When I Was A Kid : Elementary Experiences

6 65
Avatar for PH.BCH
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Life story, Story

When I was in first grade and went to school, my allowance was only 5 pesos because food in the country was not as expensive as it is now. I was in a public school, and our school was open all day from 6 a.m. to 4 p.m. We went home for lunch at noon and returned to school at 1 p.m.

On the way home from school, my cousin and friends from our barangay are always with us.

When we came home, our grandma would always prepare veggies for us to eat. We leave the house as soon as we finish eating and return to school because we can't be late for class because the school gate closes at 1:30; we simply walk to school because it's so close to our house.

We can be there in 4 minutes if we walk, and in 2 minutes if we ride. Every time our next lesson has no class, we play chasing, a game we always play in our leisure time.

if you have 20 people, you'll be divided into groups of two to help you run the bet, because the space is too large for us to be caught immediately.

Your ally can take you when you're caught by someone else, but he or she must hold you by the hand in which you were placed.

Your members can run immediately away if they are caught by someone who hasn't caught you, but it wasn't that easy because there were people watching when you were caught. This is how we spent most of the time till I finished primary school.

When we arrive home, our grandmother will scold us because our clothes are very dirty and our bodies are sweaty; yet, as we are dressed outside, we will instantly play Patentero.

In this game, you must bring out your opponent on the line so that he is out; you simply do so with the bets until you can travel to the other lane and return to where your group enters; when you do so, you have 1 Life; you can use 1 Life when you bet, and the player continues to bet.

We used to always play it, but now that we are older, we are no longer close to my old pals. Before, we were welcomed to bathe in the river here with us because there is a river nearby, and we were permitted to bathe in the river because the water is very clean and the river is quite low.

When I was in high school, our school had a billiards game, and I was one of the players; however, billiards was removed from schools in our area after a while, so I tried out for basketball; our school has a sports center, but it is open to the public; I joined basketball because I'm tall and know how to play basketball.

Other schools are our opponents; they occasionally win and occasionally lose. I was once hurt while playing because I was one of the team's rebounders. When I fell on one leg, I didn't step on it straight, and because I didn't want to go to the hospital, I went home right away because my grandmother knew how to massage the lame.

When my foot was squeezed, it was quite painful since it swelled, but it healed within a week.

I didn't play basketball again when my foot healed because I was terrified it would happen again, so I mainly focused on studying and because my grandma wouldn't let me.

Sponsors of PH.BCH
empty
empty
empty

That's all for today, and I haven't had much time to write an article in the last few days because I've been studying cryptocurrencies.

14
$ 2.78
$ 1.93 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @Charmy
$ 0.15 from @Omar
+ 3
Sponsors of PH.BCH
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for PH.BCH
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Life story, Story

Comments

When I was in elementary, my baon is only food like kakanin, sometimes my father give me peso? but, 1 peso back then was like 5 peso now. Marami ka mabibili sa halagang yun, Sayang no dika nag pursue basketball? Because if I'm just tall like you? I guess, malayu na narating ko sa basketball, isa kase yan sa mga pangarap ko but, not to brag this talent of mine. I can play basketball even my Height is only 5foot3. Small but terrible kung isipin, I can jump high also, when the rim is only 10feet High? I guess I can dunk it those time. hehe peru ngayun? huminto nako kakalaro, marami ng matatangkad at magagaling mas bata malakas katawan haha diko na pinipilit sarili ko sa pangarap ko.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe, too bad for your injury but who knows what would have happened if you continued playing, maybe it would have gotten worse!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I didn't really get to have fun during my elementary school days. I've always been melancholy and had this really weird personality. So it was really difficult for me to relate with anyone. I guess I missed out on a lot of fun. Is it too late?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha malaki na para sakin noon ang limang peso. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I miss playing patintero too! During my highschool days, in our P.E. class they taught us how to score this game. Believe it or not, it has a scoring system. Gulat dn kami and our batch ended up playing patintero during lunch, breaks, lalo na kapag end of the year na magpapaclearance na lang.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ouch sakit naman po nun masqueezed and paa huhu. I can only imagine po :(

$ 0.00
2 years ago