Living with Benign Paroxysmal Positional Vertigo (BPPV)

51 31
Avatar for OverThinker
3 years ago

Hello Everyone! I would like to share to you my experience living with Benign Paroxysmal Positional Vertigo (BPPV). For those who have this disorder, read the article further for I included some helpful information that might help you during sudden attacks. Hope this article could help you.

What is dizziness?

Dizziness can range from fleeting faintness to a severe balance disorder that makes normal functioning impossible. In simple terms a it is sensation of spinning around and losing one's balance.

Dizziness is one of the symptoms of vertigo. “It used to be that dizziness was the umbrella term and vertigo fit underneath it,” explains audiologist Julie Honaker, PhD. “But now we’re finding that dizziness is very separate from vertigo.”

Dizziness is an altered sense of spatial orientation, a distortion of where we are within a space and like your balance just feels off. Vertigo, on the other hand, is truly the sensation of self-movement or the movement of your surroundings – it’s a spinning sensation.

When I was a child, I used to have this dizziness attacks. It's bothersome because it is uncontrollable. Sometimes, I'll just wake up seeing the room spinning and afterwards I'll start vomiting. The spinning lasts for less than a minute and give me nausea afterwards. I hid this to my parents even though it's really hard. It was difficult hiding especially on times that we'll eat breakfast together. I pretend I was fine but deep inside I want to run towards the bathroom to vomit. There are also times I went to school feeling nauseous and unsteady.

Several years have passed, I haven't been experiencing sudden dizziness and I thought that it is gone for good. But recently as I entered college, I started to feel the sudden attacks. It was June 2019 when I was confined in a hospital because the attacks are starting to be unbearable. The spinning sensation and vomiting lasted for two days. That is when I was diagnosed with Benign Paroxysmal Positional Vertigo (BPPV).

(This photo was taken when I was confined in Leon Hernandez Hospital)

Benign paroxysmal positional vertigo (BPPV) is considered the most common peripheral vestibular disorder.It is a disorder arising from a problem in the inner ear. Symptoms are repeated, brief periods of vertigo with movement, that is, of a spinning sensation upon changes in the position of the head. This can occur with turning in bed or changing position. Each episode of vertigo typically lasts less than one minute. Nausea is commonly associated. BPPV is one of the most common causes of vertigo.

BPPV is not a serious condition but can result from a head injury or simply occur among those who are older. A specific cause is often not found. The underlying mechanism involves a small calcified otolith moving around loose in the inner ear. It is a type of balance disorder along with labyrinthitis and Ménière's disease. Diagnosis is typically made when the Dix–Hallpike test results in nystagmus (a specific movement pattern of the eyes) and other possible causes have been ruled out. In typical cases, medical imaging is not needed.

BPPV is often treated with a number of simple movements such as the Epley maneuver or Brandt–Daroff exercises. Medications may be used to help with nausea. There is tentative evidence that betahistine may help with vertigo but its use is not generally needed.

I have been dealing with dizziness for years now. As I get older, dizziness and vertigo has become a part of my regular life. I tried pills, but pills are only temporary.

What can you do when BPPV attacks return?

If you wake up with positional vertigo, try the following steps:

  • Slowly move into the good-ear-down position and wait for a minute.

  • Next, slowly move into a face-down position and slide to the foot of the bed.

  • Keep your head down until you reach the end of the bed and are kneeling or standing on the floor.

  • Slowly bring your head backward into an upright position. (Hold on to the bed at all times.)

Another method is to sit toward the foot of the bed, leaving enough room to lay back with your head resting comfortably at the end of the bed, slightly extended. Be careful not to overextend your neck, as this may aggravate existing neck problems. If your symptoms are severe, you may need assistance to complete the maneuver.

Without treatment, the symptoms of BPPV may persist. However, with time (usually within 6 weeks), the otoconia dissolve on their own. Until then, the number and severity of episodes may be reduced simply by paying careful attention to head position. In addition, anti-motion sickness drugs can control nausea.

However, before drugs are taken, it is usually best to try the particle repositioning procedure first. It is a very safe and rapid way to relieve symptoms and reduce the chance for falls. Medications should not be taken for a long period of time.

How to avoid balance problems

One of the best things you can do for your balance system is to take care of yourself. This means being active, eating well and annually seeing your physician to make sure everything is in check. You want to make sure your body is working in its prime, which can ward off symptoms of dizziness and vertigo.

“We don’t start to appreciate decline until we notice changes, like symptoms of vertigo or problems with our ability to walk or not feeling as steady as we used to,” says Dr. Honaker. “That’s when we start to notice things going awry. For preventative measures, the best thing to do is maintain good health.”

“Vertigo can be very debilitating,” says Dr. Honaker.

“It can bring on other symptoms of imbalance too. I think the scariest thing is the fact that it comes on so abruptly. Even though it’s very short, it’s a very, very strong response.”

Our balance system is our sixth sense and sometimes we don’t fully appreciate it until something goes wrong with it.

References:

https://my.clevelandclinic.org/health/diseases/11858-benign-paroxysmal-positional-vertigo-bppv/living-with

https://health.clevelandclinic.org/are-vertigo-and-dizziness-the-same-thing/

I'm also glad to join "Get Sponsored !!" community.

The idea of community is to sponsor quality content creators & reward community members for their activities.

Join if you want to "Get Sponsored !!"

Thank you @Ashma for the continuous support! I am motivated to write more under your support💕

I would also like to thank my sponsors @dexter , @Jesus@scottcbusiness  , @thesatoshistore  , @cryptoworld and @Shitcoincharter  for supporting my articles. 💕

Please don't hesitate to drop a comment down below your thoughts regarding this article. Lovelots!

9
$ 0.03
$ 0.02 from @Yachi
$ 0.01 from @Jesus
Sponsors of OverThinker
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for OverThinker
3 years ago

Comments

I haven't experienced this. But this might be beneficial to those who encounter this. Very informative.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you very much! I just wanted to spread awareness specially to those who might be experiencing same situation as mine😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I remembered one time when I experienced this. The world was spinning and I lost balance. I felt nausea, vomited, and nosebleeding.

Turns out it was an initial diagnosis of my astigmatism.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's sad. You're symptoms are severe, it's kinda alarming. I'm praying for your health😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It was addressed when I got my prescribed eyeglasses though. I have never had vertigo from then on. 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I see. That's good to know. But still, be aware of your body. This disorder is kinda tricky, it'll make you believe that you're already fine but then will suddenly appear.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's why I'm conscious with my health too. It really bothers me when I get dizzy. Probably because of my eyes that gets worse 🥺

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes. Eye problem is one of the causes of dizziness. Better take care of your eyes

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I should. It's really hard having such a bad vision 💔

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes. I also got prescribed glasses after leaving the hospital.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What's your eye grade then?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I got a hundred and fifty. You?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I got 175-150 💔

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ouch. That's a high grade. You use contact lenses?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nope, I have my eyeglasses attached to me all day 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Reading this article makes me uneasy. I'm really sorry for not being of any help whenever you had your attacks. This article made me understand of how terrible this feeling you could have felt. I have to commend you for sharing this to everyone. Thank you for spreading awareness to all of us!

I'm praying for your good health and all the best that you deserve! Fighting bayi, See you soon(est).

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Awwee. That's not true. You we're there when I need someone to buy me medicine hahaahahah. I really appreciate that. Sorry to be a bother everytime I'm having this weird brain disorder attacks hahahhahaha. Itapon ko na si brain para walang problema hahahaha. Thank you as well, see you soonest

$ 0.00
3 years ago

and don't hide it from us if you're having your attacks, it makes us worry more you know. PLUS don't you ever do it again! I mean choosing to save your money for a movie rather than buying your meds grr

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Roger that madammmm hahahahha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Siguraduhin mo hahahahha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Opooooo. Para kay tsukki hahahaha. Mag aalala din kasi yun😂 charot hahahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

hahahahha para kay Nishinoya uwu

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Comment comment lang para sa ating mga luho hahahahaha. Mabibili ko din yung unan ni tsukki, kaya doble kayod hahahahahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Di talaga naga update yung points sakin. Simula pa kaninang umaga. Mejo asar na

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ako din simula kahapon pa tae yan. Anong kayang problema? Usually kasi naga abot man ng 200+ an points ko ngayon sobrang tumal

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Buti ka nga nag hundreds na, I mean I've spent almost a day sa RC, but di pa din nagalaw.. 16.9 pa din. I've published multiple articles already, commented and stuff but ughh seeing my points frustrates me but yeahh i just try to enjoy this platform

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yasss. Nakaka frustrate hahahahaha. Pero okay na yan. Atleast naga enjoy ka man. You'll never know after a month or two lumago tayo dito hahahahaah

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahahaha nung una hesitant pa ko nag post, pero now gora na langg hahahahhaa

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yess. Let's rock this platform. Di naman ako kilala ng mga tao dito. Bilang lang hahahahahaha. English english sa mga porener hahahahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha amo kakamiss nga mag english hahahahah

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Trueeeeeee. Pero minsan tiga english english ko pa magkandugo dugo na ilong ko pinoy man palan. "Oh you a pinoy?" "Yes" "tol dapat kanina mo pa sinabi hahahahha stap da english act" ganern

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahahahah amo minsan nakakapagod magpara english kina pinoy man sana

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Pero amazing din kasi may nakakausap ako mga kapwa enjinir hahahahahha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Same hahahaha magugulat ka nalang engr palaa hahahhaha ang unexpecteddd

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Pero kahit anong usap di pa rin magiging totoong tao si tsukki hahahahhaa😂 okay tsukki nanaman si kaye

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahahaha ang di ko malilimutan sa Naruto si Shikamaru ahhh ang talino kasi kinaa ugh ewan ko siya talaga first crush kong anime character uwuu

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Same nanaman kayo ni catay hahahahahaa. Si sai man ang bet ko sa naruto hahahahaha. His personality is one of a kind hahahahah

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Really? Wahhh kinikilig ako malaman lang na same kami ng hinahangaan hahahahha and Sai is really like you kaya siguro gusto mo siya hahahaha ewan ko lang kung mag kaintindihan kayo hahahahah

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Lol. Anlayo man ng personality ko kay sai hahahahaha. Pero ewan ko ba, someway somehow I do understand he's level or way of thinking kaya nahook ako sa personality nya hahahahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahahahaha natatawa pa din ako pag naalala ko si sai hanep ang epic kasi niya hahahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Trueeee. Taeng ka epican yan hahahahba. I kinda felt sorry for him kasi lagi sya inaano nila naruto hahahahhaa. Btw, umuusad na an points check mo hahhahha. Kaso di pa din super bilis tulad nung nauna

$ 0.00
3 years ago

May tanong pala ako, pano oag two devices ang gamit, yung points ba same tas wallet lang mag kaiba?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Amo ata hahahahhahsha. Di ko man din super alam kung pano magawork an maraming wallets hahhahahaa

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahahahaha sige check ko kung gumalaw na

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Now i know why youre always experiencing that. Enlighten us more when we meet. Thank you for sharing this. Keep it up!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahahahhaa. Sorry, I just don't want all of you to worry that's why I kept silent. Don't worry, we'll try catch up regarding din matter soonest. Hahahahha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We'll be more worried and guilty because weve done nothing while your suffering in such pain

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Worry no more dear😊 I'll be more open to you guys as soon as me meet each other again💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That would be great! I'll anticipate for that

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I remembered the time when you mentioned this to me. i thought it's just a simple dizziness you're experiencing from time to time since it's the first time i heard of that kind of illness. I don't know that it is this serious. Huhu 😢 Please take care of yourself and don't forget to check your health status from time to time. I commend you for being so strong everytime you're experiencing attacks. Be healthy paps. 🙏 Thank you for making this article. It is important for us to be aware of these kind of things.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Awweee. Thank you very much for the concern😊 Yes, don't worry coz atleast I already know what I'll do when it happened again. I've been dealing it for years and it's just starting to be a part of my normal life. It's kinda bothersome but it's not that super serious (unless I'd bump my head somewhere while I'm off balance hahahahaha). Thank you very much for commending. I'm happy to have supportive friends loke you💕💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago