Being A Unique Blogger Helps You Stand Out

21 52
Avatar for Peter-Molnar
2 years ago
Topics: Blog, Blogging, Thoughts

To write a unique content or a blog post for your personal blog is one thing. Your content or blog post needs to be original so you are not getting a chance to be in any sort of trouble. A good blogger or content creator knows this. What I want to talk about today is not really how to write an original content or blog post, but rather how to be unique with your writing so you will stand out, remembered and recognized.

Image Source: Unsplash via Etienne Girardet


Importance Of Being A Unique Blogger

This is one of those things where you can't just say it's important, you really need to feel it. And I mean really feel it. If this doesn't feel important to you, then it probably isn't and you should just go on to something else. There are a lot of different things, that could be important to you when doing this. Obviously making money is important if that is your main motivation, but what I'm talking about goes beyond that. I'm talking about finding something you are genuinely interested in.

If you're doing this just for the money, then I suggest you look for another way of making money. If you're doing this to fill a void, then I suggest you try something else. If you're doing this because you like writing and you feel you could become good at it, then go ahead, but don't make a big deal about it. Nobody is going to be expecting you to become the next Edgar Allen Poe. The point I'm trying to make is, find something that is personally important to you. Once you've found that, everything else will come a lot easier.

If you're not going to make this your number one priority, then I suggest you go do something else. This isn't going to be easy and it's not going to be fun. It is going to be extremely time consuming and you're probably not going to be rich overnight by doing this. Also realize, that this is not a guarantee that you're going to be a big time blogger. Big time bloggers don't just happen, they are built. If you're serious about this (and I'm assuming you are, otherwise you wouldn't be reading this) then you're going to have to put in a lot of the work yourself. Nobody will work instead of you.

Now with all that being said, if this is something you would be interested in doing, then let's talk specifics.

Be Yourself And Add Your Own Style To Your Writing

I know what you're thinking, how the hell is this different from the other stuff and to be honest it isn't. I'm just suggesting that you not stick to the traditional "How To" article structure. What I'm suggesting is that you use the ideas in your article to not just write your posts, but to also market yourself as an individual. You could do a "Things I Love Doing " type of post. Maybe even a "What Makes Me Happy" post, or "Things That Please Me The Most" post, or "My Thoughts About..." post. The point is, you need to mix it up a bit and not just write how to posts.

The next step is to make sure, that you are including your own personality in everything you do. Yes, this means your tags. If you tag something "Random", then include something random. Don't just tag every post you do with "Random", actually use it in your posts. You can also use this to your advantage when it comes to your actual content as well. This isn't something you really need to stress about right now, but just make sure the content you post is high quality.

Other than that, just have fun with it. Make sure the posts aren't only entertaining for yourself, but entertaining for your reader as well. You want people to click on them and actually read them. Not only read them and they leave after reading, but you want them to enjoy your post throughout and make them wanting to interact with you. The best way to do that is to just be yourself and keep it real.

Image Source: Unsplash via Marcus Ganalh


Create Your Own Style Of Writing

If you don't have a style just yet, I suggest to create your own style of writing. If you're planning on writing original content, then create a brand for yourself. People tend to remember brand names better, but this can be your own name too. Just think of it as if you were creating a comic. You wouldn't want to write like someone else, you'd want your own voice. The same could be said for writing. Your reader can tell if you're copying and pasting from another source. If your reader can tell this, they can also tell if you're trying too hard to be "creative" with your writing. Plus, it's boring as hell. The "voice" part of this is also very important. This is where you need to keep in mind the whole "being yourself" thing. Not copying someone else, but just having your own way of doing things. This gets a little more technical, but the best way I can explain it is through an example.

Now at this point, I want to stress, that I do not like to look at individuals here as my favorite writers. Everybody is different and that is the beauty of the whole thing. I want to mention though, that there are people here I know, who are really good at being themselves and this makes them so unique.

I'm not just talking about the obviously good writers either. I'm talking about the ones who don't necessarily stand out, but write in such a way, that it seems they are the only one who can. I'm not talking about people, who are overly arrogant with their writing. I'm talking about a certain style of writing, that is actually more boring than arrogance. One that is obviously smart, but doesn't try to be, one that has confidence, but isn't arrogant about it, one that really knows their stuff and is willing to own up to it... What I'm saying is, there are tons of different ways of writing and you need to find your own "voice". I'm not going to say that this is easy, because it really isn't. It takes time to find your way and what you are good at, but it is definitely necessary. Now I can't tell you how to do this, because everyone is different and this process is going to be different for everyone.

Picking A Writing Style

This is also pretty important. Are you going to write in a first person perspective? Are you going to write in a third person perspective? Are you taking a short story/novella approach? Are you writing a lot of poems? Make sure you stick with your chosen style. Try not to stray away from your chosen style unless you're absolutely confident, that you can pull it off. Sticking to one writing style will help you become more skilled and give you a better opportunity to become good, especially if your chosen style isn't widely accepted in the community.

It also makes it easier for people to relate to your work since they will immediately get a visual image in their mind of what you're writing about. Pick something, that you are passionate about and enjoy. If you are not passionate about something, you would have trouble trying to accomplish. Trying to force yourself to enjoy something isn't going to work. In addition, you also want to make sure, that your chosen field has a lot of potential for growth. You don't want to be stuck in a rut writing the same story over and over again. Lastly, you want to pick something, that is going to interest a lot of people to give yourself a chance to get a big audience.

Recommended authors and articles to read next:

8
$ 8.27
$ 7.68 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Ruffa
$ 0.10 from @Meyzee
+ 9
Sponsors of Peter-Molnar
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Peter-Molnar
2 years ago
Topics: Blog, Blogging, Thoughts

Comments

According to Suzy Kassem Quote: “Be yourself. An original is always worth more than a copy.” But honestly, I have no idea yet where I am good at, I am referring to my writing style. I always do my best in every article I write but there is still a lot to improve. I wish I can do better soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There is always room to improve. The more you write the better you are at it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm not sure about my style but since starting here I have decided to blog about travel and food for those are the things I am comfortable writing about. I tried fiction but it doesn't sit right with me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Travel and food niches are good for two reasons. Everybody loves travelling and everybody loves good food. In addition you can combine the two. Different cultures, different food. Very good topics to talk about. Yes just do what you are comfortable with.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Big time bloggers don't just happen, they are built. - very well said. That is why, it is really important to be original and unique, have the own style and approach. That is how a blogger can really approach readers. ✨

Personally, I do not know if I am a good writer, but hopefully my works can somehow be relatable to other people. Original but relatable.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You will see if people are interested in what you have to talk about and you get feedback or constant engagement that is already a good sign.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yay! Its seems to be a good sign. But I hope I can do better soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Definitely! Just give yourself time and it will require lots of effort and work.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you, Peter. 💗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are welcome.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's the secret of a successful Blogger to be unique with each other not copying everyone style, have your own style and be creative. I don't know if I am good with my style, I still don't know that haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe Ruffa and MissJo said the same (see below my reply) I can say the same to you. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha I didn't realize we have the same thoughts. I read your reply thanks.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha that's good. You see the answer is simple and it is right in front of you. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is an informative one, as for me I don't really know if I'm already a good writer, all I know is that I love making othet people smile because of my article that's why I will use whatever to do it 🤩🙉

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is more than enough. You have follovers, people are engaging, people are coming back to you time to time. It means you are doing well and they like it including me. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yayyy, and that's the big Achievement for me 🤩

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks a lot for the honorable mention. I agree that to be a good writer, we must have our own style. One that when readers see the work, he/she can confidently say, "Oh, Ellehcim wrote this." That is always my goal whenever I write.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is the message of the article. I am glad that I managed to write the way that is understanable. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello Peter..😊 thank you for this really informative article. We can gain learnings from it. Yes you're right we should be unique and having our own original.

Thank you so much. God bless you Peter.🙏 Have a nice day...❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you. Yes you can be successful on your blogging journey if you are unique, but you know this, because you are.

$ 0.00
2 years ago