Writing is interesting, but mehn! It is work.

27 49
Avatar for QueenRay
2 years ago

Writing is hard.

Even the best writers think so.

It's very easy to imagine what to write, picture it in your head, deliver it perfectly in your head, but when it comes to putting it down in writing the real work begins.

Many times I've had ideas all bullet up in my head, but when it comes to penning it down the problem begins.

Hemingway said “There is nothing to writing. All you have to do is sit down at a typewriter and bleed.”

I’m the type of writer who ponder a lot over my choice of word and topic in particular.

I read and reread my writing over and over again until the words lose meaning and I have nothing more to add. I edit my writings and save it a dozen times before I’m ready to publish.

Factors that causes delay in writing

  • Crippling Perfectionist

    Perfectionism is not the same thing as striving to be your best. Perfection is not about healthy achievement and growth. 

    Try to advise a perfectionist that “to be done is better than to be perfect.”

    They’ll reply that nothing is better than being perfect, and that’s why it is perfect!

    It is nearly impossible for them to produce anything perfectly in any sense. In trying to make their writing perfect, their work will usually result in one perfect sentence in a piece which no one will ever want to read.

    Trying to be too perfect is exhausting. Even when you try to make some things perfect, they don’t end up that way. You just end up being annoyed and overwhelmed by the process. Sometimes you can be too spent to even start another write-up because you know that it will still end in tears. That’s the worst thing about those we call perfectionists.

    There is no cure for being a perfectionists. The only way to get over it is to slowly desensitize yourself. Allow your work to see the light of day not minding whether it is perfect or not.

    Show it to a trusted friend who you know will be supportive and can help you vet before publishing it. Make a limit to your edits. Get comfortable with your finished work.

    An advice I'll give her that helps me is to tell myself that there are no completely finished works and whatever I write is the best. Keeping this in mind allows me to publish things while calming my inner perfectionist spirit.

  • Not being consistent in our writing schedule and being out of practice.

    Those of us who wait for who will praise us for what we write often get disappointed.

    Waiting on the perfect time, the right mood, or the retrograde to end may lead to not writing as much as we’d like. Or at all.

    We end up thinking about what to write, we want to write, we dream about writing, but not actually putting pen to paper or hands to keyboard very often.

    Days, or even weeks, may pass between writing sessions.

    Being out of practice or inconsistent with your writing schedule is a big reason for writing feeling difficult. 

    If you don’t use your writing skills, you lose it. The only way to keep your writing muscle strong is by actually exercising it. Doing so makes the whole process feel easier.

    Set a goal of writing each day, for any amount of time, and see how much progress you can make.

  • Lack of confidence and fear of failure

    It can be very hard to stand behind what you've written.

    You have thoughts like; what if people don't like it?

    What if they call you the two most dreaded words of a writer-a bad writer?

    You'll get over it, I can promise you that. The thing about people's opinion is that everyone has one and they are not always true or of might not always be of help.

    Some of the world’s most beloved writers were considered bad because they did not follow the traditional grammar rules.

    Did it hurt these writers feelings that others didn’t like their work?

    Sure, I imagine it did. But they didn’t let people's criticisms or their personal lack of confidence to stop them from writing continously.

    Good writing matters a lot, but not as much as you might think. If you can make people feel things with what you write, it does not matter if it is perfect or not.

    People are imperfect judges of everything we do. One person’s masterpiece is another person’s problem. Don’t let potential haters bring you down. If you write for yourself first, you’ll always have at least one fan.

    One of my writing mottos is “feel the fear and do it anyway.” I’m always scared to share my work, but no matter the reaction I’m always glad I did. And, as a bonus, every time I put myself out there, it gets easier to do it again.

You’re not alone

Writing is not for the weary. Writing anything takes courage and eagerness. If it is hard for you to write, then it is hard for others too. The important thing is to show up, sit down, and try put down something.

You don’t have to reach any milestones to become a writer, as soon as you start writing, you are one.

Lead image source

15
$ 1.03
$ 0.55 from @FarmGirl
$ 0.11 from @fantagira
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
+ 6
Sponsors of QueenRay
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for QueenRay
2 years ago

Comments

"..If you can make people feel things with what you write, it does not matter if it is perfect or not."

I definitely agree with that. Sometimes I do not mind if there are any typo or wrong grammar. We can actually feel the writer's emotions through their article.

I also note down my topics on my Notes app. Then there are days when you have the topic but your mind and heart just don't want to cooperate. I have a lot of drafted articles as well. Then I would return to it if I feel like continuing it. It is hard but very fulfilling especially if there are people who appreciates our writing. You are doing a great job, QueenRay. Keep it up. 😉

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks. @bbyblacksheep for taking time to go through my articles. Much love I've got for you.❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm guilty for this. I get soooo many ideas to erite but I get discouraged sometimes. What if no one likes my works? What if I get criticized? What if I ran out of ideas. But then there are still a lot of few people who loved to see me enjoy my hobby as a writer so I get a lot of support mentally and emotionally. ❤️

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You will always have people who love your work.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am a bit of a perfectionist myself. As well as it served me in inspection departments of engineering companies I worked for, it doesn't help me much in most other areas of my life. It just makes everything slower and over-analysed. You can produce a quality work without spending too long on re-editing. When you write from the heart and trust that your writing is good enough, it will always be that.

I wish you more confidence in writing. I have never seen anyone here saying that someone is a bad writer. There is no such a thing. Some maybe writers in progress, but not a bad writer.

When I don't write, I read a lot. That's also a good training in writing 💙

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's true. Reading helps us in becoming good writers. Because we tend to learn new ideas from what we see. Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can't. Can I just melt or be torn into pieces? That hit me the most. I always ran out of ideas then get discouraged 😆

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lol. Don't be discouraged. Keep pushing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This one hits me bullseye. Especially the first one, I am a person who loves the Edit button so much. I rewrite and rewrite that the one paragraph takes a day to finish hahaha. I love writing fictions, and when I write it, I need to consider a lot of things, it takes a lot of effort and time to finish one chapter. Hemmingway is so damn right, I bleed in the process.

Also the fear of failure. I think everyone of us has this thought "what if they wont like it". But I'll write it anyway. I'll write it for myself.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lol. Editing over and over again. It happens

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's not easy, most times I spend the whole day just writing and end up with a migraine, and sometimes I may end up writing nothing.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I can really relate with all the things you have said. But what really strucked me the most is not beibg consistent in my writing schedule and no practice. This happens a lot, especially if my procrastination visits me.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It happens to everyone

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very true... and I hate it when I am not allocated the time to produce the text part of a project, when the designer passes the task to me at the last minute. Hey, writing needs time for research and presenting it in a clear and concise way.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes ooo. You have contributed well

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This past few days I haven't able to write everyday. I am busy with things need to be fone and it hurts . Also, I can't think of things to be written. It's like my brain was shut. Hahhaa but I have ideas it's just that I don't know how to jot down. 🤧

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaaha. It happens. Just create time fr it. Once you start, it will keep flowing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I will put that in mind hihihi but first, I will refresh my mind hahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Although writing is tough but it is active booster dose for those who have passion to write something creative.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are right

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Right now, I can't think of anything. I'm so blank. Like you, I've had many ideas in my head but when I start writing, the struggles begin.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lol. It happens a lot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do those things too, reviewing and editing many times before making it live but I still have a lot of errors on them so I decided not to make it so hard for myself🤣

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's better. We should just leave it as it is. Thanks so much sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're very welcome😉

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, even I are completely blank at times. 😂 And that's okay. I can't force my brain to work hard lol

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lol. That's true. It takes determination to write articles. Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago