I'm Dreaming of A White Christmas

23 55
Avatar for Pachuchay
2 years ago

I'm dreaming of a white Christmas
Just like the ones I used to know
Where the tree tops glisten
And children listen
To hear sleigh bells in the snow, oh, the snow

Source

I always hear this song playing in our neighborhood when I was a kid. They have this big karaoke and each day, they would play songs very loud as if they had no neighbors. But we're already used to it. And besides, they're a good neighbor but quite annoying sometimes.

I live in a country where there is snow or winter. What we have here is summer throughout the year, lol! So it's been my dream to experience white Christmas since I was a kid. Blame it all to Kevin of Home Alone, lol! I remember watching it at our neighbor's house because we have no television set back then. We have to pay 2 pesos just to watch a movie. That was our cinema at that time. They will play the movie on the Betamax player.

That is when how it started. I wanted to experience a Christmas with snow. To experience wearing winter clothes and winter boots while making a snowman and having a snow fight with kids the same age as me. That was also the reason why I tried so hard to learn ice skating so that if ever it will snow in the Philippines, I will be the first kid to do ice skating, what a silly imagination, right? Hahaha. My sisters and I practice skating by pouring a powder on our floor and then we would wear socks and just glide on the floor, hahaha! Then to complete the winter effect, we would collect styrofoam and make fake snow out of it. We would break it into small pieces and throw it up in the air as if it is real snow. Then we giggled and laughed as hard as we could. Then at the end, our grandma scolded us for the mess that we make.

Those were the days, my childhood memories associated with the obsession of a white Christmas. In my teenage years, I even planned on going to America, lol! Planned in a way that I looked for a "pen pal", I dunno if you guys are familiar with the word. But it was so popular at that time. There was even a section in a newspaper where you can find names with addresses and phone numbers looking for pen pals.

https://images.app.goo.gl/bKG3ArZqsc7XT6Tm8

I think I was 12 or 13 years old when I wrote a letter to someone from California. I got his name in a newspaper. It says there that he was 24 years old and looking for a Filipina pen pal. I don't know why I wrote and send the letter. I asked my grandma for money for the fee, hahaha!

Then I waited for weeks, months but I got no reply. I even told the postman to hand me the letter personally if I got one because my family didn't know that I wrote a letter to a random guy from the US of A, hahaha! Unfortunately, no response from the guy. Maybe he got scared because I stated there that I was only 13 and desperately wanted to see the snow, hahaha!

I felt sad. The feeling of being rejected was awful. But to console me, I just think that maybe he did not receive my letter. That maybe he transferred to a different place before my letter arrived.

Such a silly kid I was. Every time I would remember that, I just laughed how silly I am. But it is still a secret to my family. Even my husband didn't know about it.

And now, I still wanted to experience white Christmas. I always told my daughter about it and she said that she would take me to a country where there is winter. It doesn't necessarily have to be USA. So I told her to take me to South Korea instead....


This is my entry to the #ChristmasChallenge2021 hosted by @TengoLoTodo. I don't know if this can qualify for the challenge but I'll just leave it to our host to decide. And below is the required photo.

I made this last week when we went to the beach. My husband helped me collect the shells and he was the one who arranged it. I made two so I will also attach the second photo, lol!


For those who are up for the challenge, here are the requirements to qualify:

  • Submit an entry with the theme A Christmas Story

  • Mention the tag #ChristmasChallenge2021

  • Mention  @TengoLoTodo

  • The article needs to be in English and at least 600 words in length

  • Has to be your own words and original content

  • Needs to have a picture of the Special Requirement READ somewhere in the article.

  • No more entries after December 23rd will be eligible for prizes.

To know more about the challenge, just click here.

Date Published: December 19, 2021

All photos are mine unless stated otherwise

15
$ 10.64
$ 10.18 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Codename_Chikakiku
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 9
Sponsors of Pachuchay
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Pachuchay
2 years ago

Comments

I hope you can see snow one day, whether it is in South Korea or The States! Merry Christmas and thank you for entering #ChristmasChallenge2021 I loved the pictures, very clever with the clicking of the fingers :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry for the late reply, as you know after the update, we can't access the site. But of course we akways find ways..

Thank you, boping for the win! Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That’s really cool picture. Sea shells. Best of luck dear for the contest.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Madam naman ee bat kasi sinabi mong gusto mo makakita ng snow hahaha saka 13 kalang mamya maakusahan pa ng cradle snatcher un ahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ewan ko ba madams, hahah.. Tapos ang english ko nun eh english karabaw pa hahahaah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang ganda talaga ng sand sa beach nyo ateng..pinong pino..sa amin kasi sa Mindoro, mabato..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo sis kaya masarap maglakad ng nakayapak jan..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awww.... I pray soon your wish to have a snowy Christmas fulfilled and you got enough money to visit any country where you can find winter.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, how I wish that time will come sis. Thank you..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the read's photo te 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you Jane...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kevin of home alone !! You just brought back memories... As kids we never got tired of that movie! I think I have also heard of pen pals too but never got to know how it was arranged.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is one of my favorite movies of all time. We always have a good laugh every time we watch it. I even have a copy of it in my laptop.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm OK to celebrate Xmas here on Philippines since once I went to other country which had negative degrees temperature then I'll immediately get frozen in an instant hahaha. Anyway, I know can still achieve it since it's not that late, you can Sav emotes here on read.cash then visit America or South Korea during their winter days.❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, I will emote emote lang muna here, hahaha.. Naku baka manigas din nga ako dun kaya i make sure na triple un suot ko kapag pupunta ako dun😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's a really beautiful photo design

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks Talon! ❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope you would get to visit the us or south Korea someday to have a white Christmas

$ 0.00
2 years ago

By God's grace, i hope I could. It is one of my greatest dream actually..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Afam pala Ang bet mommy hehe

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Naku as in talaga dati,hahaha

Buti nga nakamove on ako dati sa Afam eh, hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Buti Dimo pinush mommy haha

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Buti nga talaga,hahaha. Usong uso kasi dati yun noon. Buti nadivert sa ibang bagay ang isip ko,hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago