Rain OF Memories

32 38

I woke up this morning to the sound of pouring rain on our roof, with a slight thunder. I felt so cold, so I tucked myself under my blanket and tried going back to sleep. I think an hour later, I have awakened again. This time, it was my body clock that was telling me to get out of bed. So, with a heavy heart, I got out of bed and slowly walked like a zombie, dragging my feet. I went straight to the bathroom to do my thing. I was still half asleep and stayed there for like half an hour, lol! 

And then the meowing sound my cats made pulled me back to reality. I cleaned myself up, and when I opened the door, my cats were waiting for me, asking for food. They did not stop following me until I gave them food. Because of them, I feel like I have a dozen kids. When I checked the time, it was already 6:30 in the morning, which gave me time to prepare our breakfast. Usually, it is my husband who makes breakfast, but I know that he was tired from his work yesterday, so I let him sleep a little longer. But as I was about to start cooking, he was up and taking our dogs out for a walk. That was his daily routine: a morning walk with his dogs. 

As they head out, I continue what I started. This morning I prepared a heavy breakfast: garlic rice, sunny-side-up eggs, and hotdogs. Usually, we prefer bread and coffee for breakfast but since there was some leftover rice last night, I decided to cook it before it get spoiled. So right after I was done, my husband and the dogs were home, so I told him to wash his hands because we would have our breakfast. 

Source

The rain started pouring again. My husband cleaned the table after we ate, and I told him that I had to play Pegaxy, so he told me to go outside because he was going to clean our house. While I was playing, I suddenly felt sad, down, or whatever feeling that I felt this morning, and the rain had something to do with it. I don't know why I feel so down when it rains. Do you feel that way too? It was as if the rain became a time machine that brought me back to a past that I didn't want to be in. From my happy childhood memories to the not-so-good memories, makes me feel nostalgic.

The first thing that I remember when it rains is the death of my grandmother. It was the rainy season when she died, and I remember cleaning the first floor of our house because it got flooded due to heavy rains at that time. I was cleaning it the night before she died, and it got me thinking that maybe I was fated to clean that night to prepare for her burial the next day. So I was like, if only I had not cleaned that night, maybe she would not have died. And I blamed myself for that. Then my Tita, the most supladita, added fuel to the fire by saying that it was my fault that my Lola died because I was hardheaded and would not listen to her. So I was thinking, maybe it was my fault.

Until now, I was still blaming myself, although not in the same way as before, the guilt is still there. But I know that my Lola, who is now in the hand of our creator, feels no pain and only happiness. I know that she knows that I love her. 


Date Published: April 7, 2022

Lead Image Source

18
$ 5.68
$ 5.32 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 10
Sponsors of Pachuchay
empty
empty
empty

Comments

O my God!seems like you are my sister from another mother. I feel like the way our imagination and mental state coincides can’t be out of nothing. You must visit my article THE GOOD OLD DAYS.. you will see then what I am talking about. The way you stated your nostalgic condition and while I was reading that, I felt like It was written either by me or about me! I am sure sister you will feel the same way after reading my article I mentioned above.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kahit sa mismong pamilya may contrabida pa rin talaga e no? hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di nawawala yan hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Medyo di ko gusto yung sinabi ng tita mo sis, pero Don't blame yourself dahil sa pagkawala ng Lola mo, sure ako na Masaya na Siya Ngayon kasama ni God.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

naku that time wala ako nagawa kasi feeling ko din talaga eh kasalanan ko kaya di na ako nakaimik at dinibdib koi na lang

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Don't think it that was your fault my friend. GOD wanted to take her heaven so HE did. There is not your fault. Rain sometimes make me happy sometimes sad.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

you're words are very comforting, thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The rain sure brings many memories. I miss rainy days. Sorry to hear about your grandma.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Things are meant to happen . hndi mp dapat sisihin self mo te..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks Jane..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Minsan my kagandahan din Ang ulan pero Kung lagi na nkkatkot din Kasi sa sobra sobra na bnubuhos bka babha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako ndi naman masyado madam, nakakainip lng kapqg maulan taz unh wla na kayong stock ng kutkutin, ang ending boredom

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naku sinabi mo pa, kain tulog lang ang masarap gawin kapag maulan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just today the rain began to absent little yet comes unexpectedly hehe, we were experiencing rain here started last Monday where we were expecting summer but seems like the opposite comes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's because there's a LPA that causes the rain

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang cutir nyo lang na mag asawa kayo madams haha tulungan talaga no 😍. Pero same kapag sa umuulan. Lakas makapang emote ng ulan talaga ee.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Korek madam, lakas makaemote, hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes i am hapoy because its raining but mostly I feel lonely because of something remains me of the rain.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess we all do sis..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakakainis nga minsan eh kung san umulan eh maaga akong nagogisimg pero kung walang ulan parang ang sarap pa itulog haha...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Akala ko sis dito lang sa amin naulan ,pati pala dyan😄Ingat kayu and magandang gabi.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naku sis gang ngayon eh naulan pa

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In every rains it allow us to remember our past. Sometimes it's emotional and sometimes it's ridiculous. We have to accept that those are reality so, we should affected to our past. I know it really hurts I know that feeling especially when someone left.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have accepted it already but the feeling of it still remains..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm so sorry you got reminded of all that and whenever it rains, the general mood is gloomy and thus I believe it kinda changes the mood too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly sis..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe naman yun. Hindi ko alam kung bakit ganun matatanda talaga dati, hindi nila alam kung ano yung emotional damage na nagagawa ng mga ganyang salita. Haaaay, anyway ako dn gloomy ang feeling kapag maulan. Epekto ng Ondoy dn, actually the other day maulan buong araw ts nappraning na nman ako.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Isa pala kayo sa napinsala ni Ondoy noon sis? Grabe ang baha noon eh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gang tuhod lang naman inabot samen pero ksi yu g subdvision namin never pa binaha nung ondoy lang kaya yung panic kapag umuulan parang andito pa dn

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Be careful jan sis, and the taste of eggs, and hotdog sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago