Contemplating on This

19 35
Avatar for Pichi28
1 year ago

Ooh fun! I just saw @LykeLyca post something about the movie " Doll House" starring Baron Geisler.

Just to note, at the moment of typing, I have not yet read Lyka's article. I am curious as to whether we would have the same thoughts or not. I opted to read that later and pour in my thoughts first here before jumping there. I am going to edit this one and lead you to her story after I read hers though. Hehe.

That Netflix Filipino movie somehow "flooded" my facebook feed from posts of friends.

Sponsors of Pichi28
empty
empty
empty

Brewing curiosity

I first read about it when a former colleague posted about it in her page. I am currently not sure of what she is doing recently but she has been posting a lot of Netflix movies and series that are "mad good" according to her. I think I watched The Cabin because of her recommendation that I saw on her page.

So I did take note of the Doll House when she recommended the it. I also took note of how she praised Baron's acting there and then I forgot about it after some time.

Curiosity Rekindled

After some time of forgetting about it, I started seeing it in Netflix it "sounded" familiar but I was not yet into it as there are other series I was curious about.

Then I saw my friends again starting to rave about how good the movie was. How they got teary-eyed about it. Or how it was that first Filipino movie that made them cry, etcetera. And these friends were mostly guys!

So I got curious. I was like, "what is in this Baron Geisler movie that made my guy friends admit that

  1. They watched a local movie

  2. The movie made them cry?"

Or that it pulled heart strings.

After reading those, I prepped and asked myself if I am ready to cry buckets? Fidgeting with the remote button, I finally pressed on play and I started watching it.

Head Tilt... And a Head Shake

I had a lot of mixed emotions all throughout the movie and none of it was ever close to get me to tear up.

It did give me a lot of "wait.. what?" moments instead.

I am not sure if the progression was just too fast for my liking or that the story has some weird wiring in it that in a sense made me say,

"Dude, that is just so wrong".

Overall? I am still torn and mincing at which part of the movie should I be applauding. Even to this day.

But I gotta say, that piece may have touched my friends who are fathers mostly.

I got reminded of this one friend of mine who commented in one of my videos. I posted one video of my dad riding on a bike and I was behind him and taking a video of him. I was pretty much stalking my dad then. He was just relaxing and biking. He did not even know I was behind him until I posted the video. My video caption was: "Stalking my old man who taught me how to ride a bike". Or something like that. Then my friend commented "i hope my daughter remembers me like that as well."

That comment kind of showed a glimpse of the soft part of my male friends when it comes to "fatherhood".

I guess that is one thing in the Doll House that they felt they can relate to. That part where they try their very best to be a good dad the best way they know hoping that any wrongdoings they may have done will not overshadow the times they have tried. Or at least they try to make up for it.

A big but still is that I find it shocking to see "lying" to be ok. "Kidnapping" even for a day is ok. It is a little twisted in some areas.

That leaves me still not being able how to rate the movie. Still rubbing my chin and really tossing thoughts whenever I think about it.

Is it good? Yes it has a story. The desperation was clearly portrayed. The pain even. It may leave a thought-provoking musings to most specially any parent.

There is a factor on drugs, rehabilitation, handling, and falling on and off the wagon.

There a factor on being an overseas worker. Take one story from an OFW on how they live abroad and somehow you see a whole new world out there.

Have you seen the movie?

Maybe I should slice the movie scene by scene. Maybe it is that good considering that it taps a part of me saying "maybe there is that part of the story that I cannot accept but that crap happens".

Or maybe because I have that strict bias on how a reconciliation should look like when it comes to making peace with your past?


I have multiple real-life scenarios that I am comparing side by side with the movie and still here I sit.. shaking my head. Curious? Go watch it and let me know your take!

© Pichi28 | #ClubBrokeBCH

All Original Content

Unless specified otherwise...

See you here!

10
$ 0.67
$ 0.49 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.03 from @LykeLyca
+ 5
Sponsors of Pichi28
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Pichi28
1 year ago

Comments

I still have to agree. There is something at the back my mind that is not too convincing as to how this movie should've turned out to be. Anyways, I love the thought of you stalking over your dad, that's so cute!!!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Halos good reviews nga nabasa ko about this pero let's see kung mapapanood ko hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It sounds the film is a good watch and how sweet you were to have filmed your Dad hehe.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

oh helllo there SIS super long time no see.. are you in noise.app too? you have invite?

Dali panoorin mo sis tapos kwentuhan mo kami sa iyong naisip. :) Hindi pa din ako maka decide if it is some thing I'd say "astounding" film lols .

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha, yes, month-long na :)

Yes, I got on Noise.App just yesterday :) Still need to explore, nangangapa don hehe. And yung movie, d ko pa napanood :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Will watch it soon. Na curious na talaga ako

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Go go go go sis!!! kwento ka after ah.. :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ow, maganda daw yung Doll House marami akong post na nakita pero haven't seen it yet pa

$ 0.01
1 year ago

go go sis.. see for yourself tapos post mo kung ano din ang dating sayo :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nabasa ko din article ni Ma'am lyca pichi. Trending yang movie na yan ngayon kaya gusto ko rin panoorin pich.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

kamusta sis? Napanood mo na? hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Di pa pich. May pinapanood pa ako na Chinese series pich. Pag natapos ko na to.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

San ka na nga nanonood ng chinese series?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Di ko pa napapanood yang movie na yan pero yan nga sabi nila maganda daw po.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Gora po! tapos sabihin niyo din kung ano tingin niyo sa palabas ;)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Honestly, I have read reviews about the movie but I have not seen it. I will surely check it whenever I'm free. It seems to be interesting

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It is interesting.. go gog og and post your thoughts too!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

A movie had more importance when it has lesson and entertainment both. I had not watched this movie but we can't category a movie a good or bad on the base of romance or sad story.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

literature is literature some would appeal to most and some will not :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago