A concerned lifestyle.

35 64
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

“Be more concerned with your character than your reputation, because your character is what you really are, while your reputation is merely what others think you are.”

John Wooden

This is not my way of bragging or sugar-coating my lifestyle. I am very simple and feel concerned about others. I am not selfish or act as if I don't care but taking me for granted is what I wouldn't accept or tolerate. I love to show sympathy and at the same time, empathy because I feel we all are entitled to living a good and best life.

There is something about me with people, and it is that I care to the extreme level and that is what makes me unique. Yes, I am so unique and my lifestyle is nothing but good.

I was inspired to write about this experience of mine after reading the post by @Olasquare titled “Complaint and Compliment.”

He talked about a friend who lived with them for some months and never contributed anything to the house and he felt comfortable eating their food. That is a bad behaviour if I must say because these people showed great concern to live with them without collecting house rent from you and you do not feel shy not to at least support them with money to get some things you know would benefit you too.

This is not me. I am always shy of staying in someone's place and not trying my best to support them in my little way. I don't feel comfortable in someone's house even if I am staying for a few days and not doing anything.

Even staying with my aunt, I know how much I have spent to support her. She isn't my mother and so, being with her, to me, it's like an inconvenience even though she asked me to come. I don't feel too good not contributing when she is feeding me and my brother. I have it and so, I should support her too because I know it isn't easy with her.

The last teaching practice I did was in another state and city (my friend's family's house precisely). The three of us all agreed to go to the same place and one of us allowed us to stay at her family's house.

There was her grandma and Aunt living there and so, the two of us stayed there while my friend who gave us the home stayed in her parent's house that wasn't far from there.

I wasn't comfortable with that as they kept cooking and feeding us with their money. The first support I did was subscribing to their GOTV for them when it got expired. I also filled the gas for them. At least I was trying to support in my way for them while the other friend wasn't doing anything. I don't know how someone would feel so comfortable with that. Though, I understand she doesn't have enough but trying something would do a lot.

We stayed there for six weeks and I knew what I did. There was a time we went to school and while returning home, I branched into an eatery and bought food and drinks for everyone including my friend who hosted us.

The other friend wasn't around and when she returned the next week, she could have just bought bread along to give them but she didn't.

I did my best as I saw it as my way of helping and appreciating them for hosting us for such weeks. I enjoyed my stay there while they enjoyed us too.

You wouldn't bring me to your home to stay for a few weeks and I wouldn't do anything. Even giving me food for a day would be uncomfortable for me to eat because my conscience would keep telling me to do what is right and I wouldn't rest until I do something to show my gratitude.

Yes, you don't owe anyone but it is your responsibility to support especially when you are staying at someone's place. They could have disallowed you from living with them and there's nothing you can do about it. It is very bad sleeping, eating in a place not meant for you and no iota of support from you. They wouldn't ask you because they believe you should know what is right to do.

Thanks for reading

Image by Priscilla from Unsplash

[August 06, 2022] (No 218 articles for the year)

21
$ 4.80
$ 4.41 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
+ 12
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

Comments

Your contribution shows you are a kind hearted person and sympathetic. Your reactions will touch the other persons heart.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, I believe it touched their hearts for what I did. At least I have left them. Thank you for your comment.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's absolutely a bad behavior, with or without house rent, you are meant to at least contribute to the house in which ever way you want. Whenever I visit my uncle's place. He praises me in front of his own children, because when I get there, I will clear all the whole grasses around his compound and then, I wash his car till the day I say goodbye to them

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That is it. We need to know the right thing to do when we are opportune to live in someone's house. They wouldn't tell you to do some things but your initiative should tell you that.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have weakness when it comes to living with people, my mind would always be up thinking on how to support or leave (when I don't have money). But humans are different, we exhibit characters in different manners. I remember when a guy was brought to my house to spend some weeks. He was behaving fine until night time when he turned my house to a church. I just found a topic to write 🤸

$ 0.01
1 year ago

😅😅😅 A friend told me of a student who they allowed to stay for her degree studies for four years. She never take the broom to sweep the house. I wonder how someone could feel so comfortable with that for four years. And she wasn't paying house rent oo. So bad of her.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

A whole four years! That fellow lacks manner, lack home training, no single sense sef

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly. No sense. And she is a lady 😬😬

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Living in others house, if can't contribute tru money then do other things. Lile house chores maybe or do the cooking too. At least we can't be called just a freeloader right ಥ_ಥ

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly. At least do something meaningful as this could make them want to see you around them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

A person's true identity is revealed through character. His behavior tells what kind of person he is.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You are right.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Experiencing that one sis but sometimes no matter how much I gave them there is still something they can throw about me.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

What his friend did was not right, at least he should pay the rent for staying there.Good to hear your sympathy for others, and the way you help them, if by chance you are staying at their place.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

He didn't act as a good person in that aspect.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Being sensible to others returns more blessings to you friend. The people around you knows how to treat you best because you treat them better.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly 💯

$ 0.00
1 year ago

character shows self-identity that will bring life to be an example for others.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's the truth, Rean

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love your attitude my friend. You have your initiative and you know how to deal with the burden of the people around you. This kind of attitude must everyone should have, even though we are not being obliged to contribute or what, a sense of sharing means everything to them. Keep it up, and you deserve all the blessings in this world.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly. We need to know the right thing to do when we are living with someone especially when we aren't the owner of the house. Thank you so much 🤗

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is what we call initiative and common sense sissy. You are right, whereved we go, we should always keep in mind to show support to the people who will accomodate us in their homes

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Definitely right. Thanks for the comment.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh my, how can someone live in the same roof and eat the same without feeling guilt not to contribute even a small amount. I cannot tolerate that. I cannot even just sit down in a friend's house when we are invited for dinner because I wanted to help too prepare some stuffs.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I would always look out for something to do in someone's house because I won't even feel comfortable sitting while they are working.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly, Princess. You said it right. We at least should know how to show kindness toward the people who let us stay in their house no matter what. Showing that we care for them too is one of the best things we can do.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You are right. When someone housed us, we should also be helpful too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, you don't owe anyone but it is your responsibility to support especially when you are staying at someone's place.

I agree with this Princess. Same as you, I'm also uncomfortable living at someone's house without doing anything or supporting them. There may be times that we only have small budget but doing some house chores or anything that I can contribute to is what I did.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That is it. Even if you don't have money, there are things you could still do around the house to make the owners happy too. One would be missed with such attitudes when they eventually leave someday.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is why living with someone is not comfortable ..you have to do things to show gratitude which is needed because you've been given a roof.. I think that's what maturity does, to contribute in labor when you are not contributing financially.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly.,. It involves being mature when you know what to do when you are living with people. You aren't paying house rent and so, you should support and cater for some necessary things in the house.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's part of etiquette that a man/woman must do. He or she must do it wholeheartedly.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You are right. Thank you

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are right sister we should at least pay to the people that are so caring about us. It is really bad if we stay for years in a house and paid nothing to them. I like life style that make happy to most of people at least.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, I love making people happy and I also love taking some responsibility especially when you are staying with someone.

$ 0.00
1 year ago