An encounter with the biggest mistake ever.

30 37
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

“If you haven't been scammed before, then I would say you are lucky but always learn from people's experience”.

Princessbusayo

At that time, whenever I remember such an incident, I cry over it and regret ever being so foolish even when I was strictly warned by my sister. Till today, I couldn't open my mouth to share the bad experience.

Well, I got what I deserved since I didn't heed to warnings.

What am I saying? It's my encounter with a scammer who, we were friends together at first, but ended up being so cruel to me.

This was how it happened......

I just gained admission as a direct entry student into the University in the year 2019. My sister raised my school fees and some money for me to get things done as a new student. Registering, taking passports, doing some photocopies etc in the school.

I was still a novice about scammers then and I have heard of some investment platforms where you invest and earn double but I never got involved in them until this particular day.

I was already in a taxi that would be dropping me off at the garage where I would board another cab to take me down to my new school. As I entered the taxi, I saw someone messaged me on Instagram and asked if I had heard of this particular investment platform before. I replied with “No”.

We were chatting and we became friends, sharing different proof of payments to me so I can believe him. He said if I invest with #5k ($8.3) I would get double the capital in 5 mins and so on.

I quickly called my sister and explained the new platform to her if she would be interested. She then said, “Busayo, they are scammers oo. Don't involve in anything oo”. I said okay sis and I hung up the call.

If I had known, I should just have blocked the stupid guy but the spirit that wants to teach me a lesson didn't leave me alone.

We continued chatting and I promised to get back to him once I get to school as I explained to him that I was just given admission and going to school... Fool me

When I got to school, I started my process and for a few days, we didn't talk. So, I assumed it was gone. Then, on this day, during our orientation program, I was in the hall when I got an Instagram message from this same guy. I was happy and before then, I have planned on using my school fees for the investment and would earn double and I would be rich. Lol, I repeat, Fool me 😆

We started the process and I was assured of getting my profit in less than 5 mins.

I transferred #5k just to try it. I waited for him to reply even after five minutes, but he didn't. Then, I asked him “It's more than five minutes, how is it?”

He replied and told me the option for 5k ($8.3) to get 10k ($16.6) is closed, and that I should just add another 5k to process it since the other 5k has been hanged in the system.

I obeyed! Seriously, it was as if something was controlling me because I was just succumbing to his orders and I transferred the #5k a second time.

I waited again and he said the same thing and said I should just close my eyes and send another #5k since I would be getting #30k ($50)

My Brethren, Lo and behold! I did sent the #5k the third time.

After that time, my eyes were opened and I knew something had happened to me.

Out of #40k ($66.7) for my school fees, #15k ($25) was gone with my disobedience and greediness.

I started calling this guy and wouldn't pick up. At this moment, I was sweating within me, my system was disrupted. I wasn't concentrating in the program anymore because I was thinking of how to get my money back or how to get my school fees balanced again.

While going home and still trying this number, he finally picked up and said this; “You fool, if you call me again, I will curse you” and he hung up.

Then, I knew someone had finally gotten me. The friend I was staying with noticed something was wrong and she asked me what happened, I couldn't open up to narrate how foolish I have been at that moment.

I cried so hard that night and was thinking of how to raise more money to pay my school fees because I needed to pay on time.

If not for God who decided to pity my condition through one of my colleagues who called the next day to inform me of my share from the lesson we did as teachers to the pupils. She said our boss had just paid our salaries and my share was #10k ($16.6)

I removed #5k from my feeding allowances to balance my school fees while for weeks, I suffered through my feeding.

That alone taught me a great lesson to be contented with what I have. After a week, I got another message from Instagram with a different name introducing something similar to me.

My friends! no one taught me to block the person immediately 😁

What has happened the first time must not repeat itself. Nobody should come and destroy my career for me 😅😅😅

That was my encounter with a scammer who wanted to disgrace me but God didn't let it happen. Lol

Thanks for reading

Image by Anete Lucina on pexels

[July 05, 2022] (No 186 articles for the year)

18
$ 1.91
$ 1.61 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
$ 0.03 from @Ruffa
+ 11
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

Comments

You too like awoof money 😂😂. Truth be told, money like that use to be enticing. Imagine, getting your money doubled without not doing anything. We just have to be careful out there.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I was naive to understand that it is not possible to get doubled of what you didn't work for🤣🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You lost so much money thrice. Goodness! But thankfully, the Lord guide you and protected you.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, I was grateful for that protection too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

A lot of scammers around. They are just waiting every opportunity they can fit in to have another victim. That is why I really do some research on investment and other easy money scheme platforms.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Same with me now. I don't jump into something I don't know anything about.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lesson learned sis, there are a lot of scammers who just wait for the next victim

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Everyone should be careful seriously because it's always hurting when someone scammed you of your hard earned money.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

ordinary people often get stuck, experience is important.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Experience is important indeed. Thank you 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We all here encountered with many scammers directly or indirectly. This is how we learn from life. Don't worry sister take lesson from past and move forward.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, I took along lessons and never let it repeat itself again.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Omo I have fell for scams before but the one involving money I would say it was only 2 times sha

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Mine is many times because I still got scammed in different ways online then.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Omg! I experienced it too! How do these people have no conscience to scam other people. This is a lesson for anyone not to trust that easily especially when it comes to money.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

They don't always have conscience because they want to satisfy their own urge to make money fast.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's a lot of money! Omg. I didn't know you had such experience. Anyway, the guy would suffer from karma especially if he did it multiple times to others. And when you got a message again, glad you said "Nah, not this time" ✌️

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, it mustn't repeat itself again. I blocked instantly 😆

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There is no easy money. Many offers now are too good to be true. It's just saddening how a lot of people have turned into wicked ways.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Such wicked ways my dear. We also need to be careful and wise too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Scammer everywhere, what he said is too good to be true and ur friend saw it. But whats important is you learned a lesson from it so you know better now 😄

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, I learned my lesson 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This one that people are writing about scammers like this eh 🤣🤣🤣, thank God you are way bigger than that now or else, you would have fallen for something huge than 5k 😅😅😅

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, I have made more than what I have lost in the past.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Omo, was it binomo investment or flip cash, well, a lot of people used it to scam people back then, because they know that people will be desperate to get on it ones when hear that the investment is less than 24 hours.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I can't even remember the platform's name. At least it's gone and I have learned my lesson.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sorry to laugh, but it's kind of strange that you deposited money three times for the same reason. I hope you had a good experience and a chance to earn more income based on experience. I haven't been scammed in similar ways, but I've had losses because some of the exchanges where my cryptos were held were closed.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

No no no... You are free to laugh 🤣🤣🤣 At least it's something I can laugh over it now because I have made more than that money now. We just have to learn from our mistakes so it doesn't repeat itself again. Thank you 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Omg...he was a scammer and your $25 from fee was lost. This was hard experience but glad you learned from it.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yea, I learnt in a tough way then 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago