Success - Burning the Midnight Oil

18 119
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

Lead Image

I was going through some posts on a platform yesterday and a phrase caught my attention and I was like "this is a clue to bring something up for the prompt word 'Success' by @JonicaBradley ".

The phrase or should I call it idioms is like this "Burning the midnight oil".

I know it will be a common and popular word for all of us here and we know what it means actually. It feels great to link it up with the prompt word though.


Disclaimer: This post might not work for everyone but it does work for most people here who had found out the best time to do what they want to do.


When we talk about burning the midnight oil, what does it mean? In my own idea, it is staying up late at night especially in the wee hours to do something you need to do.

Success isn't for lazy people. If you want to be successful in life, you need to burn the midnight oil.

Some years back (2012 precisely), I got to understand my own way of reading to understand and grasp every information I needed to have with me. During my program in the college of education, my family didn't believe I would go to school. In fact it got to a point when I was in school, my Grandma called me and was like "Busayo, pack your bags and start coming home. Don't waste our money. Your father said you can't study".

This pained me though but I proved to them that they were wrong. In my hostel, you can't understand anything during the day because the environment is always noisy.


I joined other students who wanted to make the best grades out of school at night. I noticed that, that time is the perfect moment to read perfectly without any distraction. That moment, my brain was relaxed, focused and unperturbed. I couldn't believe it because I kept flipping the pages of my course materials and everything was flowing into my brain.

The next day, I tried it again until it became part of me up till today. I wanted to prove to them that moment and also to become successful in my academics. With my hard work and sleepless nights, I came out excellently even without having carryovers. Each semester, 13-15 courses. You know how tedious and stressful that was? Still, God saw me through. It was a success.

This also applies to everyone who wants success in whatever they do. You want to build a house, you want to get that promotion, you need to own a company, you want to be called boss everywhere you go, then you need to do the needful - burn the midnight oil.


I would also like to relate burning the midnight oil with these 3 tips to help us if at all we want success.

Determination : Do you know how determination works? The power of determination can never be undervalued in our lives and it is one of the steps to help you in the Journey of success. You need to discipline yourself to determine what you want to do for yourself.

Being Consistent: You can't just venture into something and you stop halfway. How do you finish it? You aren't getting the desired result at a particular time, you want to stop? What will then happen? You need to be consistent with burning your midnight oil. Let it burn to the end and light more oil and continue.

Patience: To get what you are working for, you need to be patient. Patience is an act of waiting for something till it land on your Palm. You don't quit when you are patient, you keep going till you achieve everything you want.


To be a success, you need to stay awake, put your hard efforts into it and at the end, you will realize your midnight oil isn't in vain.

Your midnight oil are those tips I mentioned up there and there are more to add to the list. Don't stop when you haven't reached your goals.

This is my own way of bringing up the Prompt word. Burning the midnight oil isn't only about waking up in the middle of the night alone, but doing things that would make you succeed in all you are doing.

Are you interested in joining us? Why not do that now and let's explore the word in our own way.

The rules are simple.

  • Join the Promptly Jonica community to post your article.

  • Write anything about success

  • Write 100% original content

  • Tag @JonicaBradley

  • Have fun!

|July 20, 2021|

Head over to the original article about Success here

17
$ 12.91
$ 12.45 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Fexonice1
+ 9
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

Comments

Will bep osted mine tomorrow.. I admire your determination to get the success you wanted.. And those three steps are really helpful to become successful. I can tell that you will achieve more in the future. 😊

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you. I will go through yours too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's a great and good topic we have here. To bring out success, one needs to be determined because when you are, you can be able to pursue that which you Desire so much. If you are Nott consistent, then you will Nott be able to make success because continual desire for what you want will surely come to you on a platter of gold.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I have tried that as well, burning the midnight candle. This just shows how eager we are in pursuing our dreams. Just like what you did. Keep doing amazing.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I am glad that you continue your study. You are right, if we want to be successful, we shoul be consistent in what we are doing.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Exactly. Thanks for reading through.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I couldn't agree more on this, Princess. This goes to the bones. I admire you for your perseverance and consistency. 🤗

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you very much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Inspiring, Princess! The combination of burning the midnight oil and patience can be unbeatable to achieve success. I hope everything goes well for you:)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Amen and to you also. Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Napoleon Hill in his book "Think And Grow Rich" said that to get success your "will" is not enough nor the "wish", You have to keep a burning desire.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes, that is it. We need to keep going and burning the desire.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My mind of hard work may not be same as yours but it will drive to the same result of the objectives are the same. In my few years in life, in have learnt that you have to take extra effort either by working your ass our or your thinking smartly to break barriers.. Consistency and determination is a MUST if you must record success.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I agree with you sir. We might not be in the same line of doing things but we all want success which is the same goal for us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're a product of hardwork and resilience. Things will surely get better for you. I will also drop my prompt Tomorrow.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Success requires a lot of hard work, during my school, we burn a lot of candles just to succeed over a course.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

You have spoken well. Some people enjoy reading when the environment is noisy while some is when it is silent but the three keys remain determination,consistency and patient for both to be succesful. Thanks for sharing

$ 0.05
2 years ago

There are a lot of things to be define as success and become successful. Whatever it is I may say this three -determination, patience and consistency is always the key. I can attest to that to my weight loss journey. With these three I believe that's why I become successful to attain my goal.

$ 0.05
2 years ago