We owe our grandparents so much…

20 42
Avatar for Raheela
1 year ago
Image source: Pixabay

The relationship we have with our grandparents is so beautiful. Think of it this way:

You love your parents the most in the entire world, and your grandparents are those who also love your parents the most, so automatically you love your grandparents the most. 

Isn’t it amazing?

The love, our grandparents shower upon us is just inexplicable. I don’t know about western culture, but here in eastern culture when a couple gets married, then the parents of that couple are so eager to play with their grandchildren and you will often find them saying to them:

“It is our wish to see and play with your children before dying”.

My grandmother often tells me that you are dearer to me than your mother. When I ask her why is that so? How can I be more beloved to her than her own daughter? She would tell me that:

I love your mother the most but as you are the love of my daughter, then it makes you more precious to me.

I’ve spent a long time with my grandparents. As they used to live alone, so I would go there and spend weekends their and often entire week. I was very fond of reading books and collecting stationary from my childhood, so my grandfather bought me a bag and few books. Whenever I used to visit them I would read those books and when I came back home and other cousins of mine visited my grandparents, my grandfather wouldn’t let them touch my bag saying:

“You guys don’t have any interest in studying but Raheela does, don’t you dare touch her stuff”.

During my stay with my grandparents my grandmother would oil my hair at night and make my favourite breakfast for me every morning. Bread soaked in desi ghee with green chilies chatni was my favourite at that time. Once my grandfather saw me having this breakfast and he got mad at my grandmother that why didn’t she give me fried egg in breakfast? Then she told him that Raheela likes chatni with bread not egg. It was his care towards me that he wanted me to have something healthy to eat. At night, when I didn’t drink milk my grandmother would scare me by saying:

“If you don’t drink it then the cat will”. 

She would tell me bed time stories of two sisters who envied each other or the story of a honest axe man etc.

My grandparents used to buy me gifts specially dolls. My grandfather died 18 years ago and not a single day goes by when I don’t miss him and pray for him. My grandmother is alive Alhamdulillah and we often sit together and cherish those memories and laugh and sometimes wish if only we could travel back in time to re-live those moments. Of course it can’t happen. What’s gone is gone. But I just want to say, the love that comes our way from our grandparents is the most pure form of love. Value them and love them. Sit with them and say sweet words to them as in old age they want nothing more than a good company. Don’t let them feel that they are alone.

Thank you for reading this article! Stay happy & blessed!

Image is from Pixabay.

15
$ 1.50
$ 1.26 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Amjad_Ali_Waince
$ 0.05 from @Laiba1
+ 7
Sponsors of Raheela
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Raheela
1 year ago

Comments

The love and affection of grandparents in geniune and it is more than love from anyone else

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes you are right

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Your article made me teary eyed. i lost my grandmother last year. I really miss them alot😔

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am So sorry to hear that laiba! May Allah grant her highest ranks in Jannah

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Amin sumamin

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You have such beautiful memories with grandparents. I didn't get to experience such great moments as they passed away even before I was born.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sorry to hear that! Hope you get to spend such time with your own grandchildren some day

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You had such great memories with you grandparents. You must miss them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes I do:(

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I want to owe my grandparents. But they are not suitable for owe. Because they are very clever and altime try to find out our mistake. It is very annoying to me and others.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It’s ok if they have such habits. Everyone has shortcomings and faults. You have got to look beyond that and be respectful towards them. Try to ignore their bad habits, try to focus on good ones

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I never had beautiful memories with my grandparents. I'm happy to know you had. Cherish them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thankyou dear

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Your welcome dear

$ 0.00
1 year ago

After reading your article I just remember the days i have spend with my grandma you know I was much closer to my grandparents as compared to my parents it's been a year since my grandmother left me but my grandfather is alive alhamdullillah and i always spend my whole time with him although i miss my grandma each and every second of my life but you know everyone has to go, loosing a loved one is soo much heart wrenching , I am much happy to see your bond with your grandparents i pray may your grandmother live a long life and may Allah give high ranks to everyone who left us! Everything is temporary but relationships never die and they are the most precious thing in the world and in one's life.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ameen! Yes you are right! And I pray the same for your grandparents

$ 0.00
1 year ago

How lovely time you have spent with your grandparents Alas i couldn't spend much time with them my paternal grandmother died before my birth and both grandfathers after soon my birth i was too little.i wish I could spend time memorable with them like you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am sorry to hear that. But if you couldn’t get the chance to spend such time with your grandparents that’s ok. You will be a grandmother some day and spend good time with your grandchildren

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Such beautiful memories with Grandma and Grandpa, makes me yearn to have such with mine.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

These are the best memories I have!

$ 0.00
1 year ago