Uhmm.. Eggs?

10 38
Avatar for Pichi28
2 years ago

What is the first food you learned to cook?

The first thing that comes to mind would always be fried eggs. Sunny side up to be precise. Next to that would be scrambled eggs. Both the easiest go-to for a quick grumbling tummy fix. Something you can fix up and eat with rice or bread or none in no time. I always prefer rice with them.

Growing up, my brother liked hard-boiled eggs and then soft-boiled eggs. I prefer my eggs already out of their shells but between the two, I like soft-boiled better. I like my yellow gooey.

There's omelette or omelet which I learned to like a little later on. The usual omelet or as we call it, "torta", has onions and tomatoes in it. The other versions can be meat leftovers or fish. So using ham, cheese and mushrooms are a little on the fancy rank.

How Do You Like Your Eggs?

I only had two answers first time I was asked by the man in charge with the egg station in one of the buffet breakfasts I had. That's sunny side up and scrambled. I like my sunny side ups runny but I did not know I can tell him that too so I settled for however it is done.

Sponsors of Pichi28
empty
empty
empty

I did not know there are plenty of ways to cook them eggs and I only knew some twenty from this article that I read. There probably is more in other countries that may not have been covered. And some mentioned would have been variations of the common sunny side up that we have a different term for.

So I have these on my list and how I do it if it was me preparing it:

A. Sunny side up - runny

Crack 'em eggs onto a pan with oil. Some people might add their salt here but I don't add salt to my sunny side up.

B. Scrambled egg

Crack 'em eggs onto a bowl. Beat it like there's a race. Sometimes I add powdered milk. One time I tried to make it fluffier so I put in mayonnaise instead of milk. Do I add salt? Yes. For this one I add a pinch. And then I add pepper also. Pour it in the hot pan.

C. Poached Egg

I learned poach when one restaurant I ate in offered it. The waiter goes, "would you like your egg poached?". New word for me. So I said, "yes". And boy I liked how the white enveloped the runny yellow! I also liked that it was not cooked in oil.

This one I loved preparing the most. It is tough to perfect the poach. My chef friend would always cheer me on and we always crack up at how I fail.

Simmer water. Add vinegar before it boils. Stir the water and while it is swirling, crack 'em eggs and onto the vortex. Continue gentle swirls and watch as the white coagulates and wraps itself around the yellow. On good days this would go perfectly on MOST days they won't. If you get a little distracted the outcome becomes a well-done egg (yellow not runny). And on some glorious days, you burst the whole thing upon taking it out off the pot.

The shortest poached egg preparation I did was to put water in a small bowl, add the egg. Maybe add in a vinegar. Maybe add the salt and pepper or do it after it's cooked. Stash it in the microwave and cook for I don't know how many minutes. Just check on it every once in a while.

Among the list that was in that article, I tried doing ham and cheese omelette. Never did it again. My omelette was too rich for my liking. Maybe I'll try again next time.

I haven't tried doing (would love to try) but have tried eating and liked :

  • Deviled eggs - seemed like an easy one to prepare. Interesting also for how you are going to do the center paste. It says mustard with something so I would like to have a hand in fixing and mixing that one up

  • Marinated eggs - the ones in ramen. The one they call aji tamago. For this. I doubt I would have enough attention and concentration in doing it but maybe some day.

I am no EGGSpert these are just how I prefer my eggs done.

How about you?


This was brought to you by an inspiring breakfast involving a hard-boiled egg.

Happy first day of May! Happy wallet reset!

Happy labor's day to all Filipino workers. Supposedly it is a holiday for us except that it landed on a Sunday. Days when it lands on a weekday, people extend their vacation to go on a Labor day escapade. Some frequent Boracay and call it their LABOR-acay beach, beach party getaway.

Anyways, have a meaningful and fruitful Sunday, everyone!

What's your story?

© Pichi28 | #ClubBrokeBCH

All Original Content

Unless specified otherwise...

13
$ 3.82
$ 3.49 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @mommykim
$ 0.05 from @Idksamad7869
+ 7
Sponsors of Pichi28
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Pichi28
2 years ago

Comments

Kahit anong luto basta runny un yolk okay na hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

expert ako when it comes to scrambled egg....sa sunny side up naman minsan kasi naluluto yung yellow kaya nag aaway kami nang anak ko kasi gusto niya yung malasaw haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gustong ko talaga yung eggs pichi. Gusto ko yung scramble and sunny side up. Pag breakfast gusto ko talaga may eggs. Mapaparami talaga rice ko pichi. 😁 Ang sarap pag yung viand mo may eggs. Ang sarap naman yung sa mga pictures. 🤤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang gusto ko sa egg ay yung hard boiled at scrambled din with rice or bread

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Eggs are very nutritious and I prefer mine fried than boiled

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The only way of cooking that I knew is frying, but I still don't know how to cook eggs. 😄

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the word "eggspert" ! Hahaha, cutieee!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tried most of them, cooking and eating. Sometimes, I like them scrambled in the pan so it's just beating the white and yolk as it cooks. I rarely use salt, mostly it's nutmeg or cumin or paprika. And pepper flakes ALL THE TIME. hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Rice and fried eggs sakin madam then noodles and pancit canton. Starter pack sa mga nag bo-boarding house sa college 😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Me is rice hahaha 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago