My Tragic Pet Story: Part II

10 45
Avatar for Raheela
1 year ago
Article # 47
Date: 19 May,2022
Thursday

It was a cloudy cold morning when I noticed my parrot had not eaten anything, not even rice which was its favorite food to eat even more than green chilies. It was an alarming situation as we already had spent three winters together but it never got lazy or sick. My mother told me that it has caught a cold, so we better keep it warm or else it may die. Tears welled up in my eyes, thinking what would we do if it died? Suddenly, the flashbacks of my previous parrot’s death started crossing my mind. I was horrified. So, we decided not to let it out of its cage for a few days until he gets fine. Because if we didn’t keep it in the cage, it would wander around here and there, and its condition may get worse. So, we kept it in the cage and covered the cage with a warm cloth, gave it warm food and took good care of it. It started getting better and in 2 to 3 days, it was as active and playful as before. All of us took a sigh of relief.

In these 4 years, it had become a part of our family. So, we could not bear the sight of losing it. It used to wander around in our rooms like it was the owner of our house. There was this sofa in our lounge which was its favorite. It used to spend the entire day sitting beneath that sofa. If we sometimes could not find our mithu, we knew where to find it (Well of course! beneath the sofa). My father is fond of reading, so he often sits in the drawing-room reading books, and our parrot also used to sit with him, doing nothing but just gawking my father. I still remember once, it quietly entered our drawing-room, climbed onto the table, took my father’s blood pressure medicines, crushed them, and ate them. That day, our parrot was not in its senses and afterward, it also got bald from certain parts of its body and could not fly after that incident due to loss of feathers.

One day my sister brought home a big Persian cat, she intended to keep it as a pet. She brought it inside while holding it in her hands to show it to my mom. My mom took it from her and as she was admiring it, unconsciously she put it on the floor. Animals are blessed with this great sense to catch their prey. The moment my mom put it down on the floor, it ran towards our parrot who was sitting beneath the sofa. It attacked my parrot and held it so hard in its paw that the poor parrot started yelling. I got there as quickly as possible and scared the cat and it ran away. Everyone was shocked that what has just happened? My mother was about to try, but seeing the parrot fine, she and all of us were relieved.

The next morning, I found it very lazy, and it was taking very shallow breaths. I knew it was because of yesterday’s incident. We thought it might still be scared. But in the evening, when I went near the cage to see how it is doing. I found it dead. I felt like I was going to faint. My entire body got numb. I could not muster up the courage to call out my family members. I started crying badly, suddenly my mom came and asked me:

Why are you crying? What is the matter?

I simply pointed toward the parrot. When my mother saw it, she started crying too because out of all of us she was the one who was very attached to it. We were together for 5 years; it was a pain that I can’t into words. When it first got sick due to cold all those years ago, I thought it was its end. But no, it was destined to dye this way, at its favorite spot of sitting. Eventually, with wet eyes and heavy hearts, we buried it. That day, I decided I would never keep a pet. Because when you get used to something and then someday it leaves you suddenly, all you are left with is pain and sorrow.

Later, a few months back my aunt brought a pair of Australian parrots for me, although they were very cute and I liked keeping them, I still could not forget my mithu. But as we know that parrots are unfaithful birds, so one day I accidentally left a small window of its cage (where the tray of grains is kept) open and one of the parrots flew away. So, I decided to let the other one fly as well. Because they always live in pairs. 

Self taken picture

Disclaimer:

Every word written in this article is my own and doesn’t involve any similarity to someone else’s article. This entire article is checked by Grammarly and is plagiarism free.


Thank you for reading this article! Stay happy & blessed!

Lead Image is self taken

8
$ 0.77
$ 0.50 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @LykeLyca
$ 0.03 from @Amjad_Ali_Waince
+ 10
Sponsors of Raheela
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Raheela
1 year ago

Comments

Sad to hear this incident. I already mentioned you about stress factor in birds. Now we can pray and take it lesson for next time.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes I remember! You are right

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh my! That's really sad for Mithu.. I hope the two parrots are together again now..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah Hope so😕

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Of course, you would never forget the first pet you had even though people try to give you something just like them. They're so unique in our heart and memories.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are right dear

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ooh i was really emotional while reading about your mithu, yes it's true when we get used to some thing i mean some peoples our pets it's really difficult to live without them, you did the best by letting another one fly, because it would be depressed being alone i think. also love small birds, all kind of small creatures.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, the other one actually got really depressed so I had to let it go.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Feeling sorry for you lose. It sounds you love to keep parrots. I have read the first part as well you put your thoughts in to your words very well. It touched me. Even i was feeling the death of parrot i was looking the scene in front of me from your words.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you dear for your time. Yes i love parrots but I lose them every time

$ 0.00
1 year ago