Service: A privilege(Day 2 in camp)

22 59
Avatar for QueenRay
2 years ago

"I cannot wait to see how you'll look dressed in your NYSC outfit, make sure you send pictures", my neighbour said to me as I left home for camp.

It was quite an interesting sight to behold at the main gate of the Lagos Orientation Camp on Friday morning.

Many buses which conveyed various Prospective Corp member from their different states to the Lagos Orientation Camp, their state of deployment.

There were friends that were posted as far as Jos, Sokoto, Enugu, Borno, Kano, Kebbi, Nasarrawa, Adamawa and so on.

I got slightly lucky though, would have gone to Anambra.

Compared to my own 1 hour, 30 minutes journey, they would be traveling for twice or even thrice the time of my own journey.

Mission to report to NYSC Lagos Orientation Camp.

Vehicle set!

Doors jammed!

Driver ready!

Engine starts up!

E.T.A. : 1 hour!

Journey began : 6:00am

Journey ends : 7:30am

....5,4,3,2,1.

Off we go!🚌πŸŒͺ️πŸŒͺοΈπŸ˜…πŸ˜…

To my anticipated astonishment, everyone I saw in the camp were completely new faces. In fact, I was left wondering if we actually have all this students in Nigeria not to talk of having them all over the states in Nigeria.πŸ˜‚

Anyways, it was intelligible. My Alma Mata(University of Ibadan, first and the best as we pride ourselves) alone is a city on its own and even the most social person cannot know everyone. There would still be someone that you have never met.

Since we all shared the same same state of deployment abd we'll be stucked together for close to three weeks, it was easy to start a conversation when you meet a new person.

I finally settled down in my allocated room around 3 pm having undergone the normal checking and registration processes. I did some arrangements before going out to give myself a deserved treat of cooked indomie garnished with sausage and fried eggsπŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹ at the popular "mammy" market.

Today is when it really dawned on me that I was now at camp where I would be involved in a 21-day paramilitary training.

We went through rigorous parade rehearsals in preparation for the swearing-in ceremony scheduled to hold on Monday.

At a point, I was like; "abeg, na Mathematics I go study for school na".πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

People were fainting, the red Cross members were already on standby to take them to the clinic.

We were woken up by a loud trumpet sound at exactly 4:50am, we immediately went down to the parade ground. We said the anthems, prayers and meditation. Attendance was taken. And other short lectures, the interesting one was the Man O War. I love it.

I have an issue here, phones were not allowed on the parade ground, so I couldn't snap , but I paid a photographer and would get my photos later(I guess that's after the camp though.

Then we went for meal, Pap and 2 akara's(I'm sorry I didn't take it. I only took an apple and yoghurt)

Oh yeah! I was allocated to Platoon 6, so while platoon 1-5 were having their briefings, we the platoon 6-10 went through a rigorous match past, as tiring and strenuous as it was, it was interesting πŸ˜‰πŸ˜€πŸ‘. I think I'll consider going into military service.🀣🀣🀣🀣

We were dismissed to go freshen up and take our meal. After which we did the cleaning of the rooms and the delegated soldiers came to inspect the rooms.

After sanitation we went for a lecture on security. How to stay secured in your place of assignment. (It was a VERY boring πŸ˜΄πŸ˜’πŸ˜‘πŸ™„πŸ˜ͺ session) as they were repeating things we were used toover and over again. Prospective Corp members were sleeping, as they were tired as well.

Screenshot of my post on noise.cash

We had an hour family meeting. Family meeting us a meeting held by each platoon. Platoon 6 met, we had a discussion on the various activities we will engage in. I joined the volleyball 🏐, drama and choir group. We have other groups, social, cultural, football, red cross, among others.

Please try not to be bored about my camp experiences. I know it's boring, but I need to pen it down.

I'll continue in tomorrow's writeup..

Thank you for following!😍😍

Eshey oβœŒοΈβœŒοΈπŸ™Œ

Lead image: Corpers in action.

16
$ 8.95
$ 8.60 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @TengoLoTodo
$ 0.05 from @OfficialGamboaLikeUs
+ 8
Sponsors of QueenRay
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for QueenRay
2 years ago

Comments

That's a lot of activities for your first day. I bet it will be from boring to fun in the coming days. πŸ˜€

$ 0.00
2 years ago

wow, is going to be a nice advance at the end but I get the starting is not easy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is happening too fast...the Lord is your strength do well not to faint 😊...this was fun reading through, I would know what to face when my time comes..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Amen ooo. I'll try as much as possible not to. Because I don't want my video on instablog. Lots of Corp member still go against the rule and remove their phones from their pockets whenever someone faints. And no one can tell where the pictures or videos will get to.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Please stay clear, my Queen cannot be on media like this...you are covered in the blood no camera set against you shall prosper 😊😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amen. Fire πŸ”₯πŸ”₯πŸ”₯πŸ”₯πŸ€—πŸ€—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

whoaahh! what an adventure you got there, friend! 😍

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Gracias gwapojohn.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

De rien! ❀️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naaah, it is not boring. I enjoy reading it. Keep writing this down πŸ€—

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you 😊☺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Keep writing. I am enjoying your adventure.. this is what I always wanted to do. πŸ™‚

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lol. Okay I will. Thanks for the encouragement

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Na never start the journey just began tmr afternoon na go parade like kilode for swearing in sake

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lol. They said that ooo. Maybe I'll fake my fainting .

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is not boring, it is interesting to see. Keep having fun :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ok. I'll try ooo. If they don't end up breaking our bones. Lots of people fainted.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hope you are not too tired. I'm sure you won't escape the soldier's whip (if that's legal) before the camp ends🀣🀣🀣. Why join the volleyball team when the football team is there?πŸ˜‰

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am ooo. They've currently seized my ID card and that of others. They insisted we come outside for party tonight but we refused. I don't know the consequences of that though.

Football is for guys, volley ball for ladies.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am very sure you are very tired. I hope you won't get lean within 3 days. At the same time I know you are enjoying the fun and event. Sha send us picture.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'm actually a slim lady before, so the stress is having no effect on me, just keeping me fit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚all in the name of fit,kin sha dake

$ 0.00
2 years ago