Judging From Afar.

31 88
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

Image Source.

We are all guilty of this when we see things differently when we look from afar but when we move up close, we gain a different perspective. Oh...I know I have been guilty of this and that's because we sometimes judge things from face value rather than think deeply. We seem to blame others but when it comes to us, we explain ourselves away.

Okay, let me explain the cab service in Nigeria, especially the public ones. Two people would have to manage on the front seat. There was this day I saw two people seated at the front seat while the back seats were empty. I thought to myself, are they so dull that they couldn't ask someone to drop to the back so they can feel comfortable at the front? The issue is that the front seat can be so inconvenient with two people there.

It was not even up to a week and I found myself in the same situation and I fully understood why it must have been difficult for them not to easily slot to the back. We see and understand things better when we find ourselves in a similar situation but when it involves others, we are so quick to throw out our morality and make others feel they are not doing enough. We are so quick to see other people's flaws but blinded to ours while we try to find an excuse for them.

It's so easy to advise others only for us to be clueless when we find ourselves in a similar situation and we notice that we can't even take the advice we give to others. Sometimes we get angry when we dish out advice and the person didn't take it but how easy it is to dish out than for us to take it for ourselves. We are so quick to show others we are better than them but life isn't about who is better but about living and learning while helping others and being helped too.

It is easier to see a luxurious car walk past while we conclude that they have no troubles. We sometimes feel because someone drives the best of cars they have it all together. We don't even understand that some people are living in debt. We judge how well others are even by the smile they put out which hinders us from offering a hand of help. We all need help it just differs.

Have you seen someone celebrate a landmark or something of worth and someone would mutter under his breath how lucky that person is? We sometimes have no idea what others have gone through and what it took them to achieve that feat we called 'lucky'. The same way we judge people by what we can see that they have, the same way we judge others by what they don't have. We often forget that a king in the making can sometimes be in rags. We fail to spot a gem in the dirt just as most people might not recognize a diamond in the rough.

Image Source.

It's the human thing. We are led by our sight so it is understandable when people assume and think they know everything. You see a smiling couple and you want to model your relationship after them. You want to do the things they do and then you see some ladies or even men put their spouse through hell because they are trying to model another couple whom they have no idea what they are suffering on the inside. It's okay to pick the good things from others and try to inculcate them into your relationship but it shouldn't come with suddenness, pressure or insensitivity. There are so many people going through a lot that you might never understand.

How do you see the scar on a body when that body has been clothed? The same way most people mask their issues with buying things they don't need or even with something as simple as a smile. It doesn't mean they don't need help it only means they are trying to be strong. Either you help them or you leave them as they are but don't make it worse for them.

We sometimes encourage ourselves because some people don't like being pitied while some thrive on it. Regardless, we should stop assuming things and open our hearts to the things we can do for others.

When I was still working in my City of birth. I told my co-workers that we should get something for our director since it was his birthday. They told me that it wasn't necessary because he has everything and in their words, "What can we get him that he can't get for himself?". I insisted and they gathered money and I went to get him some of the things I know he loves. I got a basket full and dropped it beside his table. He was thrilled. I told him it was from all of us and he said that was so thoughtful of us. He took it home with joy and pride.

We often ignore good gestures because we feel they are little and might not be needed but the truth is, the little gestures get ignored because most people think this way. If they can't afford big things they run away or ignore them. Someone jokingly told a friend that he doesn't know what to get for his wife because she has everything and the friend told him to start with a kiss. A kiss is about appreciation in this regard and what he was telling him was to focus on the little things rather than give her the things she already has.

We are humans and that's okay. It's even okay for us to have our opinions. I may not accept your opinion but I will defend your rights to have one in the first place. When we are in doubt it is not a crime to ask questions. Ask others how they attained what you desire. Let them tell you the hurdles they have crossed and it might just make your journey easier where you don't have to repeat a common mistake.

Let's stop with the judgement and start with the asking. We understand a lot more when we ask questions and think deeply about situations.

Thank you for your time.

22
$ 10.57
$ 9.92 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.10 from @Davinchysax
+ 14
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

Comments

I have realized that most of the misunderstandings and debates start with quick judgment without listening to the other side. It's people's tendency to jump into conclusions hastily that causes further quarrels and major arguments.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

This is so true. A wonderful perspective you have shared here, my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

People are always looking out for other people. What they have, what they don't have. It is as if envy drives them to look for what other people have. I found your article very interesting and accurate in what you say.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's so true and I am glad you enjoyed it. Thanks a lot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have decided not to jump to conclusions at most times. I have learnt to start giving benefit of doubt for the sake of my mental health and I implore everyone to do so.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahahah I like this. That's so true. We need to do it for ourselves too. Absolutely.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is really normal for humans to judge others. But in my case, I better know someone well first before I say anything.. Bot all first impressions and intuitions are right.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's so true, Janey... We need to get to know people first.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is very important for one to always put oneself in the shoes of others before concluding. It is easy to say that someone should have done this in this particular way, but what happens when you find yourself in the same spot? You will notice that it is easier said than done.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahahaha so true. It is easier said than done. We can do a lot in our heads until we are presented with it then we find out how impossible it is, sometimes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! What a thought!!

I don't mind going through all the lines in your article because I find it so interesting.

Using the analogy of a two sided coin, a coin will be showing a different view to the person at the front while another view to the person at the back, the view you saw depends on the side you stay.

Yes , you and you colleague might be working in the same place having the same pay too. You start thinking why your friend is always complaining about getting some needs despite the fact that he was being paid just like you, but you are living fine.

The question is... Did you know what that person is facing underneath? If you where in their shoes too, ours might be worse. We should not be too quick to judge with the things we see physically, asking questions will help us in clearing some things we don't know about a particular person or something.

This is an enough dose for me..🀩

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hahaha I am glad you got enough dose and I am thankful for this brilliant addition too. Absolutely, we never know what others go through and rather than assume we might just ask them what's up!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for this. Many times before, I have found myself in such situation and it also affected me too. I love to go to school early and I would have told my two friends we should leave home early. It was one day one of my friends delayed us and I was so mad and angry at the second friend telling her I don't like what the other friend did. But she told me we don't know what was keeping her late.

It also happened to me too that I delayed them too but I was so ashamed that I couldn't defend myself when the friend told me "I was mad at my friend because she was late, now I did the same thing".

Ever since then, I have stopped judging from afar because I don't know what they are passing through unless we move closer to them to listen to them.

Yoruba will say "a ki nbinu si eni tia ri" We shouldn't just judge others based on what we see or hear but let's learn to be patient and hear them out.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Exactly. You see? A lot of things might have contributed to her being late...something beyond her control as you also found out when it came to your turn too. We just need to be more subtle and gentle with others because we never know until we ask.

Thanks for sharing this darling.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's always my pleasure Sir☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😍πŸ₯°πŸ₯°πŸ˜˜πŸ˜˜

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I sometimes d this. Judging people and expecting that they don't have any problem in life. That they live in a luxurious living and so I am getting jealous on myself and questioning why their parents are rich and mine is not. But then knowing that they have also different problem to be face and they grind hard for that one makes me understand things in life

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly, my point. You nailed it spot one there...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How are you Ola?☺

This brought me to my senses, thank you :) Sometimes I judge others too and when I experience it myself, only then I would realize how it feels.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly. We tend to jump into conclusions too easily and that's us all. We are all guilty of it. We just need to think deeply and not assume things as they are.

I am very well, my dear and you?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You speak the truth there, and yes, need to be better :)

I am mighty well too, thank you :) Monday is good and so as every day of the week :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's lovely. The week is going to be great.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We tend to jump to conclusion easily and believe what our eyes see without thinking deeply. In the past, I was guilty of not giving gifts to someone rich because I believe my gift doesn't matter and is nothing compared to what the person have, but I later found out that it's the thought that matters. Just the fact that you thought about giving such gift will mean a lot to that person than the actual gift itself

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Spot on. It is indeed the thoughts behind it that matters. You need to see how excited our director was especially seeing we gave him what he didn't even expect.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really appreciate all you wrote. In life it is always good for is to carefully obserce and understand situations before before jumping into conclusions. Put ourselves in others place and see if we would have done better or done something else instead.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly. We need to put ourselves in other people's shoes. Sometimes it's easier for us to think we would do better until we find ourselves in similar situation.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This article makes me remember what the Bible says"be fast to listen but be slow to reply" Even me sometimes I often do that seeing someone in big car then assume they had it all And am sure when some people sees me too they assume and so ok with everything

I believe it's in human nature to jump into conclusion without knowing anything

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, it goes both ways bae and we just need to understand that life isn't as it appears, sometimes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah I strongly understand that

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Smart baby.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehehehe 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago