Fasting or Vigil. Which one brings answers to prayers.

47 643
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago
Made from Canva

I was with my friend two days ago watching a movie from the TV Screen and suddenly she just asked

"Miss Busayo, which one brings answers to a prayer between fasting and vigil?"


I looked at her and was surprised at the question, not because I can't give her an answer but the fact that she is a Christian and for her to ask such question is something I can't figure out.

Though, I gave her my own answer and would like to throw it here to hear your opinions about it too. I still think of the question till now and I hope my answer here won't be judged but do believe that I am also a being and believer who is still learning from God's word. At least we would have Bible scholars here like @Fexonice1 who could enlighten us more on this.


First of all, we would like to understand the meaning of both words "Fasting and Vigil"

What is Fasting?

Fasting is when you willingly abstain from food or drink for a limited period of time. This time, you aren't suffering for lack of food. You have a purpose with God on that.


What is Vigil?

This is a period where you don't sleep at night when you are supposed to be sleeping so as to communicate with God. Apart from praying at this hour, we also engage ourselves with business or staying up late to read for exams, read to pass an interview, stay up late to work on a project etc. This hour is between 12am to 5am if I am right. But spiritually, you are up to pray to God because we believe this is the right time to open up to God and destroy the works of Devil in our lives or especially when we want our problems to be solved. We prefer waking up at night to do so.


There is a Bible scripture where Jesus even told the Christians to always put oil on their head when they are fasting and not to do as the hypocrites do. How do they do? If you would remember the story of the Pharisee and the publican (tax collector) in Luke 18:9-14, the Pharisee was an hypocrite because he prayed to be seen by all, instead of doing it secretly just like how the tax collector did.

So also when we are fasting, we don't need to let people know we are. Fasting should be done between you and God alone.

You don't fast and still focus on the food or things you do not have.

You don't fast to seek people's attention.

You should only fast for this reason;

"To draw nearer to God and be so close and deep in His promises for you".


NOW TO THE QUESTION;

"Is it Fasting or holding up a Vigil that makes prayers answer?

I would say both because there is something so important between them which is your right state of mind with God. Your wholeness, your pure heart and one thing that stands so significant which is "FAITH".


Without faith, it is impossible to please God. This is found in Hebrews.


When we fast without a purpose, our prayers won't be answered.

When you go for vigil without a purpose, your prayers can't be answered. Why?

John 4:24 says

"God is a spirit: and they that worship him must worship him in spirit and in truth". (Taken from my personal Bible even though the plagiarism detected it to be plagiarized 😔)


There must be a purpose why you are going for fasting or observing Vigil, it is for your prayers to receive answers from God but if you are thinking one can work swiftly than the others, you are only deceiving yourself if your heart isn't pure with God. Both works and must be with the right aim.

Praying or fasting without action (which is your faith) is useless. You are just doing it for yourself.

I love going to vigil more than fasting but does that mean we won't fast? It is very important to do both (fasting and praying (vigil included) as Christians because Jesus also fasted for forty days and nights in the wilderness before he was tempted by the devil. All glory to God because he overcame the devil's tactics.

There are so many people in the Bible who fasted especially Moses. Fasting would make you go deeper in the word of God and make you have a cordial relationship with God.

I think I have made my own opinion clear on this. I would be glad if you can add to what I have said here in the comment section so we can all learn from each other.

Thanks for reading.

|August 06, 2021|

20
$ 9.61
$ 8.95 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @LucyStephanie
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 14
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

Comments

for me as a christian,both also.its because you do it as sacrifice and to show god how serious you are and how faithful you are to his love and promises. anyways,i can say you have that deep faith in Him.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, faith is important in both activities. Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My dear, there's no denying point that fasting is good and prepares you for a long suffering being one of the criteria for staying tough in a morally debased world as this but prayer seems to be the ultimate or better of the two as it seeks to open up the doors of opportunities for you. Remember that prayers unlocks the spiritual realm for more blessings. Good article dear!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, prayer is important with both. If we only observe the two without our prayers, we haven't done anything at all. Thank you so much Samuel 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Without your faith you are only suffering yourself from sleep and eating. Good answer my dear shows you're a true believer and you understand what you're carrying.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Exactly. Our faith is most important with both activities. Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I believe that anything done in faith counts for God especially when there is a purpose to it. Nothing is greater than the other because it is not a competition with God but a relationship. The most important thing is to allow God's SPIRIT to move us as to what we are to do per time.

There were times God spirit moved me to stay up at night and just sing. There were times I was instructed by His Spirit to fast for a whole week and I did. When we come to God, we should come boldly and with a heart to receive whether it's a vigil where you stayed up to pray or to sing or its fasting - where you deprived yourself of something to commune with God. If it is important to you, then it is important to God.

Jesus told His disciples, "This type will not go out except by fasting and prayer" and He had also stayed up many times to pray when the disciples were sleeping. He told them to "watch and pray". Staying up at night - vigil means to watch and we must pray. Jesus didn't give preference to anyone, so none is superior. We should allow the Spirit of God to lead us per time as to which one is suitable for the requests of our heart. God's Spirit is always speaking.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

This is why it is important to have a relationship with God so He can direct us on what to do at the right time. When we are so closely related to God, whether vigil or fast, it will be directed by Him. Thank you for sharing your opinion here.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Absolutely dear. God is our guide and He knows what's best and nothing we do for Him out of sacrifice is ever a waste.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh I have never fasted or done any vigil at all. Perhaps that's why not all my major prayers have been answered? Haha. I only know how to pray, do the rosary, and pray the novena. Maybe I will try both of that now because I have been thinking early this year too on which kind of prayer is effective.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Prayer with faith do get answers but we can also do more of fasting and holding a Vigil. You can try both some times and I hope it works for you. But do make sure you have strong faith to make it effective.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh so I have to believe it will happen so it will happen? Good idea. Hahaha. I will try the fasting and vigil, whichever comes first.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Honestly, I much more prefer vigil. I don't do fasting (unless on diet) but then I do pray because I want to communicate with God. I know that talking to him is the best way to get through him. For whatever happens to me, I always turn to Him.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I agree with you. Holding vigil is a good one too but once in a while, we can do fasting as it also helps us dig deeper in God's word.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's true. When we fast, we shouldn't let the other people know about this. It should be between you and God alone. I usually do fasting.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That is good. No one should know when we do fasting because we are praying to God.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

These are beautiful things to ponder, dear friend. I don't do fasting 🤧 not also that religious but I do pray with all my heart.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That is also good. Praying with your heart also brings answers to prayers.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Two things might give you strength and holdin the faith of God. Vigil or fasting some devotion that should manifest.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, both strengthens our faith in God. Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Faith, without faith, fasting and vigil is nothing.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Exactly. Our faith is important to make prayers answered.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm familiar with fasting. We do it thrice or fohr times in lur church. But we've never done vigil.

But yeah, both of them helps us to be closer to God. To really hear from Him.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Fasting is very common than vigil perhaps in your country but here in Nigeria, we observe both, most times, we do both same time. Both draws us closer to God

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I see

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my. I don't do fasting but I pray everyday along with my actions to be better. Honestly, I don't go to church most of the time but I do believe in Him.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

The best is to believe and have faith in God.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will say the two are very important. With the two miracles won't happen. Though my pastor back in school do say a Vigil is equivalent to three days fasting. I don't know how true this is.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I do hear of it too but I haven't seen a proof to back that up. Both works but with strong faith.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There's always these statement I hear that "a day's vigil is equal to three days fasting. Though both are beneficial for our own good. If you want to fast, do it and let your mind be There's and if you will go for a vigil ensure you do not go there to sleep. Focus on your maker.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

The best is to focus on what you want to do. Our faith must be align with God. Thank you Sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Prayers is the act that is required, even in vigil if we fail to pray well we still haven't done anything, the Bible says pray without ceasing, and the reason why we go to vigil is so we can pray well without distraction. So its prayers that's the main need.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You are right. Prayer is very important with both. Either fasting or observing Vigil, if we don't pray, it is nothing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So that's the difference between fasting and vigil, anyway it's also biblical that we should pray in silent because our God can see us what we do, if we only do it for the sake of others people notice.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Our prayers should be done Silently with God alone instead of making people know about it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same. I believe no one is superior than the other. As long as the focus and faith is there, it is effective to reach out to God.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, being focus with both would bring answers to prayers.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I feel guilty here. I never do fasting 😥 but vigil yeah I did. I'm not a religious person. But I prayed silently coz I know that's the only way to talk to God.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I understand you. But you can try the fasting sometime and see how it works. Prayer is important with both.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am not a very religious person, but I respect and follow my faith. Fasting and vigil included.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

We must follow our faith and focus on it. Thank you very much

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When you applied faith in God what you have prayed and fasted for will comes to reality. Both fasting and vigil are very much important and we should always carry out these and also not just that but believe in God , you prayers shall be answered.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you. When we believe God that He can answer us either with the two, we would be granted our wishes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sincerely, I will take a vigil on the place of fasting. But spiritually speaking, fasting during vigils is more rewarding.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes when we do both at the same time with our faith been connected, we would be glad we did.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I haven't tried vigil in praying. I often do fasting for my prayers

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It's also good as long as our faith is connected to God.

$ 0.00
2 years ago