Stop Grumbling

4 31
Avatar for Pearlkel
2 years ago

Lead image

Yesterday being the first working day of the week was quite a busy day for me, and that has been the usual outcome every Monday for some time now. I woke up to clean up and had breakfast before leaving home, that's one thing I must miss in the morning. Then straight to the office where my table was already filled with loads of work. I had a short day on Friday at the office, so that is expected. 


A staff member walked up to me in the office and sought my attention to speak to him. Since we were done with the second term examination, I obliged him and he started the chat. 

He said:

Sir, I trained as a physicist at the university. And over the years, I have not been able to get a job with any firm that aligns with what I studied at the university, hence I had to resolve to teach. 


At this point, I knew that Mr Jay was up to a serious discussion. What could be bothering and where he is heading with this line of discussion is what I don't see to understand. One thing I won't do is to stop him, so I listened as he spoke. 


Since 2017 that I have taken to teaching, nothing seems happening. My finances haven't improved. This may be because of the inflation though, byt I know that the salary I receive as a teacher is not encouraging. 


He spoke so passionately as he marshalled these points one after the other. 


Thinking of further studies now has gone out of my mind. When I graduated, I intended to work for a year or two, gather some money and further to get a masters degree. But all that is gone now. 


As Mr Jay was speaking, I started to jot down his points so I would know how to respond to him. Alas, he wasn't done speaking, so I allowed him his space to express himself. 


Most of my mates are married with children. Some who have not married are in serious relationships that could turn into marriage. Sir, I need you to help me. 


I cleared my throat as I was to talk to a young, vibrant and determined young man. It is obvious that a lot of people pass through the same experience and would rather keep it to themselves than share it. While some could result in crime to have their way. 


Mr. Jay, I'd like to first thank you for coming out straight. I won't like to bored you with my experience but that is where I would start from. 


I studied history and diplomacy at the university. I did a lot of professional programmes to qualify me to work with diplomats representing Nigeria in different nations of the world but to no avail. 


And just like you, I ventured into the teaching profession. My first salary was less than $8 per month but that improved over the years. 


Since it's a private school, having built a name for myself with the learners, it wasn't an easy task but I had to study extra to equip myself and to become a force to be reckoned with  in the subject I teach, before I knew it, I have drawn the attention of most learners and I was a choice to make in extra coaching. 

It wasn't my desire to be a teacher. I never trained as a teacher but I made a profession out of it by first loving the profession and created a determination to bring a positive change in learners. 


Before you could call Jack Robinson,  I made over ten times what my salary was in a month. That has been my rallying point. I am married, happily married to the most beautiful woman. And together we have two children who also attend a fee paying school and by the grace of God, we have built our first house. 


Now, Mr. Jay had adjusted himself on the chair several times while I spoke, addressing him. 


I asked him:

Do you love what you do?

Are you willing to make sacrifices?

Can you decide to make extra pay?


All these questions and more, Mr Jay answered in the affirmative. Perhaps he had grabbed something from what I shared with him. 


He thanked me and said:

You are such a blessing to me today. All you have said are very thoughtful and can make a good book for people to read and learn. 


Immediately, I saw Mr Jay with outgoing SS3 students who were preparing to write their final exams. I told them he would be having a voluntary coaching with them.and that they can invite their friends from other schools who will be paying $1 per week.


That's a great move, isn't it?


First published Here


12
$ 7.17
$ 7.06 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @foryoubtc09
$ 0.02 from @Tomi-Ajax
+ 5
Sponsors of Pearlkel
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Pearlkel
2 years ago

Comments

That was really compassionate and nice of you. To listen so passionately to another man's problems in the present state of this country ain't easy

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahaha. What do we do? We keep helping and encouraging one another. One right word of encouragement can be of good help.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow 😳 you’ve encouraged Mr jay in such a blessed way. If one doesn’t like what he or she does and couldn’t sacrifice for there won’t be positive outcome.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That's just the bitter truth. To excel in life, one must first love what he or she does.

$ 0.00
2 years ago