Ethnic groups of Bangladesh

16 130
Avatar for Piku
Written by
4 years ago

In my some earlier posts I wrote about some places of our country which I have visited. I shared the link of those articles at the end of this article. Actually, I want to share things about the diversity of my country. My country is diversified in many aspects which include Many natural beauties, Different ethnic groups, Different religions with their religious festivals. So, today I will write about different ethnic groups of our country. We have many ethnic groups here in our country. They are Garo, Khashi, Mro, Saontal, Tripura, Oraon and so on.

About The Garo:

The origin of Garo is "Tibet". Approximately five thousand years ago they were migrated and settled down in the hill countries. Their native language is "Achik". Though their original religion is Sangsarek, most of them now become Christians.

Their traditional festivals are called Wangala in October or November. It is dedicated to the sun and the god Sazlong who gives fertility to the soil. The festival is celebrated with drums and flutes.

Wangala Drummer

Garo society is traditionally Matriarchal. The head of the households is the mother and women inherit the family property.

Their food is the same as ours. But they cook them in the stem of soft bamboo.

Housing: They used to build special longhouses named 'nokmandi' by the river bank. But now their houses are like any others.

The Garo house

The women traditionally wear "Dokbanda" or "Dokshari". The men wear shirt, lungi, dhoti.

About The Khasi:

The Khasi live mainly in Sylhet, where there was a former kingdom named Jayanta.

Like the Garo, their language is only spoken not written. It is called "Mon kheme"

Their food is the same as ours like rice, meat, fish etc. But they consider betel leaves sacred and welcome their guests with betel leaves, nuts and tea.

Khashi Women

Their society is also Matriarchal. But the youngest daughter inherits the family property. Their society is an agricultural and they are special in growings betel leaves and cultivating bees.

Khashi man

Clothing: The girls wear a blouse called Kazim Pin. The man wear Shirt and Lungi, called "Fungo Marung"

Religion and festivals: The Khasi worship several Gods, among whom the father is "Ublei Nangthau", who is the creator of the earth.

Dancers of the festival

Their every festivals are arranged with dance and music. Their festivals are Puja, Wedding, Draught, Floods.

I have much more to share about ethnic groups. I will share the lifestyle of many other ethnic groups. So, if you have any interest in knowing about them let me know through comment.

Below I have shared the links of some articles. I can definitely ensure that you will be amazed by reading those articles. They contain the story of mountains, trails, waterfalls.

https://read.cash/@Piku/sonaichori-trail-418bd355

https://read.cash/@Piku/debotakhum-a-heavenly-place-4ff0f498

https://read.cash/@Piku/sajek-valley-where-mountains-touch-the-sky-c5ffdd1c

https://read.cash/@Piku/ravishing-beauty-of-kaptai-lake-a20a7324

https://read.cash/@Piku/bandarban-a-city-of-natural-mystery-f31ca9ce

Thanks for reading ☺

3
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Piku
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Piku
Written by
4 years ago

Comments

This article is very unique and very interesting. This article more information about. I hope you are good writier. Thanks for your article..

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Thanks for supporting. You can also read my other articles. I gave the link. And I will again write about other ethnic groups.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Ethnic peoples are an important part of our life, our society. Though their life style, food habits, cultures are different from ours. But still they plays a very vital role.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Yes. And whenever you will go to hill areas and hill tracks they will help you. Most of them are very cordial.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Though their lifestyles are different from our lifestyles, we should give them proper respect. We should not neglect them at any cost.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Your article is very interesting and It's so much informative. Though their food,culture, region different from us. But the are important to us.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Yes.. They are kind and also helpful when we visit hill tracks.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

I never visit hill area because i am so far from their. But i show many documentary about their on tv or YouTube also.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Oww... That also good. Hope that you will visit in future.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

I have read your short post about the downvote. It leads me here. I like this article. It gives me an eye-opener about cultures that is far beyond my reach.

Just an opinion, maybe you should include citations in this kind of article. For examples, where did you get the information on the origin of Garo?

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Thank you for your advice. I appreciate it. Actually I read about them in some books. That's why I was confused about the citation.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

You can copy the part from the book that you mentioned, put it in bold text and mention the author name below it or you could include the link of where you get the information. It is to prevent being accuse of plagiarism.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Ok.. I will keep it in mind. Hopefully, I am not going to be accused of plagiarism. These were free to copy and share. And also I added some of my knowledge. Thanks again.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

It is always safer to do it with citation. Good luck.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Thanks 😊

$ 0.00
4 years ago

You're welcome.

$ 0.00
4 years ago