Writing Distractions

21 37
Avatar for Pichi28
1 year ago

I am planning to do a cleanup on my saved articles.

See, back in the day (don't think it is too long ago it was roughly just "a year ago), if I find something worth re-reading, going back to, referencing or writing about the same subject, I click the bookmark in their read articles. So most of the articles that were brought up from questions prompts, contests and those that I was tagged in as well are all there. But boy do they pile up. I am clutter magnet so even in that area, there is clutter there.

Reviewing articles that caught my attention does give you good idea of what to write. The most recent one that I bookmarked was @LeonaReed activity review. I was thinking I will pick some ideas from her articles, too. I started with the sleep questions. Then midway, I also thought of the Random Words. I remember I had fun doing fiction with those words. So I stopped my sleep article midway. Clicked on "Save Draft" and was about to go to the random words site.

But I stopped. I thought of googling something else.

In that scenario alone, I encountered two major distractions that I always encounter and might have a more or less 80% contribution as to why I do not write sometimes.

  • overthinking | I want this and that in there.. and this, too and that, too!

    I have a tendency to overthink about what to write. I'd get excited and then think of how its flow is going to be and my ending is that I'd stop abruptly. Save the draft. And go do something else instead. I sometimes forget my self-prodding, self-pumping game chant : "Keep typing!"

  • second-guessing | will i make it past 3 minutes.. will my brain spill be enough?

    Getting comfortable with simply typing away is not always my ordinary day. There is that part of me that second-guesses if I can fill up the entire "Write" box with at least a 3-minute read.

  • image surfing | I can write about this.. oh this too!

    We are familiar with a picture paints a thousand words. And yes they do paint a lot of stories in my head. When stories pile up, my brain freezes with day dreaming rather than typing everything down. Until I'm no longer in the mood to share my thoughts at all. This also happens when I am looking for appropriate lead image. Haha. I have learned and saw that sometimes these images need not to really be related to the article.

    These are just three. I was going to put in hesitation as well but then I got distracted with the very last thing in this list : image surfing. It was not the first during this time that I was writing. Switching tabs and doing multiple things while writing is distraction-trigger.

Sponsors of Pichi28
empty
empty
empty

I just got distracted with Google Timeline again and that would be good for another article. I searched a random image in my hard drive and that brought out alot of stories in my head.

We have talked about why and how we write.

Let's talk about the things that pull us away from our writing workflow.. .

Let me know yours!


What is your story?

© Pichi28 | #ClubBrokeBCH

All Original Content

Unless specified otherwise...

11
$ 2.30
$ 2.11 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @Coolmidwestguy
+ 5
Sponsors of Pichi28
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Pichi28
1 year ago

Comments

Noise and pressure. I can't write when I'm not exposed. I shouldn't be boxed in the four corners or else I would lose words and my sanity.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

ahh dapat merong maraming sense stimulation!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Too many distractions especially when you switch tabs lol!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

ahahah true... tapos iba na maiisip na gawin hahaha "bye, article!"

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha, same tayo friend sobrang dami kung draft article dito pero hindi ko matapos tapos.. Mas bet ko kasi yung mga freshly wrote kesa sa stock sa draft.. Outdated na yung story kasi.. Hehe

$ 0.01
1 year ago

ahaha yung ibang outdated na draft at mga nalimutan na flow ng isip, pinapatungan ko na ng bagong storya hahahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Relate ako dun sa una frenny, hahaha Minsan save nalang, tas sulat ng bago. Mas maigi pa ung bagong gawa kesa dun sa nauna ee hHa

$ 0.01
1 year ago

pag di na madugtungan ..ibang topic na lang hahahahhaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

we all go through that hahahaa... i thought it was just a postpartum thing..

$ 0.01
1 year ago

lols.. natawa ako sa postpartum sis... mustasas?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

hahaha kasi nangyari sakina fter panganak..hhehee

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My mind drift off a lot when I'm writing. Sometimes I just feel sleepy out of nowhere and most times, I just go blank in between writing an article

$ 0.00
1 year ago

hahah times like that, we goo zzzzzz and then flip on whatever to watch in the tv instead

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pag overthinking talaga sis it affects us in every way

$ 0.01
1 year ago

fact! ganun nga! musta sa inyo jan after paeng?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm glad you tagged me and you liked a d bookmarked my blog. My study is my major distraction, lol... But I don't mind it, as I love my studies

$ 0.01
1 year ago

what are you majoring in again?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Computer Science.... Bachelor (Final year)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh yey!!!! Com Sci is fun and congratulations to you in advance!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My major writing distraction is Whatsapp. It distracts me a lot and that's why my phone is always in focus mode whenever I want to write

$ 0.01
1 year ago

oooh you guys use Whatsapp a lot in your area then?

$ 0.00
1 year ago