Types of Autoimmune Diseases

24 41
Avatar for Pachuchay
2 years ago
Topics: Health, Disease

Good day read-tizen! How's the 6th day of January for you? As for me, not getting any better. I still have a cough and cold and now headache as well. Last night I did not have a decent sleep because of my breathing issue. And also, I was afraid of the thought that I might not be able to wake up anymore, lol! Silly me.

Anyway, today is my daughter's birthday, she's now 19. No party or whatsoever because she knows very well about our financial situation and she understands. She told me that she can have a party next year instead. I am happy that my daughter is mature enough to understand everything that's going on in our family.

Okay, so let's move on to our topic, which is Kris Aquino and her fiance Mel Sarmiento's broke up. This is not the actual topic but has something to do with the topic(ano daw, lol!) Anyway, from what I have read in an article, one of the reasons was Kris' health condition.

Source

What really caught my attention was her having an autoimmune disease that caused her to lose weight drastically. She also stated that her autoimmune disease can only be treated but never cured.

So this leads me to think about what was her real condition or do we have the same autoimmune disease? Because she did not mention it in the said article. And so, I asked Uncle Google about the autoimmune diseases and this is what I've found....


There are 80 different autoimmune diseases but I will only include a few common autoimmune diseases in this article. But what is an autoimmune disease? An autoimmune disease is a condition in which your immune system mistakenly attacks your body. So imagine having one of these conditions, your immune system attacks your healthy cells hence, making you sick and vulnerable to other diseases.

Moving on with the types of autoimmune disease, the first one is;

  • Type 1 Diabetes

The pancreas produces the hormone insulin, which helps regulate blood sugar levels, but in Type 1 diabetes, the immune system attacks and destroys insulin-producing cells in the pancreas.

  • Rheumatoid arthritis (RA)

In rheumatoid arthritis, the immune system attacks the joints which causes redness, warmth, soreness, and stiffness in the joints.

  • Psoriasis/psoriatic arthritis

Skin cells normally grow and then shed when they’re no longer needed. Psoriasis causes skin cells to multiply too quickly. The extra cells build up and form inflamed red patches, commonly with silver-white scales of plaque on the skin.

  • Multiple sclerosis

Multiple sclerosis damages the myelin sheath, the protective coating that surrounds nerve cells, in your central nervous system. Damage to the myelin sheath slows the transmission speed of messages between your brain and spinal cord to and from the rest of your body.

  • Systemic Lupus erythematosus

Systemic lupus erythematosus affects many organs, including the joints, kidneys, brain, and heart.

  • Graves' disease

Graves' disease attacks the thyroid gland in the neck, causing it to produce too much of its hormones. Thyroid hormones control the body’s energy usage, known as metabolism. Having too much of these hormones revs up your body’s activities, causing symptoms like nervousness, a fast heartbeat, heat intolerance, and weight loss.

  • Myasthenia gravis

Myasthenia gravis affects nerve impulses that help the brain control the muscles. When the communication from nerves to muscles is impaired, signals can’t direct the muscles to contract. The most common symptom is muscle weakness that gets worse with activity and improves with rest. Often muscles that control eye movements, eyelid opening, swallowing, and facial movements are involved.

The early symptoms of many autoimmune diseases are very similar, such as:

  • fatigue

  • achy muscles

  • swelling and redness

  • low-grade fever

  • trouble concentrating

  • numbness and tingling in the hands and feet

  • hair loss

  • skin rashes

Researchers don’t know exactly what causes autoimmune diseases. Genetics, diet, infections, and exposure to chemicals might be involved.

Source: https://www.healthline.com/health/autoimmune-disorders#causes


So these are some of the autoimnune diseases. I never knew that type 1 diabetes and rheumatoid arthritis is also an autoimmune disease. These diseases can be treated but not cured. The only thing that the medicine can do is to help the patient deal with the symptoms. But some of these disease can be life treatening like lupus and myasthenia gravis. The cause of these diseases is still unknown so it is better for you to live healthy and to not abuse your body while you're still young. I am so unfortunate to have Myasthenia gravis, but I guess this is what I get from abusing my body in my younger years. I used to work 24/7. Sometimes 48 hour straight working days. I am also a drinker and a smoker before. So now, I reap what I sow.

So while you still can, practice healthy living. Please do mind your body. You are the wealthiest when you're healthy.

Date Published: January 6, 2022

Lead Image Source

11
$ 5.91
$ 5.55 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.11 from @fantagira
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 7
Sponsors of Pachuchay
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Pachuchay
2 years ago
Topics: Health, Disease

Comments

I can sympathize. I have had Ankylosing Spondylitis a severe type of Rheumatoid arthritis since I was 12. 24/7 pain blah blah but being positive helps, No Surrender!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm sorry to hear that Ed but yeah being positive helps...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yeah, have to be positive:) As my mother always said, no matter how much pain you are in there is always someone worse off than you, just be thankful you are alive. So that is what I do.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're the wealthiest when you are healthy.

This is so true madam. And as I watched Hometown Chachacha before, Shin Min-Ah said "The best gift parents can give to your children is to be healthy".

Pagaling ka madam. Pakatatag ka for your unica hija. ❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Salamat madam...I will kasi gusto ko na makita ko pa sya na maging successful sa buhay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kht yung Bell's Palsy ng friend ko. Autoimmune din pla yun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A few months ago , suddenly I started to feel joints pain even in my fingers joints , those pains were so unbearable and painful I can't even explain in words. So when I went for a check up I came to know that I'm suffering from Arthritis I & my family were really sucked at that time coz I was the first victim who was suffering from that decease after taking some medications and following some rules now I'm totally okay and I don't have any pain. I'm 20+ now and I have to be more careful towards my health and upcoming life.

I just wish all the victims can enjoy their life to the fullest without having any trouble.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You're so young to have an arthritis. I guess you have to change your eating habit and lifestyle sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're very true Sis, I'm suffering from Arthritis because of my lazy lifestyle and bad habit of eating lots of junk foods. Wishing you healthy and great health too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

wishing you good health too sis..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bigla tuloy ako kinabahan ate kasi feeling ko psoriasis itong nasa ulo ko na antagal na hindi nagaling. Anyways, sayang si Ms. Kris A... Diba iakkasal na lang dapat sana sila?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Magpacheck up ka beh para makasiguro ka....

Tama, pero mas okay na din un pagtuunan nya helth nya. Grabe binaba ng timbang nya eh..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

nako ate kaliwat kanan ng mga hospitals dito may covid so saka na. alam mo naman tayong mga pinoy kapag hindi pa malala eh di pa tayo magpapatingin..

oo nga sayang halatang nangayayat sya.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Coincidentally, the Kris up there Krisaquino almost sounds like my username kristofferquincy,...lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

She'sa famous celebrity in our cou try and alao the daughter of the former late President..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your article is really great u gave us information ☺️ well dear

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you Zain..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Welcome dear

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You just did an awesome work dear. Truly love this one. Well said.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Tahnk you for always supporting me MrDevil..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nabasa ko po na dahil daw sa imbalances sa bacteria ng tiyan natin or gut microbiome. I am studying this kind of topic ate pachuchay.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh I see, so that is maybe one of the reason pala.. As per my doctor kasi and from what i've read unknown pa daw ang cause nya..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have a mild seborrheic dermatitis po kung saan may pamamalat at pangangati mukha ko and sa nabasa ko, it is autoimmune din which can't be cured but only treated. Of course I feel very scared ate Pachuchay so I am praying that it won't get serious. I have emotional breakdown kasi this pandemic the reason why it happen. I will heal myself before pa mangyari ang face to face class. God help me 🙏🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama yan beh, pakatatag lang. Wala tayo ibang choice kundi magpakatatag lang..

$ 0.00
2 years ago