Swearing-in parade Batch B Lagos Corper(Day 4 in camp)

16 61
Avatar for QueenRay
2 years ago

For me, I had almost two years to prepare for my National Youth Service Corps having finished my final paper in December 2019. So I was adequately and very much prepared for the strictly regulated lifestyle on Camp.

I was assigned at first to room 48 which is at the topmost floor, but on getting to the room the bunks were bad so I switched room and got a room on the ground floor, room 6.

I settled down in the room assigned to me watching my roommates in order to be sure the degree of the safety of my belongings as I have been fed with numerous stories of stealings that go on in NYSC camps as we have various people from various places across the nation and no one knows the other person's intentions . Though I got a padlock for my bags.

As it later turned out, we were shocked with reports of numerous incidents of such thefts that has occurred in this little time we got to camp.

I don't know why some people deem it fit to steal other people's properties.

One of us couldn't mount parade on time today because his khaki trouser was stolen. Until they gave him a new one.

Today was our swearing-in parade and the Lagos State Governor was duly represented by the state coordinator of the National Youth Service Corps in Lagos State, Mr Eddy Megwa.

"SHOW CHARACTER WITH THE LEADERSHIP MANTLE HANDED OVER TO YOU, MEGWA URGES LAGOS CORPS MEMBERS

The State Coordinator of the National Youth Service Corps in Lagos State, Mr Eddy Megwa has urged corps members of the 2021 batch 'B' Stream I Orientation course to show character with the leadership mantle handed over to them by their predecessors. He made this statement during the Swearing-In Ceremony of the 2021 batch 'B' Stream I corps members at the NYSC camp, Iyana-Ipaja, today.

Mr Megwa who served as the representative of Lagos State Governor at the occasion, while declaring the Orientation Course officially open said 'some 48 years ago, the first set of corps members took this same Oath of Allegiance which you have just taken today. Since 48 years ago, the scheme has been soaring, cutting across all the nooks and crannies of Nigeria. Today, the mantle of leadership has fallen on you to carry the good news of the NYSC to different parts of the State and Nigeria, at large. Having received the certificates of higher learning, the next thing that is expected of you is to show character.'

The State Coordinator who stressed the need for the corps members to show character, said, why nations of the world fail is because of lack of character by citizens. He urged them to contribute their service to the nation with utmost dependability, selflessness and perseverance.

Appreciating the State Government for its continuous support to the scheme, Mr Megwa reminded them of the need to hasten the drive for the construction of the permanent orientation camp in Agbowa, Ikorodu, Lagos, which he said will ease the operations of the NYSC in the State of Excellence.

Meanwhile, earlier, the Oath of Allegiance was administered on 2041 registered corps members; 1446 females and 595 males by the representative of the Chief Judge of Lagos State, Honorable Judge Lateef Lawal-Akapo.

It is important to state that 228 and 229 Lagos corps members have been dislodged to Ogun and Oyo States respectively where they are meant to observe their orientation exercise before returning to Lagos to continue their service year."

Locate me if you can๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜Š, that's our camp commandant saluting the representative of the Lagos State Governor
In the middle with the red tie is the representative of the Governor of Lagos State, who is also the NYSC Lagos State Coordinator. The woman is our camp director.
We as Corpembers taking the Oath of Allegiance
The flag bearers parading slowly at the order of the camp commandant while we were at attention.
Each of the flagbearers signing the Oath on behalf of their various Platoons.

After his speech, it was announced that we were given a 3 hours break to celebrate our swearing-in. We were glad to have this break(I in particular).

As I said yesterday, my platoon was on duty today. I was assigned to Man the kitchen in the afternoon. I was happy knowing that I'll be free from long hour parade today.

Fellow corps members freely mingled with one another and in a matter of few days that we met, you would have thought that weโ€™ve known each other for years. Relationships were established, numbers exchanged and emotions expressed.

For me, I went to the camp with two basic resolutions which were to network as far as possible but to also keep a low profile as much as possible. As a result of my resolutions, I didnโ€™t hold any post throughout my stay in the orientation camp because I already had more than enough responsibilities before coming to camp and I wasnโ€™t prepared to add more to them.

Evenย when my name is suggested, I outrightly turned down the offers because I wasnโ€™t ready to continue the African mentality of โ€˜me-and- only-meโ€™ syndrome.

Though I joined a few unit, the choir, volleyball, and Match past.

I knew there were other corps members that can do better than me if given the chance so there was no point being greedy and competing for every available position on camp. Some corps members advertised their nuisance value by trying to nosedive into everything while in camp.

In the aspect of networking, I did my best to network with those that have the same orientation as mine.

This is just a tip from today at the NYSC camp. Join me tomorrow as I take you through my NYSC camp world.

Note: All images were taken at the camp ground today by our Platoons photographer today.

10
$ 8.80
$ 8.54 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @King_Gozie
$ 0.05 from @bbyblacksheep
+ 5
Sponsors of QueenRay
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for QueenRay
2 years ago

Comments

The uniform really looks great. Sad to hear about people stealing. ๐Ÿ˜”

$ 0.02
2 years ago

This is really nice, i look forward to the day I'll serve my nation too.โ˜บ๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.02
2 years ago

wow i wish we also have it in here ๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Woah ๐Ÿ˜ its seems an honor ๐Ÿ™‚ isn't it ?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wow...nice one wee have here. I will be waiting for your next trip story. It's not easy but one just need to serve his or her country. I knew you will feel great joining them in the kitchen. At the stage, students will be like brothers and sisters. They have have strong rapport with each other.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly, we relate as if we've known each other for long

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, you've got a nice experience joining national youth service corps, but is it mandatory in your country?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, it is mandatory.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I see, in our country it's not mandatory.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

All this story is not really what I am interested in ooo,I need to see a picture of you on your NYSC uniform because I want to laugh. Lols,I was just kidding. I am sure you are really enjoying yourself. Keep on preaching read.cash to them oo

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah. I'm enjoying my stay ooo. Thanks bro.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Now your are a corner, you are left with man o' war drill

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, our oga is one strict person ooo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You know, sleep ni they will soon make the most clarion call

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Can I ask is your national youth service corp is mandatory?? Here in our country our president make it mandatory but many citizens doesn't like it so they removed it. I wanna experienced that too. Your story is great I wanna read more from you๐ŸŒ๐ŸŒ๐ŸŒ

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, it is mandatory. Particularly if you are hoping to be involved in any political ambition in the nearest future.

$ 0.00
2 years ago