The Earthworm

1 14

I remember when I was younger, I never liked to see earthworms. The way it moved on the ground, pulling in each segment of the body to ahead annoyed me. Apart from its wriggling movement, I hated to see the narrow crooked lines it left on the ground particularly after a heavy rain. Like many of my mates at that time, I enjoyed the fun of sprinkling salt on its body and watching as the tiny creature wriggled and broke into pieces.

Today, I have grown wiser to know that earthworms are friends who should be treated with respect. Earthworms makes the soil fertile. They dig into the soil, eat and and exercise it as smooth tiny round soil with bits of holes in the middle. As they dig into the soil, they make tiny hole through which air comes in to complete the process of making the soil richer. That is why farmers like to plant on soils rich in earthworms. Now that my father has a garden where he plants a few vegetables, I feel great pains if the hoe mistakenly cuts an earthworm when digging the soil. I have come to know that though earthworms might not be as beautiful and smart as human beings, they are very useful to man. They make crops grow well and produce great harvests to ensure enough food for man.

In the same way, every human being plays an important role in the life of others. We may not like the looks and attitude of the other person, yet we have to realize that he or she contributes something, no matter how little, to make life meaningful.

5
$ 0.00

Comments

They are one of the many creatures that amaze but disgust me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

really good one, this shows that even the littlest of things do matter in life... take nothing for granted... there is a typo in your last paragraph though(hr)... fix it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, every thing matters, from the biggest to the smallest. And for the error, I'll fix it asap. Thanks for the observation.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yeah it does... you are welcome... I like your new write ups keep it up, we are supporting you...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thank you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I also didn't like earthworm when I was young. I find them so creepy. But its true what you said. Every living thing on this earth are important whether big or small.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I still find them creepy.. Lol.. But because of their economic significance. They are worth living.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Lol, you are right. Nice article and keep up the good work.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

In my case. I don't hate earthworms when I was a kid, but today, I do. What you said at the end of article was true. Everything has its purpose in life. Even if its small or big.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, it does. Am surprised you do now.. Lol... But everything is important still

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Everything plays a role even the inanimate objects like your house or door.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, it really does. Everything really does, I sat down to think this through because I noticed once you eliminate something, you'll begin to see the importance

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes everything even a tiny dot can be composed into on pointillism Art that is why everything has importance and yet we shouldn’t put any importance to it..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I like playing this when I was a child :D

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I also dont like to see earthworm even now coz im really afraid with it. I dont know but im really scared with it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Me too, I still have the fears but I just have to maintain because of the importance. You should do so too

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Indeed. Earthworms are important microorganisms, they are amazing in their own little way.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yours was different in my own case I hate seeing centipedes and everyone has their dislike on different type of creeping creatures. Nice contents

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, I still hate centipede till now tho I know it has an important significance to man and the earth

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nobody ever likes that creature so disgusting

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Today, I have grown wiser to know that earthworms are friends who should be treated with respect.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, they should sure be treated with care and respect

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, its true. Even a single effort and actions can conquer the world. Always remember that hardbroom will not be stronger if they are note bounded and united. Keep writing.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, very true. Thanks for the contribution. I will not disappoint you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

When I was younger, I killed earthworms with salt. Today, I still kill earthworms with salt. But when they're not in my space, I don't harm them at all.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yea, every human being plays a vital role in this world cause everyone was created for a reason. But for me not when it comes to earthworms. No doubt they're important but they disgust me😂😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes the earthworms are decomposers we actually really need them buh they actually look like pasta when packed together 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes the earthworms are decomposers we actually really need them buh they actually look like pasta when packed together 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We may not know. But we need them. We everyone to survive here on earth. Earthworms are good decomposers

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love earthworms because of the work they do. Its a very important process for the environment sustainability

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice writeup. Love your work. Earthworms are great. Please do not kill them when you see them. Just leave them to do their work

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice article tho! I will like to know when you started carrying out observations on earthworms?

$ 0.00
3 years ago