Let's stop self-sabotaging ourselves

28 44
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

“Resistance by definition is self-sabotage.”

Steven Pressfield

Everyone wants to climb the ladder of success, unfortunately, we would be confronted with challenges and obstacles that would slow things down for us. Who wouldn't want a free life where everyone could just stretch their hands and get through their goals? The truth is, we all do.

Many of us have found ourselves in self-sabotaging, and this definitely could hamper our progress and create fear in our minds, before we know what is happening, we are scared of trying because we feel we are inadequate.

Self-sabotaging is driven by negative self-talk when we think we aren't sufficient or do not have the ability like others. We keep getting scared of trying because we've already concluded that we would fail while trying, so of what use should I try?

I know many of us, including myself, have found ourselves looking at others and how they are doing well, and because we compare ourselves to them, we focus on what they are doing, rather than what we can offer. No one will know what we are capable of doing if we do not showcase our potential.

Just because you feel like “I can't do it, it's beyond my power and strength, she is doing better than me etc”, we bring ourselves so low and stop trying.

When you sabotage your effort and project, you might be getting in your way.

Another way you sabotage yourself is when you put yourself down. Surely, we would always meet with criticism and judgement from people because no matter what we do, they aren't good or pleasing in some people's eyes. They stab you with negativities, and seeing or hearing that, you add to your problem by believing what they say about you. Allow yourself to recognize what your abilities are, and bring out the skill hidden in you because the world will not know what you can do until you show them.

When people sabotage themselves, they hinder their success and when they take these destructive steps, it would thwart their lives and relationships with other people.

Though, many times, we may consciously or unconsciously self-sabotage ourselves. How does this happen?

A conscious sabotaging is when you are overweight and you have the intention to reduce your weight, but you are still eating a whole carton of cake and ice cream because you concluded, you can't achieve your aim.

Unconscious sabotage is when you unintentionally fail to meet the deadline of a project due to some circumstances, and instead of trying to submit it, you are afraid you might lose.

There are things we can do, if we do not give it a try, we might be missing out on some huge opportunities because if you fail to try, you may never try anything at all, and that is one of the obstacles to getting higher in life.

We all are different and have our purposes in life. We can't be the same as other people and that is why we are unique. Recognize your capability and work on your skills. There is nothing bad in taking risks in life. You might not know what will work out best if you do not give it a try.

Stop speaking negative words to yourself. This means you are limiting yourself and you will always be confined to your comfort zone when you should have gotten up and given it a try.

When you wake up each day, look into the mirror and feel the same person you are. Say positive things to yourself and believe you can do it. This life is all about giving it a try and knowing what we are good at. Let's prove to the world what we can do and stop sabotaging ourselves as you are only pulling yourself down instead of pushing yourself up and higher.

Thanks for reading

Image by Toa from Unsplash

[August 10, 2022] (No 222 articles for the year)

16
$ 4.53
$ 4.29 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 4
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

Comments

True princess let's stop self sabotaging ourselves because it doesn't help. It make us worst. It will ruin ourselves. It will lead us to negative image of life which is not good. Instead we should always embrace ourselves. Think positive things.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Though it's hard to resists the temptation of comparing ourselves to others , accepting that we are unique and have our own strength and capabilities , knowing ourselves better and we will be more productive without comparing our achievements to other people. This is a nice one dear. Uplifting.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Just the kick in the ass many of us need. This is one of the reasons there are many unfulfilled destinies out there. We are our own problem.

Thank you for this!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That is it. We just have to come out from the shell holding us back.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm expert to this self sabotaging, seriously. Sometimes that what's help me too to overcome what I'm feeling inside. For now I make good use of that to make myself better. Not sure if you get it but self sabotaging help me a lot.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

If I may get you right. When you think you can't do it, you decide to give it a try as an encouragement?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When I'm trying to let myself down for saying harsh things thats where I will accept things just so I can move on. My kind of way is very different to others 🙈

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Think positive and assume the good sides of things, we are literally the ones that will say "If I go out I no go see anything chop" and we need money lol.. our speech moves further than we think..

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's what the Bible says “as a man thinks, so he is.” we have to be positive always.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am lack of self-confidence that is why I hate myself that Im afraid of failure but I dont want to be like this forever,I need to be strong and learn to trust myself coz I dont want to live with lots of regrets.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

We won't know what we are capable of doing if we do not try to believe in ourselves and our abilities.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This has happened to me a whole lot of time, thinking I'm not good enough for something, some times I might not end up doing it again and when I end up doing that thing I realize that I get alot of compliments at the end of the day, self sabotaging is not a good thing.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Seriously, it isn't a good thing because it limits someone.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nothing good will happen if we keep sabotaging ourselves cause there's no benefit from it.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

There is no benefit whatsoever. Thank you 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If you don't believe in yourself, no one will. Yourself is your own back-up, you need to stand alone, so if you keep sabotaging your own self, you might end up with nothing and feel worthless even more.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

A song writer said, you have to get up because no one will see what you are unless you see yourself as a great person.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are absolutely correct princess. It is us who struggle and still us that motivates ourselves. We have to stop demotivating ourselves to easily achieve that goal we set. Thanks dear

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly. Thank you for your comment

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We have been sabotaging ourselves more than we know. Not believing enough in ourselves is the first and simple way of doing such.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

And that can be so disastrous to our lives. We need to believe in ourselves.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think I need to start saying positive affirmations to myself before I start my day. It might be effective to get a positive mindset 😅

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Not it might, but it would definitely be effective when you do that.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Badly need this advice. It takes self-trust and courage to hit our target. ❤

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I'm glad you found it handy. Thank you 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hayyyysstt, sad to say I keep on doing that one

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hayyyysstt, sad to say I keep on doing that one

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You have to stop because it's like hindering our progress in life and limiting us to some certain things.

$ 0.00
1 year ago