Where did my chocolates go?

30 55
Avatar for Pichi28
2 years ago

Ah. Few more days and Halloween will be in full swing. Little cute kids will be dressing up from fairies to princesses to every other character they want go dress up as. The neighborhood will have their decors up - some alongside their Christmas decors - cobwebs, webs, bats, etcetera.

Except that, we live in 2021 - the time the world got hit by the coronavirus. Is this the second time we did not have a "normal Halloween?"

uh, Boo?

But what was your normal Halloween before the pandemic?

In our small community way back, I don't remember if we ever thought of dressing up. Nope we never did. All that was important to me was or were the loot bags and that chance to go out with my older friends at night (because I used to have a curfew. I cannot hang out with friends beyond sundown because I was a little over 6 y.o then).

Anyone up for a quidditch game? We thought of a Harry Potter booth that ONE TIME we wanted to have a trick or treat event.

It was later on when I was older and in high school I think that the kids in our community started to dress up. It was an evolution of sorts. But by the time that evolution happened, I was no longer that kid eager to go out and grab a lot of loot. I was already part of the crew giving out the candies. And hanging out with friends start when the phone rings and the friend on the other end of the line confirms they already ran out of candies to give out. Then we all troop out.

one of the decors during Halloween in the office

We take some of the "rejected" packs of goodies from each of our pantries. Some of us who have younger siblings bribed our sibs to give them some. Not me. No joke. I would not want my younger brother crying because I took some from him. That will delay my going out. We go up to a park where we can feel the November breeze chew on some of the goodies we brought. I take the wafers and some candies, they take the chocs. Somehow now that I am taking account of what happened, I realized they had more than I did. Hey!

Around November and December there are two things that I usually look forward to (then) when I got older:

1.) Buying candies for the trick or treat

  • I like buying and repacking them so every kid will get one of whichever we got from the grocery back when the economy was friendly.

2.) Buying gifts for family and friends

  • I like wrapping them and writing on the greeting cards that say more than just the template "Merry Christmas"

Over time some changes happen. Save for number two, there was a less and less need for number one. I guess that depends now on the community you're in.

The BPO crowd (night shifters) do still host the usual trick or treat open for their families. Us, the morning shifters, have no life. Haha. I can only count the times we did try - just one! Also thanks to our BPO çrowd, their creativity transforms our floors fit for Halloween theme.

Sponsors of Pichi28
empty
empty
empty

It was a curiosity. That variety in celebration or observation of an occasion. It seems that not everyone goes around, knocks on your door, and threatens you to give them a treat or be served with some trick for Halloween.

hanging out in my boss' room ... when your boss is game

I doubt we have that here in Philippines though, right? Trick or treat is "treat or treat" here.

I think nowadays malls host the event. I doubt I ever experienced trick or treat here in our current neighborhood . Caroling, yes, but not trick or treat. Unlike the previous place we lived in.

Now that I am looking back and simulating the childhood experience in my head of walking around the neighborhood and anticipating goodies from all the houses; knowing who gives out the most expensive ones and who gives out the common ones; trading candies with friends along the way; to growing up and shedding off that involvement and turning to host and then to the now that I am just typing and yapping about the memories and knowing I do not eat chocolate even though as a kid and knowing everyone wants it, I'd protect it like crazy, I wonder who ate my chocolates then?

I remember spilling out the contents of my loot bag. I know there were chocolates there. But the next day memory is foggy. Can't remember if I gave up protecting the chocolates or my older brother tricked me into giving it to him. 🤔

What is your trick or treat story? Memory? Experience? Dream?


© Pichi28

All Original Content

Unless specified otherwise...

13
$ 7.57
$ 6.80 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @FarmGirl
$ 0.10 from @JustMyRambles01
+ 11
Sponsors of Pichi28
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Pichi28
2 years ago

Comments

I really wish we had trick or treat over here...it isn't very big in South Africa. The best time I ever had was when my Fiancé and I did pumpkin carvings. It was the first time I've ever done something for Halloween. I looked this year to find pumpkins that work but there were none for sale in the shops 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We don't celebrate such. What we do when Undas comes around is to come together as family and cook food and eat it all up lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Here we don't have that tradition, some stores decorate but nothing else. Imagine that there is no tradition because of the following: yesterday I was in a store, a person came in and exclaimed: "Wow, carnival has arrived here and we haven't even spent December" 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My trick-or-treat story is on the tv. Unfortunately, this is not a traditional holiday over here. But according to many people, including you, things were kinda better before... with this "new normal2 is gonna be another atypical year but, we can make it special. My Halloween will be full of series and snacks with my girl, so it´s gonna be cool lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, obviously your brother got them! Never experienced dressing up or doing trick or treat. Eat and Eat, oo haha. Extended pa minsan sa beach or san.

Ang game naman ng boss mo sis, hehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ahaha uu si former boss ay game sa lahat she even dressed up as a witch nung nag start na rumonda mga kids .. tapos tawa kami ng tawa after...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cool! She must have been fun to be with haha, no dull moments

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes. She is. Lots of laughtrip and professionally she backs up her people to build them up. Such A good good soul. She opened doors for me too. Ah will drop her an appreciation cheesy message in a bit. Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahh, she's really good then! Wish all bosses are like her noh. Would love to read that when you do :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Halloween in the air. Can wait to read wonderful stories here about Halloween. I wish we observe it my country as well.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

where are you from again? haha.. halloween is not 'widely' observed yet here.. there are some places only, too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nigeria 🇳🇬

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember those days where I dressed up a ghost and cover my face with charcoal and then went on trick or treating 😂 I was a kid and I look so horrible at that time.

It was all a funny memories in the past. Nostalgic article ❤️

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks Corpsekunno haha.. wiw you experienced dress up and mook up!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay hindi pa ako nakararanas ng ganyan even witness kasi hindi nan yan uso didto sa province hahaha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

iniisip ko nga kung mag spread din siya sa province eventually. i mean if malls are doing it now.. hihi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

namiss ko tuloy bigla yung trick or treat sa office... kasi since sa admin ako.. ako usually ang punong abala and i always prep every occassion better than the last.. bigla ko narealize bat ba naging tamad ako sa pag pix.. lol

i love repacking of candies too and gift wrapping apir tayo dyan haha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

uu kahit struggle struggle ako nun sa giftwrapping bet ko may personal touch. dumating din na I'll buy plain sheets instead para pati design galing sakin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

To this day, I do not understand why Halloween is celebrated in PH. That is not part of Pinoy culture. What does it even signify for us? Hayst... It is just unnecessary expense. But hey, that's me...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

ahahahah naramdaman ko yun disbelief na may bahid ng annoyance and iling ng head hahaha.. .i am not sure.. western adaptation maybe? THings we watch? I am trying to recall as well when did our community in the old place we live in when I was younger got the idea of doing it. We have three big community celebrations then : Christmas .. New Year and Halloween. hehehehe. New Year parties are the best.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Christmas and New Year, yes! Pero di talaga maaruk ng brain ko ang Halloween. Puleeez!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha. Old memories refreshed.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

yes fun times during childhood. worryless days lols... now i find buying candies a little too expensive for a "need" ahahahha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same here, childhood days ko di pa uso halloween or trick or treat. Tas ngayon fast forward to tofay mga kids naturoan na magtrick or treat. Dito sa baguio so far mga kids kahit pre pandemic di pa naman naturoan magbahay bahay for trick or treat. Pero sa inuuwian namin sa taguig uso na sa mga kids duon hehe.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

either per building/tower or per mall stalls ata dito sa manila ano?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Honestly, I don't even remember my life before Pandemic these days.. maybe we are too tired or adjusted to new life.. other than that, how beautiful are the memories to think back lol.. I can relate too much on saving candy from sibling haha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We have adapted to the new normal hence we have no memory of "life" before pandemic lols... older siblings! hmph! hahahhaah ..... yeah it was fun looking back... but then again years change and everything changes pandemic or not. Pandemic just made things chjange in a snap

$ 0.00
2 years ago

what a wise comment from you, agree to wat you said

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In my tummy was the immediate answer to your title wee pp. What a cool photo was that you in your bosses room? I am impressed! Yes will be another strange Halloween again this year.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahha uncle Ed!! you took them! lols... Ah no.. that was one of my colleagues. I was the one who took the picture though haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago