Enough of the stereotypes, I just want to be myself.

9 36
Avatar for Queen001
2 years ago

19th of December, 2021.

I never planned to write any article today, but I became so angry and got in the mood to write after my conversation with a very good friend. This friend of mine is so knowledgeable and the last time I engaged in such a conversation was 2018/19 with my then roommates. This person has a different perspective on life.

Amongst many things we discussed, I'd like to share this particular one. First, the kind of person I am, I love anything social, entertainment industry, fashion and anything that goes in line with that. This friend of mine loves fashion so much from his dressing and all. If you're a person either male or female, once you don't have the regular fashion sense or style, I'll always want to be close.

Our discussion started from how the fashion the world is going back to now is something that has been done in the past, from the big trousers, dreadlocks, afro and many more. Earlier this week, I read an article of @Theblackdoll where she complained about how society pictures and stereotypes anyone that dresses in a certain type of way.

My Question is why should anyone that has some type of fashion sense or dresses in a type of way be a problem to society?.

Sponsors of Queen001
empty
empty
empty
Meet my wonderful sponsors

@GarrethGrey07 is my newest sponsor. Thank you so much, I really appreciate it

Not one or two have I witnessed elderly ones, whether in the market or other places, shouting and insulting young Ladies they do not know, because she's dressed in a type of way, maybe she put on revealing clothes and all.

My friend that I conversed with is a male. He explained to me how he was walking down the street on a particular day and a particular man was parked by his side. He thought the man wanted some kind of description. But annoyingly, you wouldn't believe the Man parked just to ask him why he dyed his hair? Like for real?. My friend does many styles, sometimes he plaits or changes hairstyles to many forms. But the one I'm talking about is just his normal hair, in which the upper part is tinted.

I believe, there is a right to dress in whatever way you deem fit. The point is, some people just love fashion and not your regular dressing sense. People have made stereotypes of people that have tattoos, dreadlocks, plait hair (male), wear revealing dresses, haircut aside low cut, as bad people. The honest thing is that the majority of the people that dress this way are more of a moralist than the so-called holy ones or those that know too much.  

Why should you believe that all the people that smoke, drinks, have sex or does some kind of other things are bad? This is actually serious discussion and a topic that I feel is less talked about and as such should be discussed all times in a form of enlightenment. Most of the people that put these things on their head did more than that when they were much younger or now, but secretly.

Let me end with this, why do most people say that most religious leaders' sons and daughters are wayward? No, they are not!. Religious leaders will always want their children to have the Life they live now publicly or they preach. And such children also have their own life to live, this is really pathetic and imposing on such children.

For instance, a parent that does not have have some type of discussion with his/her children, for example about sex because whether we like it or not, we are all sexual beings. When such children leave their parents and go to a college or University where he/she is free, she does whatever she likes. And just maybe the parents also made such a mistake too while younger, but couldn't sit the children down and have these types of discussions with them.

Thank you for reading!

5
$ 2.63
$ 2.59 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @MarielB22
$ 0.02 from @Jumper-01
Avatar for Queen001
2 years ago

Comments

These stereotypes are very common in my parts and its growing at an alarming rate especially in the north. "Moral police (his bah) arrests young bots for having "unholy" haircuts.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh my, really?? Unholy haircuts? I'm super sure ladies can't explore any fashion sense except the usual ones

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There's a saying that goes like this, dress the way you should be addressed. There's a level that you will get to and people won't care about your dressing because all they will see is you without any error, even you carry dread or tatto, look at the football world or entertainment industry, the same people that condemn someone on the street for getting a tattoo are still the same people praising Messi for his tattoo

$ 0.02
2 years ago

May God bless you, "the same people that condemn someone on the street for getting a tattoo are still the same people praising Messi for his tattoo", this exact statement came up during our discussion.

It is what it is. Thank you so much

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's interesting that you bring up religion near the end of your post. Do you read and/or study the Bible? I ask, because although I enjoy fashion and my fiancee is a filmmaker, the Bible specifically speaks to fashion.

"I also want the women to dress modestly, with decency and propriety, adorning themselves, not with elaborate hairstyles or gold or pearls or expensive clothes, 10 but with good deeds, appropriate for women who profess to worship God" (1 Timothy 2:9-10, NIV).

How do you feel about that?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am a Christian 😀 and I understand your point ma'am. Modesty and decency is expected in the dressing, yeah, emphasis on because such a person is a Christian.

But, what if I don't believe in any religion, I have the right to put on anything under the law. I have got the full right, right?

What do you think ma'am?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, you and all have limited free will God is patient but not forever.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We cannot please everybody, but as long as we're happy with what we are doing or wearing? So be it, they are a waste of our time if we entertain them.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Exactly, thank you very much

$ 0.00
2 years ago