My Perspective To Life.

26 79
Avatar for Olasquare
1 year ago

We all have different perspective to life. We see things differently. We feel things deeply more than others. We are shaped by our experiences. Our position to life is majorly dependent on what we have heard, seen or experiences.

Image Source.

How Did We Get Here?

There was this time when I was walking down to the office. It was a long time ago when I was in my former city before I moved to Lagos state. You know when you looked at yourself in the mirror and you know you look so good. I knew I looked so good that morning and I wore this amazing waistcoat. It was the waistcoat from my brother's wedding... I was his best man. It was a cool morning and I was feeling really fly.

I was just at this bend like 4 junctions away from the house heading towards the express when this calm lady walked up to me and told me how good my waistcoat was. I was there smiling and thanking her before she ruined it all. She said, "I am just admiring the waistcoat, I am married, so you wouldn't think I am hitting on you". I smiled and walked away but still won't let it ruin the compliment entirely.

Most people are scared of doing something good because they don't want to be misjudged. That's the world we live in. Most people have kept away from complimenting others because they don't want to have others imagine something else. How did we get this bad? Most people have misconstrued someone's genuine compliment for having an interest in them or flirtation. A lot has changed in the world and we can't even genuinely give people compliments without having others raise their eyebrows. I don't blame the young lady because she must have experienced something like that or seen someone being put through that same situation.

Our experience is our reality as I often say and I know it has a lot to do with our experiences which can either be personal or what we have seen others go through. We feed off of what we have heard most of the time. We feed off information to make our decisions. We feel all eyes are on us and we need to guard ourselves too, whereby we are robbing ourselves of the beauty that our hearts could express. We have restricted ourselves and denied ourselves the beauty we can show because we are focused on what others might think rather than following our minds.

I don't hold back to tell people how good they are, even if they feel differently. I am responsible for what I say and not what you think. I don't mind paying someone's fare even if she thinks I did it to take her number. I've done this many times and I didn't take their numbers. Some looked at me with surprise while some willingly offered their numbers and we are friends to date. I don't mind giving a shoulder to someone to cry on, even if she feels it's a coy to get her...as long as I don't make a move to get her, she will understand that I am a different breed. It's okay for others to have reservations but it's left to me to prove them right or wrong.

Image Source.

We Found Our Voices.

See the lives of innocent people shed in cold blood amidst the struggle

They left home, never got back and couldn't give their loved ones the last cuddle

For the cause they died, yearly as a reminder, our memories must juggle

Before we forget their sacrifices with so many political lies and bubbles

Their thoughts forever upon our hearts would always stumble

With sober reflection we would be so we can make the right choice and not fumble

All plans to make us forget our rights and power we will always crumble

We have to take a bold step and act, enough with the underneath grumble

There is a clear difference between stupidity and being humble

It's time to voice out and the season has gone for every mumble

They want to fight dirty like a pig but we know their gimmicks so we won't rumble

With our voices together every corrupt practice we must tumble

We have been silent for too long we have

We have forgotten what it means to sing a victory song

Now we have found our voices and our gong

We want to matter and we want to be counted among

Among those who brought the changes we have long dreamt about

Thank you for your time.

My pen doesn't bleed, it speaks. I am love's chemical content in human form and that's why I advise people to take a dose of "Olawalium" daily. πŸ™ˆ

Kindly follow me on Noise.Cash... I am trying to engage more with people and connect with everyone with this account. I look forward to seeing you there... You can say hello to me there so we can get familiarized as well. Click here.

16
$ 3.83
$ 3.33 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.06 from @Erickchristianmontajes
+ 10
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
1 year ago

Comments

Bro, leave that thing O. It's the way we are all wired. Normally, normally, If you want to toast someone, you start with compliments. They say, na from clap dance dey start. It's a familiar route. From hi, you look beautiful, to "can I call you later?" It's always a process, from one step to the other. So it's always a common thing to expect from anyone, make person no go loose guard, lol. But then, why e be say na only ladies you dey compliment and pay their fare, you sef no see guys? πŸ˜‚

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I can't leave that thing o because that's not me. I can't force myself to be like others. I compliment guys too but I do more for ladies...I love the efforts they put in to look good...don't blame me πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ€£.

I only sited what I did for girls as reference... I enjoy giving and it goes across both males and females.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Unfortunately Ola some people do something nice out of flirtation that is why people get scared of compliments. But you are right this should not be a thing. When have we humans become allergic to kindness and compliments.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's just it. We have become allergic to kindness and compliments that we doubt everything.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I see how people learn from experiences and mistakes, shape and build stronger by applying those mistakes and become a better person, our perspective in life depend on how we are classified.

Im born poor,difinetely rich and poor people had different perspective in life

$ 0.03
1 year ago

I'm glad to have you here and you are right, we have different perspective based on our exposure and background.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can do good but somehow there are times that I am afraid to be judge so yahh I guess I'm guilty of it

$ 0.02
1 year ago

We are all guilty of it but we need to just do things with the goodness of our hearts.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Some people have this African mentality. If I like a guy, I'll tell him. He can't beat meπŸ˜…. There was a day a guy was telling me all that he likes. He said he loves women and I told him that I love guys who love women. He was shockedπŸ˜…. Should I dislike them?πŸ˜…

$ 0.02
1 year ago

πŸ˜ŠπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ€£ e shock the guy. Hahaha I love the way you think. That's right...if I like someone I will tell them and I leave them to think what they want... See the way I always disturb you when I see your pictures too πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚. You sha can't beat me πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ€£

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I use to do that to almost everyone I admired except I sensed the person's lousy attitude... I'll quickly withdraw it. I don't care what such person thinks afterward... I made my compliment very beautifully and quite obvious that nothing is attached. Same thing happened yesterday when I went to the market..I saw him and he looked so cute... I can't help but wonder how he stayed that way before I walked up to him and complimented me...na so em take collect my number o...I never chat am yet

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Hahahaha Baba saw a fine babe too and decided to have a go at you. That's something I can do too, really. I don't bother what the person thinks. I do mine and move on...as long as I know why I did what I did.

Baba will be confused as you why you never chat am up πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚. That's my baby...when they ask if you have a bf, don't forget that I am here o, enh enh. πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Such a kind gesture or compliment is very normal I the western society but here in our traditional society, people could misconstrue good intentions for something else. This leads me to wonder " it's only the guilty that runneth when no one pursueth" 🀣. People who are always reading meanings to harmless intentions might cctually the ones who are capable of whatever it is they are thinking. Or could it be that Africans are just natural more suspicious ( less sensitive).. Now see we have lost you to the Western society. Na your type we need to fix Nigeria fa 😒

$ 0.03
1 year ago

πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ I absolutely agree with you. Most people suspect you of what they are usually guilty of as well and sometimes it's also because of what they have seen or heard, so they want to be careful.

I love giving compliments. I love making people feel good. I love making an honest impression and when I have nothing nice to say I just zip it...but I always try to see the good thing about people. It's always fun.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The poem is just beautiful love the words specially, and yeah that thing I have observed in my life as well, mostly we are afraid of even doing something good because we don't want to be misjudged so we specially avoid doing good things

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you, Katie. Yes, most people do that and it's wrong. We don't have to fail to see the beauty in the world because others think differently.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Something like this happened recently when I complimented a guy saying he looks handsome. Another guy looked at me and was like ´´someone´s husband´´. I just smiled and said I never meant it the way he thought it to be because I do compliment a lot of people and he is not the first person I am doing that to.

We all are different and the way we see or view things is different from another which shapes the kind of person we are.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

The way some people think can be so annoying. What you did is give a compliment which can boost the guy's confidence especially for those who don't hear it often. You did the right thing and please do it again and again.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Naso, I will keep doing it and I see that people like it when I do it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's just it...deep down, they like it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Why do people think it's flirting? 🀣 now I don't want to compliment guys anymore lol

$ 0.02
1 year ago

ItΒ΄s their perspective, Jane. I donΒ΄t even mind them since I know why I compliment them. Lol

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's it. I've said my bit and they can interpret it however they like πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚. Janey should come and compliment me instead.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha please compliment me Janey πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚ I know you are not flirting.

Don't mind the way some people think. Just so your thing and leave them to their thinking...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚... I do often I cared less of what they think.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's it. The thing is they will always have an opinion anyway...

$ 0.00
1 year ago