Being in darkness for four days.

38 63
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

“Inspiration is one thing and you can’t control it, but hard work is what keeps the ship moving. Keep up the good work.”

Kevin Eubanks

Later today will make it five days since electricity refused to show up and since then, I have been alternating myself just to be online, and some other times, I will spare my phone so it doesn't go off anytime soon. Someone like me needs to be online to engage and attend to other things and this is why there is no need for someone who only uses his or her phone to make and receive calls to be compared to someone like a blogger and writer like me.

Since Friday afternoon we had light last and we thought they would fix it at least after the next day but here we are, trying to cope with ourselves. This is why I had to plan for myself getting two power banks that would last me but right now, I have no other choice than to find somewhere to charge.

Two days ago, I overheard a lady saying she went to charge her phone with a little cent and then, I was still having some battery on my power banks. One was almost getting low but it took me the whole day until yesterday, there was no choice for me but to use money to charge too. I gave one of my power banks to a friend who was going for lectures with the plan to collect it later in the evening.

Each power bank takes over eight hours to get fully charged and when I use them, they both last for me. Even my torchlight was so dim last night and I can't waste money charging it. I only gave it to someone to charge at the church. It only charged for an hour and I was able to see clearly and still better than being in darkness.

Using a torchlight can't be compared to seeing the full light bulb in your room, circulating everywhere and giving you the inspiration you need. A student was shocked to see she has two assignments to be submitted by 10 am today and she could have started attending to them if there was light. Her torchlight can't even see anything at all, even her phone wasn't charged too. She had to sleep like that, hoping to do those assignments very early this morning while it's bright.

Without electricity, my mood tends to change and I will start frowning my face. I am not always in the mood when there is no light but once they bring it, you see how excited I am to start some things I have left pending. Though that doesn't take away the positive vibe in me. When you see your phone going low and your power banks aren't charged, you won't even be able to use the phone to check what is going on in the world.

Here we are again today, hoping light comes. I heard there was light in other areas yesterday but they didn't give our area. This is something that pains me more. Seeing other people having light while we do not have. We are all sharing the same transformer (electric pole) but it seems my street enjoys darkness more than light😂😂😂

When others are excited about seeing light, we would be inside in darkness, feeling bad and the landlords around do not care to call up a meeting to know what is wrong. Whenever they bring light, we would be happy and that is what I have always endured for the past 3 years. Thank God I only have limited time to spend here and I might decide to travel anytime soon since I am no longer a student now.

I love areas with constant and stable electricity. Even if they take it, it shouldn't be long before bringing it back. I love it when all my gadgets are fully charged as I would have more time to spend online. It's such a pity this is how things are in my country. I know other countries experience lack of electricity but I can only say more about my own country. It sucks!

How I wish I can stay more active today but I will try. I have charged one of the power banks and it has 3 bars out of 4 while the second one has been taken to the charging center. I don't want to keep spending money daily to charge but as it is now, I don't have a choice 🥺

Thanks for your time

Images by Pavel from Pexels

[September 28, 2022] (No 270 articles for the year)

21
$ 5.10
$ 4.57 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 14
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

Comments

Almost all Nigerians have experienced what you are going through. For some months now the light situation in my area has improved, 12 hours of light a day.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahahah, just like us nepa have put us in darkness since all this days and they will keep sending msg that they will repair it soon, I see no reason why they are doing that to us,,,, I thank God for my power bank which is the one still keeping me

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's one of my biggest issues too. Your region is better because it seems they usually give light there. Here, we see light at the mercy of those in charge.

It sucks me to be using money to charge phone. I know it's not much but when it's done in multiple times💔

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes, daily #100 is something at the end of the month. It really suck 😬

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are not always in good mood when there is no light 🤣🤣😂🤣🤣🤣. You have money, go and buy gen or move to an area with better light. Stop suffering yourself o 🤣🤣😂😂🤣🤣🤣.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

As I saw your notification, I was like "KP ti de" 😂😂 I was just smiling mischievously 🙄

I thought I have rested from you ni oo

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh I hate power outages. The worse is worring about food. About a year ago we lost power to our house for about 36 hours due to a crazy wind storm. No fun working out of a cooler with ice in it . We charged our phones with our car chargers. Thankfully it was during fall so not to hot not so cold

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Wow! Charging through car charger is another thing especially when it's draining fuel. When there is no light especially when there is heat, oh my God, we do feel it more.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Now a days, electricity worked like oxygen of people. We should have alternative when electricity off we shall be able to fight this darkness 😂.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hahahah... Oxygen indeed 😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That is so bad and dificult without electricity 🔌. Thanks God I haven't seen electricity gone here for that long, even longer than 12 hours or more, I can't remember. I wish I could help and bring the light back soon, but only can pray, may you get the electricity back sooner

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I hope so. Amen Thank you so much 😘

$ 0.00
1 year ago

E dey pain to see others enjoy electricity while you are in darkness. You cannot even use your phone the way you want because where will you charge

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You are right. At that time, we would be managing the percent and being considerate 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I swear they thing dey pain ehn. Your neighbors will have light and you won't. Infact it's as if it's just time that NEPA would be bringing light always so that make e dey pain you

$ 0.01
1 year ago

As if you got it here. At this time, Nepa would do well bringing it every area but we would be left to feel the pain of not having light.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We also have a power outage here. Electricity went out because it rained. Now it has to be in low light.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Wow! It's everywhere when it rains. They will take the power outage off.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The last time we have no electricity for about 16days was after the typhoon odette hit our province. The telecom signal is limited too that keeps our family from Luzon and Mindanao to be worried. Its really hard to be in darkness for a long time. The stress physically and emotionally makes me not to think about that again.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

So stressful and frustrating without light.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, its truly stressful sis. I have lots of body pain that time.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hope your problems with electricity will soon be fixed and you don't have to worry about it anymore. These days electricity is important for us bloggers.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

So important. I just hope they fixed it soon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We also experienced out of electricity for month because of huge destruction due to typhoon Odette last year,no signals and we used our cellphone as a flashlight that time we need to find a generator to charge the battery and we need to pay 1 dollar per hour and it makes us so annoyed and seems we do not want to mingle on others because were not comfortable

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Wow! $1 per hour is too much. That's weird too. Not seeing electricity is always a bad one.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Argh, blackout is thr worst. Specially if our work is online, tch. We need that everyday my goodness. I just hope the electricity will be fix in your area soon. It's hard to move in the darkness specially those whos not used to it

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I just hope the higher authority here make any step soon because everyone has light but my area doesn't.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nigeria my country. We encountered something similar a week ago but it was fixed sooner than expected which was quite unusual, I don't know which brand of power bank you use Sha but oraimo has been excellent for me, takes 4 hours to charge to full capacity and can charge my phone from zero to hundred about three times!! BTW, how have you been princess? It's been a long time.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yea, I use Virgin and Newage and both are also good too. Yea, you have been away for long. Are you back now? I have been doing well here. All thanks to God.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's good to hear. I am back now 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh that sucks.. It's hard to live in the dark nowadays, especially when we have some business to deal with online.. Why don't you go back home? Is it the same situation there?

$ 0.02
1 year ago

My hometown is so different. There is always light but I can't travel for now though because of my result clearance.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Without light I feel also very boring specially due to mobile 😂internet issues

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same with me too. Everything gets boring and would definitely affect my engagement.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Up NEPA 😂 I charged regularly with money and some other times I fuel my generator when I have to cut my hair. Instead of going to a salon and pay a higher amount to cut my hair, I used the money to fuel my generator, cut my hair by myself and charge all my gadgets.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow! Most times, calculating the amount we spend in charging outside could be overwhelming but do we have a choice? 😅😅😅 Though we recover the amount back through our activities.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's hard to do our daily routine without electricity Sis, it's so irritating, especially without connection that almost all our work are in mobile hahah

Btw Sis, can I have your invitation link in noise.app? :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Very hard and it's frustrating too. This is my link

https://noise.app/invite/u0sieuna I will follow you back too. Thank you 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago