Tour de Force

26 116
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

“Every achievement is a servitude. It compels us to a higher achievement”.

Quote Source

According to Cambridge Dictionary, “Tour de Force” means an achievement or performance that shows great skill and attracts admiration.

Ever since I got employed as a class teacher of Nursery 1 & 2, three years ago, I have always put all my mind into teaching these kids and I tried to make an impact even before I leave there. A colleague asked me one day how I got so much interested in teaching because she finds it hard taking the big classes, I smiled and told her “it's a passion”. Once you are passionate about teaching the kids, you will want to give it all your best.

These wonderful kids have been my priority to teach them so they could understand and learn how to read and write. I was the first teacher who introduced them to writing by themselves from the chalkboard as I would only copy a few lines of words for them while I monitor them.

While that kept going, they were improving and from there, I started teaching them how to join two to three words together to read a story in class as I would devote my full attention and time to listening to and correcting their errors.

I warned them sternly but with a smile on my face not to allow anyone at home to do their homework for them except if they do not understand and by the next day, they would come to feed me back on how they got to do their work and no lies, I would tell them.

These children have come to love me and enjoy my company around them and they would always shout and surround me calling my name.

I taught them how to write and spell their names with their surnames and I was glad for the improvement.

Every time we had parents teachers association, I would always receive more gifts than the other teachers as they would always say “My son or daughter is doing so well” “Thank you for teaching my children”. “My children do not allow anyone to help them do their homework. They will say My aunty will beat me, let me do it myself”.

When I hear words like these, I feel elated for I would call this an achievement for me. With this, I intensified in teaching them more and more and I could see great improvement until one day, I got what I would call “A happy and proud achievement”.

We had another PTA meeting that day and the minute book secretary wasn't available, I was told to replace her and record everything that was being said in the meeting. I sat next to my boss while I was doing my job.

After some parents spoke their minds and appreciated the staff's effort, a parent stood up and started her speech, she got to a point I couldn't stop smiling and being proud of myself.

She mentioned in front of other parents how her son could now spell and write his name by himself. A boy of five years old and his name is Jeremiah with a surname between 10-13 letter words as I couldn't remember but I know he has a long surname.

She said “Thank you, Miss Busayo for helping my son”

I felt emotional and happy because it was a great achievement in the presence of every parent and staff on seat that day.

There was a boy I was teaching also in my class, he would always tell his mom every morning to send gifts over to me because I am always nice and friendly to him. I felt good receiving such praise when the mother of the son comes around to explain how the boy would always disturb her to get me gifts.

I consider this my proudest achievement and I can't wait to receive that everywhere I go.

When I left the school for my degree studies in the year 2019, I felt like not leaving and my boss wasn't happy seeing me leave but I just had to since I was given admission at that time.

Thanks for reading

Image by Sebastían on Unsplash

[July 04, 2022] (No 185 articles for the year)

13
$ 1.90
$ 1.63 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
$ 0.03 from @Knowhere
+ 11
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

Comments

That is a heartwarming thank you from a mom, you are indeed a good person

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yea, thank you 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is always good to always bring out the best in us in everywhere we go, because they will always remember us for the good things we do.. It's not easy to teach a child, but you are able to carry out your work diligently, that's a quality of a good teacher.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, we must do our best to make an impact in the lives of children. Thank you dear.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Passion is the only thing that makes us different from others. When we are passionate about anything we engage in life, life will be more purposeful and incredible to live in. I celebrate with you because it is not easy to teach as it is a delicate work that deals with humans. Continue with your passion, it'll leave a good mark on your name.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, it's good for one to be passionate. This is what would make work less stressful too. Thank you 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are such an amazing teacher. If I am your student, I would be the happiest student . Teaching is a vocation .

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hehehe! Thank you 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Teaching a kid's at that age is hard and with your kindness and friendly gesture they learn a lot from you, that is why their parents are really happy and thankful on you. Hopefully my son can have a great teacher like you in the future.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I hope so too. He will definitely get to see a kind and passionate teacher.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm so glad to know that you're a teacher too! I salute you for being a great teacher to these kids,. God bless you, teacher!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Amen. Thank you ma 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Teaching is a calling. Not everyone has it. Most people do it just because of the money.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You are right. Passion should be involved in teaching or else, one might fail in helping children.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Passion is really important at work. That is why I didn't pursue my teaching carreer as I don't have passion in teaching!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You are right. One has to be passionate.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's really a memorable experience. For me, I believe that nursery and primary school teachers should be paid the most because they lay the foundation of whatever the individual would turn out to be in life... I even heard that I'm some western coy tries like Finland, teachers are the most highest paid professionals

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Nigeria isn't appreciating teacher's work and they are the one doing the big job here.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh my dear princess you really did a great job! 👏😲 And I salute you for that.. ❤️❤️❤️ God bless you and more power!😇

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Amen. Thank you, renren 😘

$ 0.00
1 year ago

A good teacher always makes his students become knowledgeable even though one day his students will forget it.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You are right. There are some who would always remember though.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Indeed, that's a great achievement Princess. Not only you have touched the lives of these students, but you have also helped moulding individuals with character and principles. It's vital that the students would have great learning experiences in the nursery as it is the foundation.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

The nursery is indeed the first foundation truly. Thank you 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is nice my sister you were a good teacher. Teaching is very sensational profession in which I also got great applause and many sentiments from parents. You did a great job as replacement. We should praise for good work sister.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you so much. 😎😎

$ 0.00
1 year ago