My Experience With My Aunt

63 108
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

Lead Image

"Busayo, be patient. The days remaining for you can't be compared to the years you have lived with her. It's just a matter of time."

They will keep saying this to me anytime I complain of where I stay and how I was treated but everything came to an end one day and I was so much happy I was finally free.


I stayed and lived with my Aunt for 20 years. It was after I finished from Secondary School in year 2010 and because of my behavior then. Perhaps, I should thank her for taking me away from my parent then because they could not handle me anymore. I was almost getting married to a tout on the street but God had a beautiful plan for me. My Aunt requested I come to stay with her so she could change my life. My Dad agreed to it because he feels it was the right thing for me, but I never wanted to, until one morning, they helped me pack my bags and threw me inside the bus with my Dad. I was really fighting so hard with him and struggling to jump out of the bus because I can't afford to leave the useless life I imagined for myself.


We got to my Aunt's place in Ibadan on a Friday afternoon and she welcomed me in with smiles. That was the first time I started to know my relatives. My Dad left the next morning and left me alone. I started my life in Ibadan with this woman who I thought I would enjoy my life with. I was very lazy and I can't imagine myself coming to live with a strong workaholic woman.


MY FIRST INSULT FROM HER

It was on Sunday after my Dad left on Saturday and we were getting prepared for Church. Since I was still new in that house, I wasn't used to things as it would take me time to learn and adapt to the new environment. I wanted to take my bath and I just wore one of her slippers at the doorstep. Little did I know I was in for trouble.

When I came out from the bathroom and saw me with her slippers, she said a statement which really hurts me

"Why did you put on this slippers to bath? Can your parent afford this?"

I didn't..... I wanted to complete the "know" when I heard such insultive statement from her and I became so angry and I was like "was this where my Dad brought me? Will I live to continue taking this insult from her? If you want to insult me, pls do and don't ever include my parent".

I said this in my mind as I don't want to create a scene. I acted the gentleness in me. Only if she knew who I was before coming to her place. I didn't say anything and I said "I am sorry" and we went to Church.


My Aunt is a drycleaner and that is what she used to survive. Though she makes money from it but the way she treats poor old women who only come to survive by washing clothes and then she would pay them for that day. But the way she acts to them would be more than the money she would pay them but knowing your purpose and you can't afford to lose your Job, you just have to dance to her tune and accept the insult.


My elder sister had lived with her before but she didn't stay long, just 7 months. In her history with those that had lived with her, I was the only one who stayed long with her. 20 years with her was hell and I kept enduring it.


WAKING UP AT MIDNIGHT

This is the worse moment for me. As a drycleaner, she doesn't want to keep using the Generator she has to Iron clothes and so she makes use of Light. So whenever light comes, we would wake up and keep ironing till light goes off. Have you ever ironed clothes from 12am to 12pm non stop? You know I said my Aunt is a workaholic? When light comes at 12am, she would wake me up to come and iron customer's clothes. This is the time I am always enjoying sleep. I would murmur within me because I dare not complain to her. According to her, she feeds me, so why won't I work for her.

If you don't work for her, no food for you in that house. Many times she would keep saying "can you eat this kind of food at your parents place?"


My parent aren't rich or poor, at least I wasn't born with a silver spoon. If only they could take care of us very well, we won't be scattered around my Aunts. All their (my parent) children aren't with them because they couldn't take care of us. We were splitted among his sisters and this gave them room to talk to us anyhow and even send us home by insulting our parents.

Then, I would cry whenever she wakes me up at 12am and would keep ironing till when they takes the light.


I have always prayed for light not to come in the midnight and most times, they obey me and won't come. Even after ironing till daybreak, we would still bring out dirty clothes to wash. I never complained even when I needed to rest.

Many times, she won't allow me sleep peacefully at night. I thought I would enjoy my nights when light do not come and she always had her way. Without informing me of any vigil, she would just come into my room around 1am and would say we should pray and hold a vigil.

If there is no light at night, we would observe vigil and if eventually they bring light during the process, no more sleep till daybreak. I have cried many times and prayed none of my siblings come to stay with her.

You can't open your mouth to complain because I don't want to hear another insult from her.


Whenever we are through Ironing and washing, and we eat. Mostly, we eat our first food at 11am or most times, we would eat in the afternoon because we were always busy washing and ironing.

If you dare open your mouth to tell her you are hungry or tired, it would be as if the ground should open up to swallow you but I never complained but kept dancing to her tune.


One day, I woke up and asked myself "am I a slave to her?" Why didn't our parent worked hard to take care of us? But I didn't want to offend God through them. I kept mute.


They finally bought a small phone for me incase she is out and needs to call me to do something. When she goes out, I am always happy and would wish she could just travel on a long journey because her presence everytime is hell to me.

There was a day she punished me and didn't give me food on a Saturday and Sunday. She went to church and left me at home. She locked everywhere including the cupboard where she keeps her food. I was denied all access to go out to find something to eat.

I was very hungry, then and I picked up my phone to call my parent. I hanged my hands on the window and was looking outside like a prisoner being locked inside the cell.

That day, my parent visited Ibadan and had to wait for my Aunt to return back from Church.


Even though we aren't rich, my Dad would never allow us to get punished and be denied food. Food is important at least.

She requested for me and now, she is punishing me with food because of a little issue. My Dad was angry and she apologized and said she won't do such again.

To be continued on the 2nd of August as I don't want to bore you and make it long.

Thanks for reading.

|July 31, 2021|

26
$ 10.71
$ 9.68 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.10 from @emily2u
+ 18
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

Comments

Very sorry to read of your experience. 20 years is indeed too long to endure. Glad to know that you are out of her clutches.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes, I am now free and happy to be on my own and those hard moments are now my past. Thank you for stopping by.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah, wish I could go around reading more articles because I really enjoy personal, human interest stories, but work is just overwhelming lately.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I am sorry I am just seeing this your comment. It's not our fault but we just have to do our offline work and then come here when there is chance

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha we're all struggling with having too many things to do on limited time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Waking up in the middle of the night to iron clothes til 2pm.. My goodness that's too much, that would have been really tough..

$ 0.05
2 years ago

It was so tough mehn but I didn't have a choice then.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Why don't you go back home? Even if life is hard, for as long as you are with your fam, everything would be okay.. Are you still studying? I can't even stand a day without eating anything.. Sorry to hear your sufferings ๐Ÿ˜ฅ

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hahaha, these all started when I was so very young at age 16. I couldn't go back to my parent because according to our Condition then, they couldn't take care of us. We all would become hooligans too with them. Yes, I am still studying now and would be through soon by God's grace. All these has ended now ๐Ÿ™ˆ๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Quite an experience you have with your aunt, its good you're all grown now, and can decide what you want to do or not.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Exactly. We are now grown up now and I am happy today.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was waiting for when you got out of her place so I was reading the whole thing. I can't believe she still managed to go to church with all that she has done.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

She was good and nice but you know there would be something bad in people because no human being is perfect.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't understand how people cannot just help others without insulting them or trampling on their dignity. Your aunt actually did good by taking you in and raising you in her home but she went a little overboard with the insults, the undue labour and punishments by starvation. People need to learn how to do good and not stain it with evil.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

It is such a pity that you won't see everyone to be perfect. If you see someone doing good, recheck again because they still have a "but" in them to make them unleash the evil in them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha you wanted to marry a tout back then? Well, she requesting for you was a blessing to you and also a blessing to her because she wanted to use you for her jobs that's why she asked for you.

We all have those kind of aunts but I was lucky never to have lived with any. Even when I visit my cousins and stay with them for a week or so, they treat me like a VIP ๐Ÿ™ˆ. I am so sorry you had to go through all that. No one deserves it and I might never understand all the things you had to deal with over there.

I want to believe it's a moment of reshaping for you...to set you straight but change is never easy. I admire even your patience and your resilience even more to endure all that for 20 freaking years. Wow.

How old were you then? Also, what about her own children?

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hahaha I think she used us for her work then because she did the same for her own twin brother. ๐Ÿ™ˆ In fact, I don't want any of my siblings to live with her but unfortunately, my brother is now with her and he kept complaining to me and my elder sister but all we could tell him was what I was told (the first phrase I started with in my post) ๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜… but now, he is fucking happy because he has gained admission and would be living her place. I can imagine all he has went through.

I was sixteen years when I was taken to her.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahahaha he just gained his freedom hahaha I can imagine that excitement. I hope he doesn't have any reason to go back there even on holidays. People like that would always stretch you to your limits ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿคฃ.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ He used to tell me that he won't go back to her house again but would work hard so he doesn't get to depend on anyone.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That determination would get him out of there. I like that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have a different perspective to all these. First of, a foster parent cannot be like your parents. There will always be a vacuum. On the other hand, your staying with your aunt is a major step to the live you will live in the future. Its a preparation ground.

Its time that you endured all that to the end. Perseverance is a part of life, a good virtue that you will apply in life much later like in marriage and the likes. Don't see all like wickedness.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I didn't see it as wickedness though because I believe everything is preparing me but I wouldn't want to do some things she did to other people. She has taken it too much that my siblings can't even try to stay with her again.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Of course, that's understandable. No matter how close you are to some people, they may never treat you like your biological parents will.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly. No one can take the place of biological parents in our lives.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sad to hear this from you. That's why my parents did not entrust us to other people, even to their respective relatives, we don't want that toxic insults from them just because they're helping us out. Hopefully the next part would be you overcoming it.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

My mom never wanted to also but my Dad feels they are his siblings and because she couldn't take care of us all, she had to leave it all for my Dad to decide.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, mom always said that she had such experience and she will never allow any of her children to live with a family member.

It was a difficult life for you then but she was unknowingly preparing you for the future and where you are today. I wouldn't want you to see her as a wicked person, I think it is just her way of life.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

You are right but many people living with her didn't last because of this behavior or hers. She just took it more than to be good.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmm,what a great experience you had. You have really tried,don't worry,better days are ahead which I know you also believed.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello my dear friend, strong story, strong those events that have happened to you, However, I think behind this so terrible, there is a message, there is a reflection, although we cannot normalize that a young woman is left without eating, verbally insult or mistreat, we can understand that after this you lived, you forged your attitude, your personality and the way you see life, because you understood that behind that tough woman, there is also a working woman, constant, who knows something important, the only way to achieve things in this life, is with Constancy, dedication and hard work, greetings, I am attentive to the second part

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Constancy, dedication and hard work, This really worked for me because my elder sister advised me too and urged me to work hard especially to gain admission into the University so all these could end. I am really grateful you came around.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's not a way to punish a kid. You don't punish a child by starving him or her. That's really bad.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I don't like it too but she was taking the step of her mother. My Grandma also did the same for them while they were growing up. Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's so sad to hear, but you have earnings here you can perhaps buy your food or? Well I realized this is a story so that time you did not write at read.cash yet?sorry for a stupid question hihi.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

No, I understand you. This happened years ago before I finally was given freedom. This would be continued on my next post. Thank you so much

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Okay, I see. I will wait for next part then to understand the whole story :))

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh My Gosh, why she's so harsh on you, I mean my Auntie which I call Mommy today ia the one who take care of me until today. She will just hit me but not to the point of starving us. That's just โ˜น๏ธ, anyway I'm waiting for the next part.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I don't like those starving children all in the name of punishment. Punish them but not depriving them of food. Food is important.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am sad with the experience you had but I guess it made you who you are today. Every has a purpose, believe with it. I am happy that you get out that life you had and freed yourself.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes, now I am free after every thing with her. I was been trained for the future but it seems it was too much for her.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's so cruel. You've been through a lot of challenges in your life yet you still did your best not to talk back to your aunt no matter how cruel she is. Your parents raise a good daughter. I hope your aunt will stop those kind of behavior or abuse.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes, I never wanted to bring up another issue to make them start blaming my parent again. I just had to endure.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

These are what made you strong and amazing! Just carry on and be positive at everything ๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

no problem, friend

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehehehe. You have gone through a lot. And I am sure this is one thing that had you shaped to the woman you became today. But wait 20years you mean?? Thatโ€™s much. Hahaha It means you were taken there at a very young age.

But now itโ€™s all became a story to write. Nothing lasts forever

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes immediately I finished school. I don even forget my age then perhaps I might sit down to calculate it. I was young then๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Like seriously this things exist? Thank god i don't have any aunt or i don't visit anyone house

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hehehe It really exists while some people are so heartless to do more than what she did.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Endurance is what you will keep praying for, you are learning from her you will soon be on your freedom ground. You don't know who your mother in love will be

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hahaha I want a nice mother - in - law oo ๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜… What I have passed through already is enough to start seeing more again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

God will grant your request

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That was much of an experience from a family member. It is quite unimaginable. But I believe those experiences you've had made you strong as you are today :)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes, I am strong today because I chose to be that so I can free myself from people like that. I never wanted to depend on anyone to make me keep going to them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Glad you think that way, doing something to break free. Would love to read the next chapter :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The way everyone discipline is different, she must have be thinking what she was doing was right meanwhile she didn't know she was hurting you. Hmmm I'm waiting for the second part of this story

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I think you are right. She may be right but she wasn't patient to see if we are hurt too or not.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, she didn't know. She was just doing her normal ways

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My gash :( Waking up in the middle of the night just to iron clothes till the light is out is so exhausting. I am sorry for what yoi hav eexperienced. If I were in your shoes, maybe I would just leave her without a word.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Leave her? Where do I go? To my parents? Oh no! I don't want to live such bad life I was living then because I know where I stay with my parent, I could be more dangerous than that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Her behaviour towards you might look to much or may be she did not like you, but she taught you many things in life. She has taught you how to live life without having problem with anybody. She has truly treated you so bad but all that was to make you real woman. Thank God you did not talk back at her but ensure.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes, she was training me for the future but it was too much. Many people complained of her too. She was and is a good and nice woman.

$ 0.00
2 years ago