime adaptation sucks, for objective reasons. If season 1 had problems with the narrative, season 2 made everything as weird as possible. The authors of season 2 smoked a joint and decided to come up with their own auteur vision of the plot. Subsequent seasons, on the other hand, were just terrible in terms of drawing and storytelling. I don't recommend watching the anime without reading the manga or you risk ruining your experience.

7) Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba

This anime has quite a bit of popularity in the anime community, and overall probably even deserves it. The pictures here are great, the action is dynamic, and there are a couple of interesting characters. But that's where the pluses end. Now let's talk about the cons. Let's start with the most important one - the explanation of everything that happens on the screen with the characters' monologues. I kind of watch the anime through my eyes and see who's doing what. The plot turned out to be quite ordinary, except that there are a lot of sudden unreasonable twists and turns. The main character doesn't seem particularly charismatic to me. The anime is not bad, but clearly not the masterpiece it is made out to be.

6) Darling in the Franxx

Darling in the Franxx is a fairly obvious plagiarism of "Eva. Some scenes are practically frame by frame copied from there. Apart from the fact that our story has obvious problems with the structure of the world, the motivation of the characters, the plot basis, well, personally for me the fights are not very good. I do not want to spend too much time describing the minuses, if you watched it yourself you will understand everything. Frankly, I do not understand how it can be called a masterpiece.

5) That Time I Got Reincarnated as a Slime

Now let's talk about perhaps the most popular and beloved Isekai of our time (after Mushoku Tensei, of course). "Slime" was an interesting idea at first, but things started to spoil from the very first episode. I generally like imba characters that get the job done with ease. Except the main hero is kind of just not charismatic (as far as I'm concerned almost everywhere). There are problems in the plot, for example, all the defeated enemies just stick with him and don't even try to take him down. Today we're enemies, tomorrow we're friends. To me, it's a missed opportunity to show the development of relationships between the characters. Yes, and the dialogues sometimes strain me. However, there are some good moments, the clearest example being the middle of the second season. Overall, this is clearly not the best Isekai to date.

4) Akame ga Kill!

In this case, I honestly can't even say why the title is considered a masterpiece. It's not bad and I even liked it when I watched it. But just like a good anime that you put on your list of favorites and you don't watch it again. Yes the action is good, there are interesting characters. The plot about the revolution isn't bad. But that's about it. The story is full of silly moments. And first of all the guy in the wrestler's mask is remembered. Write in the comments why you think "Akame ga Kill!!" is a masterpiece.

3) Fairy Tail

Fairy Tail is often put on a par with the legendary "three" shōnen. But I have one question for such people: "Are you serious? The anime is extremely passé and hard to watch at times. The characters are very cartoonish and barely develop. The idea of the importance of friendship is only expressed in words. The plot is at times completely illogical and boring. The action is also so-so. Except that the fanservice is not bad. Also worth noting is the constant build-up of drama, but every time out of place. In general, it turned out so-so, and clearly does not deserve its popularity.

2) Neon Genesis Evangelion

I've only seen one anime series and I think that's enough. I don't want to fucking watch 20 adaptations of the same show with a slightly different storyline. Eva fans say there's a deeper meaning to it which is beyond the comprehension of the dumbest people in the world. This may be true. Evangelion is full of biblical references and references known only to the author. But you know what. I don't want to dig into all of that. You can pelt me with tomatoes, but I don't want to watch Evangelion anymore. The only thing I like about it is Misato, she's incredible.

1) Sword Art Online

I'll be brief.

How can you watch this garbage? 50% is snot, the other 50% is fanservice. Where did the hundreds of girls who call it a top come from? What's so interesting about SaO? If it's interesting to watch one boy being chased by 6 girls, watch hentai.

Sponsors of Saigon
empty
empty
empty

7
$ 0.10
$ 0.09 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @sehirtanitim
Sponsors of Saigon
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Saigon
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Anime

Comments

I already watched number 9,5 and 3 on your animes list. I gonna watch the other too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The illustrations and effects of Demon Slayer are very good. But the universe is bad.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't think I've seen these animes before though

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love animes and there is a photo of Michel Jackson in demon slayer anime

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I haven't seen some of the animes on the list. I guess I gotta check them out to see for myself 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago