What's In A Name?

49 55

I got my idea upon reading @Eybyoung's article about how she come up with her username. Anyway, mine would not just be about my username but also my real name. We all know that the name leaves a big impression on other people. Or was it just me? And some say that the name basically suits you according to your personality. Maybe not instantly, but as time goes by, your name will suit you perfectly.

When I was in kindergarten, my name was Madeline. That was the name given to me by my mother. And I love it. I don't know, but I feel so pretty with that name, lol! Some of my friends would call me Mady or Lyn. However, things changed when I entered elementary school. You know, they now require your birth certificate upon enrollment. And to my surprise, I became Melinda. My grandma told me that my father had it registered at our local city registrar and he mistakenly wrote Melinda instead of Madeline. I hate the name, actually, lol! Because it reminded me of Aleng Melinda, who is very nosy about other people's lives and she is nagpapataya ng jueteng in our barrio. And it sounds like a name for an old lady, lol! Well, that's what I thought at the time. I told my Lola that I was not going to use that name, but she said there was nothing we could do about it because it was already on the record. 

During my first week of school, I told my classmates that my name is Madeline, and whenever my teachers called me for recitation, I would not respond until they said "Madeline." I was so stubborn about my name at that time. And so my grandma was called to our school to talk about how stubborn I was. So, I had no other choice but to accept the fact that I am Melinda and not Madeline. Hehe! But my grandmother still called me Madeline when she was still alive. I could even remember her voice when she was calling me, "Madeline!" Hahaha!

Curious about the meaning of my name, I searched it on Names.org and here's what I got.

 

According to the site, Melinda means "sweet, honey." And so I love my name even more. Char! Hahaha!

Now, let's move on to my username. The first username that I used on these platforms was Damelindz. It was actually my stepbrother who gave me that name. He's the son of my stepmom to his first husband. And then my friends and neighbors started calling me that name as well, and I liked it. And so I've been using that name since then. I even created an account on Friendster. I don't know if you are familiar with that site, but it was popular in my era, lol! Did I just sound so old? hahaha

It was also my username when I joined Read.Cash a year ago. But because I was tagged as spam and was demonitized, I created other accounts, and my last was Pachuchay. I remember Jane asked me once why I used Pachuchay. My answer to her was that I think Pahuchay suits my personality very well. I was a happy, loud person and always had a story to tell, lol! And that's exactly how I am, so it perfectly suits me, hehe!

So I came to the conclusion that our names really reflect what our personalities are like. As for me, I am a loud and happy person. I love to talk a lot, and of course, I am a very passionate woman, so I guess both names, Melinda and Pachuchay, suit me.

How about you guys? Do you like your name and do you also think that it reflects the real you?

--

Date Published: February 20, 2022

All Photos are mine unless stated otherwise

18
$ 8.05
$ 7.64 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Eybyoung
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 12
Sponsors of Pachuchay
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Mas gusto ko na lang ung Pachuhay Mamsh haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha, same sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Natawa po ako sa Madeline na naging Melinda hahaha. Ikaw po pala yung damelinds na nakikita ko datii. Di ko po matandaan kung nakapag interact na tayong dalawa pero parang oo hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yup beh nakapag usap n tayo doon hehehe.. Lasing yata papa ko nun nagparegister ng bc ko eh hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh cool.. hehe ang ganda naman talagang pangalan ang madeline..hehe sarap sa tenga.hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga sis eh, at inis talaga ako sa Papa ko dati dahil jan, hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree that somehow our username is a reflection of our true selves..ganda na sana nung Madeline na name sayang namali pa hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

saka may magandang impression din sa atin yun, like kapag nakita yun username natin eh nacucurious ang tao sa personality natin

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo nga, our username is our brand name ika nga.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

truth, hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have had several names on the web, but in the end I was left with a combination of my first and last name

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh, I see.. so your real name is frank

$ 0.00
2 years ago

is half the name

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang cute kaya ng Pachuchay sis.hihi Relate much ako sa iba ang name ko nung elementary tapos nung nakuha na birt certificate ko, iba pala name ko.hahaha I think I'm going to make an article about that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahah, kaloka kasi bakit iba nasa bc eh noh, hehehehe

aabnagan ko yan sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang kulit mo pala ate hahaha. At bagay sayo yung Pachuchay hihi.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehehe, salamat beh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ngayon alam kona bakit pachuchay hehe, buti nalang di bigatla and marites lods haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha, okay naman ang name na Marites eh, ewan ko ba paano naassociate ang name na yun sa tsismosa

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, gawa-gawa mi lang yan lods, haha lenlen sana mas maganda na sa ngayon haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ang cute nga naman ng ate pachuchay ate lyn wahahhaha parang bagets lang. pero ang ganda pala sana talaga ng truename mo no ate? Madeline? Parang mary magdalene na pinagsama ba..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo nga eh, hahaha.. Sinisi ko talaga Papa ko noon😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

wahaahahaha bawi na lang ate next life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Akala ko naman madam nickname mo tlga ang pachuchay:) may pachuchay dito sa may amin Tiboli sya, pero ndi ko alam personality kasi ndi kami close🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi madam, lyn ang nickname ko, hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ehhhh, maganda nauna mong name madams sayang naman. Pero magands rin namsn ang Melinda at kapatid ng Marites ba yarn? Hahaha chorrr.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha, kaya nga madam eh maganda talaga. Kaya tagal ko talaga natanggap nu name na Melinda😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gusto ko sanang mag share about names kaso mga nicknames ko ang papangit, mas lalo na yung real name ko hahah peru gradually na aacept ko namn siya parang nasanay nang hahha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Parang ganun din sa akin, nasanay n lang, hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Actually when I first read your username, I thought you are bubbly and joyful person which is correct. I love Pachuchay's name btw. Haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe, thanks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Love ko name ko kaso naiinis ako sa mama ko di ko naman nickname yung tinatawag sakin imbento haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hay naku, ang Mama ko din ang tawag sa akin eh Pinga, hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love my name

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sakn wala meaning.. Kc name ko rin sya haha..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehehe, ako kasi ayoko talaga ganitin as username un name ko, kahit yun damelindz eh binaligtad ko pa, heh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A perfect name suits with your personality. It helps actually. For example, choosing this name helped me a lot. Impactful indeed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And I think it will also make your personality a bit mysterious. For example like how I got curious about your username I was like. Does he have a devilish personality or the other way around.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

di ko alam kung nag re reflect ba yung username ko sa personality ko😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo naman madam, nagreflect yun agiging mother at kpop fanatics mo, hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahha m real name is suited both gender. When I asked google my name means joy or joyful. Well I am not, I am moody actually. Aside from that it derived from a name of a clan in Scotland which means Holly garden. Hindi naman ako holly sis😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha, your real name ba or this username, napaisip tuloy ako kung ano name mo, hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha my real name sis. Wag mo na isipin

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maganda pala mga nicknames mo sis,like madeline nakakpretty nga namang yan,parang imported sounds.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahha, oo sis kaya bet ko talaga yun na name kasi iba ang nalista ng papa ko sa bc ko eh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Real name ko mommy ay Jennifer. Alam mo Naman Yun hahahaha. Diko bet Yun Kasi Ang common 🤣 Yung yen Naman ayun nga tawag sakin ng crush ko. Akala nya Kasi yen e Jen nga nickname ko. Tapos simula non ayon na ginamit ko haha. Pati mga katrabaho ko before yen tawag sakin

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Mas bet ko din ang Yen, hahaha.. Common nga ang jennifer

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh pachuchay has a bubly personality and for sure you are too. They are innocent but funny. I have friends who are nickname as pachuchay and they make me laugh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehehe, well that's what my friends told me, that I should always be with them because there is no dull moment when I'm with them..

$ 0.00
2 years ago