Safe Sex? How Protected Are You?

17 127
Avatar for PatsKy8135
2 years ago

Is it really about safe sex or simply not doing the act at all? For crying out loud at 14-15? Are you kidding me? This topic is given the reality in the secondary school where I am currently teaching. My heart goes to my students who told me they could have just waited yet it's too late!


Well even If I got married at 32 and have lived to my principles of only engaging in sexual intercourse with my husband, I am fully aware especially here in Seychelles that chastity entails self-discipline and this may sound so old school but based on the research I did on the Moral Theological Perspective of sexual union, this has to be in the context of marriage! If not in a COMMITTED RELATIONSHIP!

  • Let me tell you why!

Thomas Aquinas, in his Summa Theologia on Marriage and Sex, stated that what makes premarital sex wrong because it can bring the possible child into a situation where it does not have both parents to look after it.!  This is in reference to an "unplanned and early pregnancy" like what is happening to mostly Secondary schools globally. Seeing this reality to where I am currently living whereby I am exposed to the reality of my secondary students, I can't help but felt so sad for them.

There's so much in life than a mere sexual activity out of lust and curiosity!

  • And so I thought my Students are so Innocent (Though not Generalizing) 

I had my last period with my S5 set3 class. They were still considered band A, meaning academic class so all the while I thought that "an academic" student would be more adept at focusing on his/her studies. To think that their "priorities" must be on how to prepare for their Advanced Level Studies, guess I am the one who innocently thought about them.

There were around 29 of them. 15 girls and the rest were boys.

I was explaining my lesson and they were pretty much-paying attention to the topic, after which I went around to check their work individually. What caught my attention was one of my girls on her table busy fixing her things.

Shocked was an understatement!  Of all her things, 'that condom stuff surprised me to the hilt! What the heck!


*Have I mentioned that the only time I practically learned how condoms worked was only when I got married? Sure thing, I read about it but "practicum" was another story for me. I am pretty much old fashioned still added to the fact that my father was so strict and would always remember how he advised me to wait for the right time and to do it with the right person alone!

  • I felt that "condoms" must be discreetly kept and not be shown in public. Imagine working in the Middle East when my hubby told me that he has to ask discreetly, he wanted to buy a condom! At that time, Doha was still so austere though just recently upon a conversation with a friend in Abu Dhabi, they're a bit more relaxed as an unmarried couple can now live together.

I went over, confused and asked her!

Knowing that my students' stage is the "exploration" period of their Secondary Life, my gut told me to ask her, 

"What is this?" I mean why do you have this?"

and she replied with a bit of confusion, even asked me with that condescending tone!

"Ms. you don't know what it is?"

I could not compose a rational thought to respond but got the courage to do so!

"Hey, I know what is this, but my point is that, why do you have this in your bag? Why are you bringing this?" I felt like reprimanding my daughter!


She shrugged and simply told me, 

"It's for protection Ms."

  • Is it really about "PROTECTING ONESELF? How Safe it Is by the way?

 The consequence of having a baby before matrimony, especially for the couple who are not "ready or unplanned pregnancy" for whatever responsibilities it incurs, would sort into the worst scenario of abortion. According to an article here "half of the unplanned pregnancies among unmarried women (age 20-29) result in an abortion— nearly 600,000 abortions each year."

*Considering the age bracket of my students, how can I not be alarmed when they're so young and how on earth a 14-15-year-old student/teenager can support a child? Given normal circumstances, at 15, how would you convince me you are mature and financially secured?


**I told her to come with me to the staff room and we would have a heart to heart talk after class. Whoah to my surprise, she knew what she's gotten into and I'd better keep my mouth shut. 

  • What's the Rationale?

Protection may be good but there's so much research and studies that have been found helpful, relevant to date on "waiting for the right time" to engage oneself in "premarital sex."

Likewise, to speak about "the protection" from my point of view it is not just really about "protecting yourself, but it's all about NOT DOING it all---- ​not until you are MATURE enough to support yourself whereby you can withstand the consequences.

There's more to life than sex!


**

This post is in connection to my ongoing study about the reality of our students here at Pointe Larue and it really crushed my heart every time I get to know our Secondary students got pregnant. Whenever I told them that "sex" is a gift to your spouse in the context of marriage, there's so much confusion in their minds and *PROPER GUIDANCE* is the least I can do for them! As a mother, this is my social responsibility apart from my own family.

Made a short video about An Online Dating Convo: Crushing Moment with You! whereby "relationships" can blossom into a good partnership however *proper guidance* is a must. Mature and Committed One would last for a lifetime

#ShoutOut to my sponsors for their generosity and quality posts always!

Images used in this post are taken all from Pexels

If we can print our own money, the better for the economy




23
$ 17.67
$ 17.26 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @George_Dee
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 15
Sponsors of PatsKy8135
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for PatsKy8135
2 years ago

Comments

The rate at which the world is changing to something completely different is quite alarming. At the age of 14-15, I didn't even know what a condm looks like, I knew what it looked like at age 18 and it was because I saw it on the floor, my course mates were the ones who told me what it was. The media, poor parenting pattern, friends, and so much more are some of the platforms influencing these youngsters, there was a video I watched last year, a boy and girl were caught having sx and I'm pretty sure that they were both between the ages of six to seven years old.

$ 0.04
2 years ago

Jesus Christ, that young? you are right, social media has a lot of influence on them if not their society likewise poor parental guidance. I am always after the "effect" (mostly not in a good way) after engaging in sexual intercourse and as part of our social responsibility, spreading awareness is the least we could do.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As a parent, I feel awkward and vulnerable looking at the callous attitude of today's youngsters. There is a role here in the entertainment industry. They are making soaps promoting such stories. In fact, when we were in high school and college, we used to get attracted by such movie ads in the newspapers. Now, every teenager wants to be a model and an actor. Urban pop culture engulfed most homes. Maybe, more engagement between the children and the parents and the elderly relatives can positively impact.

$ 0.04
2 years ago

You are right! constant communication and proper guidance between parents and their children especially when it comes to the matter of exploration stage on sex, the best thing we could do is to let them understand the CONSEQUENCES of the actions.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I agree with you, though I was always mistook as a liberated maybe because I can handle SPG conversations but I am conservative type. I don't like the idea of jumping from one man to another, I mean engaging into s3xual activities And this attitude of younger generations bothered me sometimes. I am even worried what will happened to my future daughter. OMG>

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I think we need to be more steadfast with regard to educating or spreading awareness to our youngsters when it comes to sexual activities and its accompanied CONSEQUENCES.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The best thing to do is to educate them and at least they are using contraceptives , I'm not siding them but at least to reduce the chnces of pregnant.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

despite having condoms given for FREE here, I still, they ended up being pregnant. I couldn't even fathom how on earth at their age they are so adept with this concept!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Safe sex is still the best option because it prevents so many terrible consequences. Where I am from sex is a very conservative topic but my father's and sister taught me nonetheless that abstinence is still the best. I grew up in a Christian background and it helped me a lot. Keep doing what you're doing.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I think it is our social responsibility to spread more awareness regardless of background that Safe Sex still must be done within the context of matrimony if not COMMITTED Relationship or Mature union. I mean at 14-15 is it really considerable mature age?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pregnancy in teens is increasing at unbelievable rates not only due to lack of education, but a lot of the times that is the case. With hormonal changes going on in the bodies of people, urges often over rule the critical thinking about the consequences of unprotected and premature sex even in adults. I feel that if sex education is taught in schools a lot of the teen pregnancies would decrease. I am not saying that it would completely disappear, but it would indeed help. Without educating our teens, our babies will continue to raise babies. This may seem to be an over exaggeration but it is proved every time a fifteen year girl gives birth to a child.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's sad to say that most youth today are as aggressive as your student whom you talk to. Sometimes we can never blame some parents because some students nowadays are just so stubborn and irresponsible. If their refusing guidance maybe the consequences of their acts can make them at least realize that it's never just for fun.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

As technology evolves, the generation today has become more liberated and outspoken. I guess there's nothing we can do about that. I can't imagine how much more liberated they'll become in the future. Sad reality 💔

The best thing to do is to educate them and at least they're using contraceptives, I'm not siding them but at least to reduce the chances of getting pregnant. It's sad to see them doing these but teenagers have become more curious because of technology too.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

even in the Philippines, this is becoming normal.. it's sad but it is the reality and indeed, parents have to level up in guiding their kids and instilling in them the right mindset about s*x that it is indeed an act to be done only when married, it is sacred.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

This is so real,I know some students who are in that ages 14-15 nowadays,they are very curious in this matter,.and some.of them really involved in sex with the very young age,this is very tempting with them,that's why a lot of them experienced miscarriage and other untoward things about pregnancy,because they don't have enough knowledge about it,that's what I'm afraid of,that they will no longer have to think twice when they do that.

$ 0.04
2 years ago

I feel the same way when I see secondary students talk practically about sex, it is one of the reasons why I don't have a relationship like my mates because when you turn off sex, they just feel like you ain't the right person for them.

People feel like ladies are the only ones meant to wait, there is nothing wrong with guys waiting until they are practically ready to take responsibility for anything that happens afterward.

I think parents have lots of work to do here, sex education is important so as make the child understand what's at stake. It's becoming a new norm, people no longer place value of who they lay with any longer.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

this is so alarming, especially with Secondary students globally! though they thought they were ready to become a "mom" at an early age, once responsibility sets in, they have forgotten how crucial it is to know that early pregnancy is never a good option for them.

As per waiting, despite our steadfast reminders, still, they were easily dragged by their peers!

$ 0.00
2 years ago