The link between a broken heart and creativity. 💔

3 23
Avatar for Rehi
Written by
2 years ago

My brain have been overthinking both relevant and irrelevant stuffs lately and I thought maybe it would be best for me to retreat even if it's for a while, that's why I haven't been visiting y'all articles for sometime now. You know we all get to thus point in life where we just hit the wall and we just need time to do some little detoxing, well sometimes it's more than little.

I have been studying the works of some really creative and intelligent people in history and I realise that a good number of them gain their inspirations after they lost their beloved, either by a break up or death of the beloved. I tried to find the link between them but I couldn't. I find the story of Rumi and Shakespeare particularly intriguing. These two sages dived into arts and became the best in their times, the latter gained his inspiration from a said breakup while Rumi gained his inspirations from the death of his Beloved.

I will take Rumi's situation as a case study, here is a short account of what happened:

Muhammad Jalaluddeen Rumi was a scholar and cleric in the golden age of Islam. He was a native of Konya a place now located in present day Turkey. He was a very respected Imam and a very revered scholar of Islamic Jurisprudence until he met his beloved, Shams-et-tabriz. After rumi's encounter with his beloved shams, his life changed, changed so much that he abandoned his duties and responsibilities as a chief Imam just to be with Shams. Unfortunately along the line, Shams was murdered by rumi's own son due to the fact that he was jealous of how freely shams had all his father's attention while he had little or none. Rumi was distraught and heartbroken after the incidents and he became a master poet. He organised poems and quatrains that were mostly about singing praises to his beloved shams and God. His works are still very much available and people ook up his works to learn the secrets of love. If shams hadn't died, I don't think he could have produced such amazing works.

People like Edmund Mush and Rodin have similar stories. They channelled their heartbreka into their works and they became masters in their chosen fields! Does that mean that a broken heart could have something to do with creativity. I guess so...

When we look closely, people whose hearts have been broken countless amounts of times are often the wisest set of people. They are those with the most empathy and those who feel connected to almost everything in the world.

Do my message for those with broken heart is to always see the opportunity in the situation they find themselves in and make the best out of it. Life is too short to spend it in grieving. That feeling you feel may be a source of inspiration for you and for others if you examine closely thanks for reading.

6
$ 6.14
$ 6.00 from @DocLayla
$ 0.03 from @jasglaybam
$ 0.03 from @gertu13
+ 3
Sponsors of Rehi
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Rehi
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

This is very nice and I, myself, have been to a lot of pains in life that's why I am used to writing poems. I love Rumi, his quotes cut deep to the soul :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My dear friend, you wrote great, I really enjoyed what you said. I love Rumi's poems, his lyric poems are mystical and full of meaning. I completely agree with what you said. Heartbroken can inspire us like a compassionate teacher...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is true and beautiful. It is said that "not having what you want builds character" people that have lost so much have understood what life is and what it is all about.

$ 0.00
2 years ago