I Finally Have the Covid

12 60
Avatar for Porwest
1 year ago

Most of the time we say "third time's a charm" or "three strikes, you're out." When it comes to Covid, over the course of this thing, I have been directly exposed to it no less than six times.

For a while I was becoming more and more convinced that I was probably just somehow immune to it. I mean, I never got vaccinated and continue to have no intention to do so. I always felt there was a relationship to Covid and vitamin D deficiency and continue to believe there is a likely link there.

But who knows? I don't think anyone really has the keys necessary to unlock the entire mystery around Covid.

I have always taken lots of vitamin C and vitamin D, and like a lot of people I take a multi-vitamin every day. Not that it does anything for the immune system and of course I take it for other reasons, but I also take Omega-3 supplements.

But for me it appears the 6th exposure was the one that got me.

It was on Wednesday sometime during the day at work I started to get a tickle in my throat and began coughing a bit. As the day was wearing on I was starting to get a bit achy and was feeling more tired than usual.

By the time I got home I still was not thinking much about it. I went about my normal thing, waiting for my wife to get home and starting to prepare dinner since I happen to be the one that cooks.

She got home, we exchanged our usual affections and I continued to prepare dinner. All the while feeling worse and worse.

Image courtesy of Pixabay, user madartzgraphics. Hiv Aids Virus - Free image on Pixabay

I was taking my temperature as well and the thermometer kept jumping into the red 100 degree range. A definite fever. By the time dinner was finished I was completely exhausted and just did not feel well. I didn't eat as I was just suddenly feeling awful.

Being a typical man and so as not to concern the wife I was being quite quiet about things. You know, sometimes you just figure "this will just pass and I will be fine." But the wife did notice I was getting a bit flush and I was sweating and clammy.

"Are you all right?" she asked me.

"Just not feeling well," I told her. And knowing my last exposure to Covid was on Saturday and all the symptoms seemed to be there I finally told her that maybe I should take the test just to be on the safe side.

We had tests that were issued free by the government a few months back so they were in the house and ready to use.

I took the test and sure enough. It was positive. I had Covid sure as the nose on my face.

Immediately I notified my boss to let him know about my circumstance and told him I was heading back to the office to grab my computer to work from home. There was no permission needed to take off the next day—it's Covid and there need be no further explanation.

The policy is 5 days of quarantine.

So I was off on Thursday and Friday and of course already had the weekend off. Monday is day five and so Tuesday would be my return. But not without a caveat.

I am scheduled to be on a business trip next week Tuesday through Friday on a business trip to see customers. I did not mention anything of that right away feeling I would just sort of play things by ear a bit.

But on Friday I did speak to the boss and asked him what I should do and what the company policy is about traveling immediately following a positive test. He basically told me that decision was mine to make.

"If you feel comfortable to travel that is up to you if you want to do it," is what I was basically told. "But by no means are you obligated to do it if you do not feel up to it or are uncomfortable doing it."

I told him that I would prefer to still get the trip in. In my line of work these trips, though cumbersome at times, are also necessary. I make most of my living on the commissions I make and these trips are important to keep in touch with the customers who are vital in the process of paying my bills and making my living.

But it does pose an interesting dilemma for me in a way. For one, I am exhausted from the Covid. Granted, by Monday I should be feeling much better. But traveling is also exhausting. I will spend long hours on the road and my four-day trip will have me traveling through four states.

Image courtesy of Pixabay, user TheDigitalArtist. Road To Nowhere Landscape Travel - Free image on Pixabay

Illinois, Wisconsin, Iowa and Minnesota.

On top of that my wife and I had our wedding anniversary on the 19th of May and due to certain logistics, decided to take an anniversary trip on Memorial Day weekend to celebrate.

We are heading to Hopkinsville, Kentucky which is about 4 1/2 hours away from where we live. So, it's more driving and of course multiple activities.

I swear, by the time I get done with all of this I may be completely spent.

I am going to do my best to make it all work and come together though. Each day does seem to be a bit better than the last, so I have confidence even now that the worst is already behind me. My worst day was Thursday.

Either way, I suppose there are still a couple of silver linings here. One being that the strain I have is much like a bad cold. The other is that I did not get this around our major vacation coming up in the first week of August when we head to the panhandle in Florida. The last being that now I will probably finally have antibodies.

Beyond that, so much for the immunity theory. I guess that was just a case of obvious wishful thinking.

Lead image courtesy of Pixabay, user maffiemaffie. Virus Viruses Coronavirus Corona - Free image on Pixabay

Sponsors of Porwest
empty
empty
empty

12
$ 6.29
$ 6.03 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.11 from @Big-E
$ 0.05 from @Bangs1803
+ 5
Avatar for Porwest
1 year ago

Comments

To be honest i get interest to read because i was about to get angry with your blog title, seems like your happy to have the virus but haha i just laugh after reading. By the way hope your trip will be safe and always wear facemask.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Never happy to be sick, that's for sure. But I will say I think Covid was a huge joke mostly. But here we are. lol

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Did you use the RT-PCR testing technique to diagnose virus infection? RT-PCR testing gives positive results for many viruses, including the common cold, cough, fever, influenza, whooping cough, etc. Nobody can deterministically say which virus yielded the RT-PCR positive result! The pandemic is most probably a preplanned PCR "pandemic" and not a real one! Now, another "monkeypox pandemic" in the making" (https://read.cash/@Unity/health-mafia-caught-red-handed-planning-monkeypox-pandemic-5fd2e610)

$ 0.01
1 year ago

One thing you and I can most definitely agree on is that Covid is suspect as a whole and for a whole lot of reasons. I just took the regular test, so who knows? Covid has been one of the biggest dupings I have ever seen anyone fall for, but here we are.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I really am sorry about you getting the covid-19 virus into your system. You should rest properly and you'll get better soon.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I really am sorry about you getting the covid-19 virus into your system. You should rest properly and you'll get better soon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Covid is a really worst situation and I followed the preventive measure to be safe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I make more then $12,000 a month online. It’s enough to comfortably replace my old jobs income, especially considering I only work about 11 to 12 hours a week from home. I was amazed how easy it was after I tried it…GOOD LUCK.. https://www.workbz.com

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think they'll not quarantined you. Nowadays corona is not fearsome. Better routine and supplement can works on covid perfectly. Take rest and watch one piece series

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My first impression when I read the title was, "oh my gosh, is he happy getting covid? " But after reading it, oh okay, so that's why, lol! You have so many theories with regards to getting infected with covid. And so many things lined up for the coming days.

Hope you'll get better soon and btw, Happy Anniversary to you and your wife(belated)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The time I had covid was the hike of covid cases in our area. I quarantined in our home for several weeks until I got better. What scared me most is that I don't have smell and taste at all.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

urgh.. i wish cOvid would just go away.. it's funny that when it was campaign time here in our country, rallies and everything, covid was not the talk of the town. right after election, covid came back into picture.

$ 0.00
1 year ago