Yep. . .

29 46
Avatar for Pichi28
2 years ago
Topics: Memory, Journal, Grateful, Fun, Random, ...

One of the many things that changed over time (not just because of the 2-year-star-of-a-virus-we-call corona) and is significant to me is how we celebrated Christmas and New Year.

I remember past Christmases when my aunts and uncles were still young and we crowd in the ancestral house in Manila to celebrate both occasions. It has always been a very fun party. Me being a kid, I loved having that freedom to be staying up late with the adults eating a lot and laughing a lot. I also liked receiving money and then dragging whichever tita or tito I can drag with me to the nearby market to buy any stuff with the monetary gift I received.

Sponsors of Pichi28
empty
empty
empty
Psst! Check these people out!

I got reminded of the past because I have read some articles telling their stories of how they celebrated their Christmas 2021 and I was playing and doing checklists in my head. Stories and video clips of other friends in various social media also show their exciting celebrations.

And I cannot help but retrace the past to the now and be amused at how things changed or transformed leaving a smile on my face. Variations of celebrations are cool.

Food.

x Spaghetti/Lasagna - we used to have this. I cannot remember when this became less and less a member of the noche buena table but it faded out.

x Cake - my mom likes baking back then. Wait. She still likes baking. She got back to baking during the pandemic. And for a time, she and her grandson had fun baking cakes. We just did not have it this time.

x Ham (haha yes we did not have ham this time)

✓ Salad

✓ Fish dish / Meat (but not ham)

x Ice cream and coke - everyone is a coke drinker... Then. However, a big check now goes to..

✓ Coffee

Gifts.

x Exchange gifts

✓ Received gifts

x Gave gifts to everyone

Games.

Food, Gifts, Games. There have been changes in these three items. Way, way back, all my aunties and uncles did not have families of their own. So on both Christmas and New Year, everyone's present. That said, having a lot of food makes sense. We have a full army wielding their spoons and forks ready for the huge battle at midnight.

Then everyone had families of their own and had different and varying schedule on whose side to celebrate which occasion and the batallion slowly got smaller, hence, it is just right that the serving also got trimmed down. Preferences considered, some dishes were picked out and some no longer made it back to the menu.

Same goes with the gifts. We used to have exchange gifts because it was easier then to make sure everyone is present come giving time. Older and older and busier and busier. I hate busy. It ruined my time tracking for when to buy, wrap and give.

Ah, games! I have seen a lot of videos of families waiting for Christmas eve with lots of fun games and challenges. It made me smile. Ofcourse, the games I saw in video are already new ones.

Also, way, way back to get extra prize, entertaining the adults or sponsors will be the best way. Show your talent!

It was fun being able to look back and reminisce how we celebrated Christmas back then. And I guess even after this pandemic a lot of changes will still take place. Treasure every Christmas celebrations whether you celebrated it solo, simple, or grand.

Which reminds me, I am yet to see that Christmas or New Year spent else where - solo or with friends who also wants to dare break the "usual".

Cheers to Merry Christmas celebrations! Thank Jesus we are celebrating our lives every day because He came.

Let us still keep on praying for our friends recovering from the recent nature wreck.


Hola everyone! Still a busy bee even after the celeb and a lot more coming on my plate. Priorities get reshuffled somehow. I will be reading more and yes responding late, like a lot.

What's your story?

© Pichi28 | #ClubBrokeBCH

All Original Content

Unless specified otherwise...

15
$ 12.81
$ 11.61 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @Jane
$ 0.22 from @meitanteikudo
+ 8
Sponsors of Pichi28
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Pichi28
2 years ago
Topics: Memory, Journal, Grateful, Fun, Random, ...

Comments

Merry Christmas Pich! Lots of things changed, Christmas is no exception. Hehehe. But atleast for me. This time's good. It just that we are not with the family. Hehe.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I so super thought i replied here!!! Hahah gosh! That is so so true mommy graye!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is just me, or in feeling that the presence of Christmas is slowly fading and changing? Or maybe I'm just getting older. I meant there's few, christmas lights, most of the houses doesn't have Christmas decorations. Ever a Christmas tree is absent. Or maybe it's all because of the pandemic we are facing?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Actually... It is happening. Slowly the usual hype fades out. But i hope individually we still get to celebrate what Christmas really is - festive or not

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Time well spent celebrating xmas 🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes it was!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh... there were Christmases when you were mine... chos, napapakanta lang.

We never really had games for Christmas eve, all we do is eat and then just sing karaoke until 12:00 in the morning.

Spaghetti is also a staple on our table for Christmas, and then Carbonara for New year's :) Always the same pattern.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Happy new year kudo! Hahhaa napakanta pa talaga!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahah sample ng kanta hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wait lang practice ako hahahahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ay sigee.. I'm patiently waiting.. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i think i'm interested to that breaking the "usual" in celebrating Christmas! let's plan for next year :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

hahah yajhhh! lets seeeee!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope next year will be good to us so we could enjoy Christmas more.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How was your Christmas celeb sis?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Next year, baka andito ka na, Pich :) Merry Christmas, lil sis!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Uy ate yes who knows!! Bwahhaha... How are ya?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang saya din ng Christmas nyo frenny, bet na bet ko mga handa samin simplehan laang. Basta meron baga, tapos wala kasi talaga kaming kamag anak dito samin kaya ayin kami kami lanh din nagcecelebrate hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Merry Christmas sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Merry Christmas sis Jane!!!!! Habol pa ko basa basa din article mo.. saglit ha! Uy thanks.. that was massive! 😍😍 Ay may tanong pala ako offtopic... May octopus card pa ba Hongkong?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

These last years it has not been easy to spend Christmas with the family, also the number of people has been reduced because they have gone to other countries looking for a better income. This year after dinner we share with the neighbors, we are also few in the urbanization.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Merry Christmas Frank!!! Yes it has .. and also weird and stresssing relationships as well. It is good you were able to share it with neighbors!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Merry Christmas wee pp. Is your tummy still full

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Uncle Ed!!! Hahah. I think my eating time got disrupted too!!!..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha I don't believe it 😅 I hope you are having fun though wee pp

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Disrupted meaning I find myself eating even if it is not yet time to eat. 🤣.. just keep munching!!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha so you are like me wee pp haha and salamat you sneaky wee thing, I saw that, salamat for your awesome sponsorship 💙🎄🎅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Don't even mention past year's sis, I would just cry about how free we were

$ 0.01
2 years ago

True! Then again, hopefully, it won't be long and we can get "back to old days". I am so hoping it is soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago