Permit Me: My Rant.

43 87
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

Okay, I am not talking about relationships today hahaha and I am just a little bit pissed with how we are being taken for a fool in this country. I think they know that anything sells and they would just go about anything here. I am not even talking about the government but investors and most notably how even some Nigerians lack creativity. It's an insult to everyone's intelligence if they feel we won't be bothered by it.

Image Source.

There is a need for us to put our best foot forward because we are not representing just our brand but the country. It is easier to give your best when you think this way. We need to see beyond what we are offering and look at the bigger picture. I was impressed when I read about Apple and they said they don't sell phones as most people think but they are making lives easier for others. It's simple and they hit the point home to perfection. I love when people think this way and it breaks my heart to see most people do a rush job and they can't even do a proper advert to entice people to patronize them.

Packaging is everything especially when you are into goods and services. We have different kinds of buyers and I learnt that in my study of Economics as an Economist. Some buy on impulse too as well as those who get attracted by what they see and decided to see how the product is. That's how the market moves too. You need something to attract your target audience.

I have watched a lot of adverts here in Nigeria and I must say that I am always disappointed most of the time. It's shocking to see the kind of content we put out there and it doesn't speak well of us as a country because when more established countries see it, I doubt they would think of us as intelligent.

I have lost count of the adverts I have seen! Honeywell noodles, Munch It, Minimi (however it is called) and so many others that I didn't even register in my head because they are absolutely nonsense and mentally torturing. As I said, it is an insult to intelligence and to think of how much they spent on these adverts then you have to question their standards. We are used to just throwing things out there and hoping for the best and it's not the way it should be. Of course, I know they have their customers and that's fine and we have those who would choose a brand by advert just as we have those who are not bothered by the advert and would still choose them anyway. My argument is on the kind of quality we put out there which doesn't look so good on us as a country.

Image Source.

I watched a Coca Cola advert many years ago and it's still fresh in my head. They perfectly created a wonderful memory in my head. They had Polar Bears everywhere and they had a lot of Coca Cola to celebrate with but they couldn't open the bottles. I was impressed by what they did... They carried themselves until they reached the half-moon and took the half-moon from the sky. They passed it down, used the edge to open all the Coke and then perfectly returned it to where they picked it. I found that creative even though it is impossible. It's the power of imagination for me and that's what I expect in any advert I see. It's the standard I have used to judge every advert that I see ever since I saw that advert more than 15 years ago.

Another one like it that I liked back then was very touching for me. I think I watched that about the same time over 15 years ago as well. There was this male dog "dating" this female dog. The male dog went in search of bone for her and while he was gone, the female dog was already making out with another male dog. He came back with the bone between his teeth and saw them. With shock, the bone fell off from his mouth and the other female dog saw him and stopped making out with the other male dog.

The boyfriend dog ran away and got to the express. He closed his eyes and still imagined the scene he saw some minutes ago, seeing another male dog on his girlfriend. He opened his eyes, saw a car coming on the express and closed his eyes while he jumped. Immediately, the car came to a halt despite coming with so much speed and there, they said, Pirelli Tyres... We save lives. Now, look at that for an advert. A whole bunch of lessons to pick out from an advert using cool dogs.

I like adverts that can challenge my intelligence, push me to think outside the box and I am not saying we don't have here at all, we do but we have most of them being terrible. A notable one I would say that I love and I've been raving about it is Airtel Mobile Network. I sincerely salute the guys behind their adverts. They have been producing amazing content for everyone and now most companies are trying to model their advert just how Airtel would do it.

Image Source.

This drop in standards I've been saying can even be seen in some of our movies. Call me unpatriotic but I would rather be unpatriotic than watch a movie that would get me angry and be filled with regrets afterwards. I select my movies and if the movie is not a comedy movie which I wouldn't expect anything reasonable from, then it must be Kunle Afolayan or Tunde Kelani's movies or any movie that comes highly recommended because most people around me knows I am a movie critic... I don't like sloppiness. It's okay to make mistakes but don't make that a standard or an excuse to dish out contents that insults the intelligence of your viewers.

How can you say someone died and that person resurfaced which is fine and now that ghost wanted to cross the road and had to be watching out for cars? Do they understand what being a ghost means? There are effects to this that can be used but most people just want to produce something and it's all about the money. I understand the issue with piracy but that's a global issue and still, Kunle Afolayan, despite this growing concern about piracy, is always giving out the best and to me, that's quality and should be the standard just as we have seen with Kemi Adetiba as well.

Okay... I've rented enough and this is just my view which of course is subject to being challenged as well.

How would you rate the movies and adverts in your country?

Thank you for your time.

Kindly follow me on Noise.Cash... I am trying to engage more with people and connect with everyone with this account. I look forward to seeing you there... You can say hello to me there so we can get familiarized as well. Click here.

23
$ 10.62
$ 9.86 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
+ 17
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

Comments

Its very refreshing and easy to remember a product when the advertising speaks to you. I still remember lots of ads with wonderful songs till now even when said products are no longer in existence. I find my self singing those songs and asking where those products have gone.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's the power of adverts designed to appeal to your mind not what we have these days.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wait, you said Airtel network. Is that there too?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Of course, we have it here too. Where are you from?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

well if you ask me, It is very difficult to live with smart people, and it is similar to making someone applaud you till you are above their expectations. You are very true it is the creativity and imagination that make you feel happy and I have gone through a few articles of yours, they were all speaking the same lines as this one did. Loved your articles as always. You are a person with a creative mind.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I really appreciate your kind words and thanks a lot for this. Yes, I like it when we allow our imaginations go wild... Thinking outside the box.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I have read your articles you have very sharp observations and high imagination skills. i am a fan of yours.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am humbled. Thank you so much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm sorry but I can't relate,, because I'm not fun watching movies or etc., I do love reading,

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's perfectly fine... But you must have seen adverts too?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah maybe,, some other time,, thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ€£πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahaha 😝

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So far so good but whats really funny is a commercial that is out of nowhere hahhaa

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha which one have you seen?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Some advertisements are good and some are not, I mean very far from realistic and their products quality πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ but I don't really pay attention to ads lol

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You can't help but to pay attention to them here because when you are watching your favourite program, they pop up on TV and then mess the whole mood up πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

my friend you we're right, how can a ghost watch out for the car?..as we all know ghost can just come and go, so why does the Advert shows that way..hahahhaha i found that funny, how can they don't realize it? Luckily i didn't have any time to watch t.v now.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha I was shocked too, my friend. Yet they have editors and still they couldn't think critically. It's disappointing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was actually looking forward to you writing about the new airtel advert, they nailed it.

Advertisement is part of the brand name of selling itself, do you remember the old indomie noodle adverts too. Well, I think they just put things out there for doing sake. I worked with Mcpl and their advert is wack yet they spend millions on it.

I really don't have time to watch their movies because it is usually the same piece, no suspense, no twist. As from the Ogunde then and the Afolayan , Atiba, and a few others, creativity wouldn't exist in the Yoruba movie industry.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You get it, bro... They spend millions and yet they do rubbish. It would always make me question their standards.

Absolutely... Yoruba movies are worse... No suspense and it's always predictable. I already know how the ending would be...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Advertisement is important to all products and companies should create adverts what is connected to what their product or service is. They should be creative so that people will remember their brands.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, it's about the creativity for me...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In our country, what's in now are interesting adverts, those really weird ones.. I think inspired from Thai commercials. You may wanna try to look for "weird Thailand commercials" and you'll know what I mean. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha I will definitely look this up.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can't relate to this coz I haven't watched those ads πŸ˜… However, I love the coca-cola Christmas ads before with santa clause, lol. . But it's been a long time since I've watched TV. So I don't know what are the ads right now.. lol.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahahaha... I can understand and I am always angry with the sub standards they put out there yet they spend millions on it. Don't they vet it? Critic it? I don't understand what they are doing really. They just push stuff out there... It's annoying.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There is a drop in standard. I can remember sky bank, Mtn, indomie advert back in 2006. The scenes and songs still play in my head till date. But now it's all about the beautiful models used in the advert, no message at all.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

They don't have any message at all and it's disappointing how the standards dropped over the years.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I always love kemi atiba movie because she is the best writer I have ever known As well as kunle afolayan movies too

$ 0.02
2 years ago

They are representing Nigeria well... As for others enh... Ka sha madupe πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wait o! I have seen an advert of Airtel too about a king who ordered a man to stop the rain but couldn't even though the man keeps bragging about his power and ability to stop the rain. I still couldn't comprehend what Airtel has to do with itπŸ™„

Some adverts they will do and won't even collide with the original stuff they are advertising.

I believe if you are trying to advertise something, make it creative and wow the customers too.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha I actually like that one to be honest... The message was simple in a funny way... Even the one they did with the Gym... Love that one too.

It's about thinking outside the box and stretching out imaginations but sadly most adverts don't...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmm, Okay oo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🀣🀣🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

People need to be creative, good adverts are worth their weight in gold as people remember and will buy.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's it... Exactly but they don't realize this...or maybe they do and yet they feel the people will accept just about anything.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol, I agree with what you said about movies; sometimes, I wonder what the crew was thinking when producing it. How can a ghost be looking out for cars, lol! Well, it is all for the sake of money and creating jobs.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's right... They just want to produce just about anything for the money without thinking critically about how people would perceive it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's quite true that there is low quality of things that the country project out there. Some classic adverts, you can never guess what the advert is about, until the ending part... That is creativity

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes... It makes you wonder and excited at the same time but not the terrible ones we have out there now...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmmm, I think I agree with you @Olasquare our companies need to step up in The area of branding and advertising sigh!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It has been terrible.

$ 0.00
2 years ago