Ward Off The Cold

7 35
Avatar for Pearlkel
2 years ago

Good morning Readers. This morning, the stormy rain came down again. It first delayed me from.going to work but still, thanks to nature for the downpour, at least farmers now have reasons to rejoice. A year without adequate rainfall spells doom for everyone. 

At first, after taking my bath and dressing up, I jumped out of the house to catch up with the staff bus so that I wouldn't get stranded. It was at that point that I got trapped in the rain. 

The rain drenched two staff and I as we patiently waited for the bus. While the rain was coming down heavily, our bus arrived.  I just kept mute after greeting everyone already in the bus then reached for my bag. 

At that point, it dawned on me that I didn't remember to remove the cardigan I wore yesterday from the bag. What a great relief. Quickly I wore the cardigan and asked the driver to kindly put off the air conditioner that was blowing more cold. 

Everyone seemed to be enduring the cold until I spoke up. I heard a female voice at the back of my seat saying:

Thank goodness. I was going to ask the driver to put that off too. 

I just smiled to myself and thought that some people keep ensuring and dying in silence. 

Alright people. In a cold weather like this, what do you do to keep warm? 

Stay Under The Duvet

If you have nowhere to go and you feel cold, for me I would rather remain in bed under the duvet to keep warm. However, one must be ready to face the consequences of hunger if there is no one to fill that gap but in the meantime, some sleep could make you feel warm. 

Take Hot Food

Hot tea, pap, and custard could do the magic. As an African man, eating yam pepper soup with dried fish would also be fine. That's how to keep cold in the native way. 

Hot food does not work for some people during cold periods. But for those that it works, it is always good to apply it. In the process of preparing the food  in the kitchen, it could be an added advantage to being warm. The heat from the kitchen cooker is a good way to keep warm. So, lazy guys who would rather not freeze may stay hungry all day. 

Hand Warmers, Heated Gloves, Heated boots

You might have seen football players in Europe wearing hand warmers, they don't do that to be stylish but to keep warm. When the head is hot too, it spreads to other parts of the body. 

Heated boots are also built specially to keep you warm. So, during the rainy days or winter as you may have it, one of the ways to keep warm is to use heated gloves, head warmers and so on. 

Stay Active

Like today for instance, I have engaged myself after being drenched in the rain. This is to keep my body warm. If I had relaxed into the chair in my office, I could have been arrested by the cold. 

You can get up from your stagnant position and get engaged too. Ensure you are moving from one place to another doing stuff like chores, cooking and the likes. That could burst the hormone that would help keep you warm. 

Heat Your Office or Apartment

I remember one method my mom had adopted while growing up each time there was a cold. She would boil a large pot of water, usually with some herbs though. When the thing was cooked up, we were made to sit on a kind of stool with the hot pot and its contents close by covered with a blanket. 

For the office, no one should advise you to ensure every window and door is shut. With that, the breeze hardly enters your space. And with that, there may be no cold.

It's raining here, people and I have gulped a hot cup of coffee. It sure is going to be a very cold weekend. Do have a great time out there. 

Cheers!!

First Published Here







9
$ 7.41
$ 7.37 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @MoonTrader
$ 0.01 from @charmingcherry08
+ 1
Sponsors of Pearlkel
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Pearlkel
2 years ago

Comments

Staying under the duvet and taking hot food is my favorite part of it all.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It's fun having such experience. You love good things, who doesn't.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We have opposite concern. Huhu it's so hot in our end and I am wishing to have a rain huhu

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Wow. Climate just have a way of controlling this planet. Cold here, hot there.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohh, the hot coffee for me, please while it's raining. Let's have a virtual coffee session, sir :)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That will be interesting. A virtual coffee session will be off the hook

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Looking forward for that :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago