Why do I feel tired and sleepy after eating?

33 51
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

β€œGreat things happen to those who don't stop believing, trying, learning, and being grateful.”

Roy T. Bennett

Many times, I try to control the way I eat most times as I don't like how I use to feel sleepy immediately after I eat my meal, especially during the day when I am supposed to start working. I just feel tired and it is until I have slept and would be able to do something, but that period, I realize I am lagging behind many things I ought to have done with those hours I have been sleeping.

Yesterday, immediately after I finished eating breakfast, my eyes were dimming and I felt tired. I planned to spend my time online so I can achieve something productive but this tiredness will not allow me. I decided to play around and ask the question on my WhatsApp status to hear what others have to say.

Some replied saying it's too much alcohol. I know I don't take it, so I erase that from the answer I wanted. Another said it's too much money. How does that relate, please? πŸ˜…πŸ˜… I scrapped that too. Then I got the last and most beautiful answer. The person said it's our digestion pattern. Digestion goes through a long period, and if we do not do anything then, we would feel tired.

Finally, I went to research on Google and I love what I read and I learned from it. I had to bring it here for us to learn too and perhaps change some things we wouldn't want to include or combine.

Why do we feel tired after eating?

Reading it, I discovered that this issue can be a natural result of digestion patterns and sleep cycles. After eating, it takes a while for the food to get digested completely, and this is why we are advised not to lie down immediately after eating because such a thing could even cause belly fat. This is why you see mothers, after feeding their babies, allow them to belch before letting them rest or sleep. Same thing with an adult.

There are some foods we eat and the timing that makes people feel tired after a meal. According to researchers, it is believed that it is a natural response and not something that calls for concern.

The combination of Carbohydrates and Protein makes people feel tired or sleepy after eating than any other food. It is believed that our body produces more serotonin which causes this problem.

Serotonin is a chemical with a role that is played to regulate mood and sleep cycles.

There is an Amino acid called β€œTryptophan”, which occurs in many proteinous foods that helps the body to produce serotonin. Therefore, tryptophan is absorbed in the body through the Carbohydrates we consume.

For this cause, when we eat food that is rich in Protein and Carbohydrates, it makes us feel tired after eating.

What are the foods that contain Tryptophan? They include; Poultry, eggs, spinach, cheese, seeds, milk, salmon, and soy products.

While food that has high levels of carbohydrates are, Pasta, rice, corn, milk, sugar and candy, white bread, cake, cookies, and doughnuts.

When people combine these meals, especially during the day, it makes them sleep.

Another thing is the quantity of food we eat at once. There was a time I tried eating a little quantity, I noticed I wasn't feeling tired or sleepy and I knew the quantity of food we eat could affect us when we should be working but we get tired and feel sleepy.

Other factors that cause tiredness after eating are;

  • Poor sleep at night

  • Drinking alcohol with a meal. I know some people who combine this and take alcohol to be water. This surely affects such a problem.

With all these being said, how do we stop feeling tired after eating? This is something that is frustrating when you have got a lot to do for the day but this issue comes up for you.

The first is to eat little and often. Just like I said above, we can try eating little at first, then go back to it later. But make sure you don't eat a large quantity at once.

Get quality sleep.

Go for a walk

Avoid drinking alcohol with meals.

Take a short nap during the day

Apply the Bright-Light therapy. This is by exposing your eyes to bright light after eating breakfast or lunch.

I hope I have been able to help and break this down in a way we can understand better.

Thanks for your time

Reference

Image by Andrew Neel and Yelyzaveta from Pexels

[September 06, 2022] (No 248 articles for the year)

19
$ 0.79
$ 0.42 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @tired_momma
+ 12
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

Comments

I use to experience that almost every time and it's annoying...but what you said is true cause I did some research about it and I find out the problem just like you. How can too much money make you sleep πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Nawa oo πŸ˜… Maybe when you have enough money, just keep sleeping and don't work again 🀣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So it is due to the digestion patterns and sleep cycles. We should must follow the tips you mentioned above to get rid of it.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes! Not eating too much at once should help.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I usually fall asleep after eating. I don't drink alcohol but I still get very sleepy.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

The other factors may be the cause too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's what I know too.. Those carbs and protein need to be digested that's we feel tired and sleepy.. When I was young, I didn't care about it..i just lay down after eating 🀣

$ 0.02
1 year ago

As young kids then, we depend and trust our adults to help us survive but now, who do we depend on? πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Were same here my friend, maybe its true lack of sleep at night is one of a reasons to consider because I always sleep late and wake up so early to prepare the meals before going to work

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yea, when we do not have enough sleep, it causes us to get tired after eating too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is a beautiful topic, I agree with your points.

We all have different digestion speed and it is good to know what your body wants when it wants it, and how it wants it. Eating heavy is one thing that will make you feel tired and doing what your body demands for at that point in time can be dangerous

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Especially someone eating Eba in the morning πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

I really pity those children who eat such before going to school. They already succeeded in making him or her sleep when lecture is going on πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sincerely, I do think it's laziness that's doing me and I was always trying to complain about it to myself but now that you have shared it, I will work towards it.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Let's work towards it is the Koko. Make we make money oo

$ 0.00
1 year ago

HeheπŸ˜…. I used to think that this thing happens to only me. And whenever I tell someone about this, he'll ask if I'm not pregnant πŸ˜…πŸ˜…. I know the reason now. Thanks for sharing

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It's not only you oo πŸ˜…πŸ˜… It happens to many people if not some sef.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hmmm, nice observations princess. Coincidentally, I wrote an article this about this few months ago. This is the reason why I take light breakfast if I plan to be very productive during the morning. If it's very heavy,one would seem dull and lazy all morning and if .....Our blood glucose level generally rises after a good meal.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Nice! Though I most times skips breakfast until I am half way done with whatever I am doing because I know if I do, I might be lazy throughout the day.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is all because of high glucose level. When we take our diet, our brain gets more glucose. More energy make more relaxation in our body. Empty abdomen didn't make us able to sleep as early as it did after eating.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You are right. Empty abdomen..... No one would be able to sleep then πŸ˜„

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think I'm far from this, I rarely feel sleepy or tired after eating. Although I used to feel this way long time ago but now, who dash me sleep? 🀣

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Especially when money is involved 🀣🀣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True, if I have lack of sleep, when I go to work I eat with some small amount from time to time so I will not feel dizzy at work. Also I find some time to nap. But if I am home and I eat much..really it feels tired and sleepy after having a heavy meal.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It is the heavy meal that makes us feel tired or sleepy.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Now I understand princess that after I ate sometimes I felt uncomfortable, I felt tiredness that's because I have a poor sleep.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yea, poor sleep can be the cause too, apart from eating too much at a goal.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Now I know princess. Thank you so much for this. ❀️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ehen so this is the reason why thank you princess make I use this one hold

$ 0.01
1 year ago

πŸ˜…πŸ˜… Na the reason be this oo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's me all the time 🀣 And when I wasn't working I'm guilty of wanting to sleep right after eating which I know is not good but I can't help it.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I can't help it too because you will be forced to πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Not me skipping the chemical and amino acid partπŸ˜‚. I got sleepy there

$ 0.01
1 year ago

🀣🀣🀣🀣 You are funny.

$ 0.00
1 year ago